$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LibUsa Trip
Aldie,VA
Sep 29, 2012

Great Anniversary trip

Gran Melia is tucked away four miles down a beautiful drive through a golf course. Upon arrival you are greeted by a friendly staff who want to make sure you have a great stay. The grounds are amazing, breakfast is worth every penny and the Red Level upgrade is great for the value but the resort treats all its guest with the same level courtesy. Golf carts are always running and picking up guest. We've stayed at other resorts but this was the best. Beyond great service, we felt at home and comfortable. I would stay here again on my next trip to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

El Verde BBQ If you want good inexpensive food and to taste some PR food to there. It's a good hole in the wall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKtiger
Business
Cali
Sep 8, 2014

Excellent

Very good stay for 4 star resort! Staff are kind and foods were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
head chef daley
Business
yonkers ny
Sep 3, 2014

family fun times

loved this resort...the red level pool near our room was great when we didn't want to walk to the main pool. I loved the covered pool beds that you could reserve for free.The kids were excited to see many iguanas roaming the grounds.The staff were all friendly and helpful.We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The finest breakfast buffet I ever could have dreamed of....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cadams1721
Business
Oklahoma City Oklahoma
Sep 1, 2014

Return to Puerto Rico

Had read reviews up to two weeks before our trip with negative guestr concerns. Only negative comment was lack of wash cloths for two days. Strange with low season guest count. Need a rental car. Beautiful resort. Red level room on ocean front was perfect. Some moisture smell in room, but, normal for tropics Beautiful golf courses. Check- in quick with complimentary drink and Butler answered all questions. Complimentary breakfast buffets were excellent with good sppervice. Only had one other meal of Pizza at night. Not American type with lots of tomato sauce, but, cheese was very tasty with good pepperoni. Afternoon Happy Hour with snacks was very good with excellent service. Checkout included a bill slipped under door and a central depository to place signed statement on way out. Recommend resort for after high season. Only time will tell if new General Manager can keep service high with larger guest count.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent GPS or make sure you have very good directions from Airport car rental to Resort. Buy rental toll pass. Add an hour to any reservation during rush hour to San Juan (Old San Juan)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherlz
Business
Brooklyn New York
Aug 21, 2014

Birthday getaway

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel! Our butler Daniel was the BEST EVER! Room was huge with two jacuzzi.. We stayed at one of the Villas with our own personal private pool.. The public pool was huge! Service was on point! Def would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pasion puerto ru an restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vero G.
Business
Texas
Aug 11, 2014

Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The staff is great and very helpful, specially the golf cart drivers. Even though we did not spend a lot of time in the hotel because of our tours and activities, we had a confortable bed to rest for a few hours. The pools are awesome and well kept. The gym was very nice too. There is free wi-fi through out the hotel and the bungalows, but sometimes we had a hard time connecting. Like in most hotels in Puerto Rico, there is a daily parking fee. I did not eat in any of the restaurants, so I cannot say for myself how the food/service was, but two other couples did and they did not like the food. Drinks are overpriced, and from what I heard, the food is too. You're better off going to a local "panaderia" or bakery, the food is delicious and very inexpensive. The hotel is located about 30 min from the airport so you definitely need to rent a car, we paid $150 for a mid-size for the whole week, so reserve before you visit (good luck driving in Puerto Rico, because they are crazy! Lol). The room was huge, with a kitchen, but no balcony, guess you get either a kitchen or a balcony. There was no toilet paper when we got there, and the cleaning ladies did not leave shampoo the next day, I had to ask for some. We had issues with the keys, but they took care of that quickly. All in all, our stay in Gran Melia was great once again! I definitely recommend it for it's great value too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel, try the "kioscos of Luquillo" A lot of variety and well priced. Try the bakery's too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maribel the traveler
Business
Waukegan, Illinois
Aug 9, 2014

resort was ok

Resort overall was ok. Location was good being that it was close to The Yunque, tour in Fajardo, Seven Seas beach, Luquillo, Old San Juan and many more beautiful places. The beach at the resort was very rocky. Don't understand why we had to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Luquillo, Fajardo, Old San Juan, Yunque Forest

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay9
Business
Spfld, MA
Aug 2, 2014

Beautiful Place

The hotel was great. The views were amazing. Bungalows were clean and quiet. Service was great, everyone was nice and helpful. Great location for a romantic stay for two or for a family. The first night we ordered pizza from Luigi's Pizza right on the resort. The worst pizza I've ever had. We ate off the resort for the remainder of our stay. Familia's Bakery had some great breakfast sandwiches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat off of the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LOIRIS
Business
GUAYNABO, PR
Jul 28, 2014

GOOD

Beautiful place, perfect for relaxation. Nice pools and good food but expensive. Long waiting in line to check in, key's malfunctioning, lack of enough ice machines, great rooms, little fun, no beach, no music....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLJ76
Business
Naperville, IL
Jul 28, 2014

Wonderful Family Excursion`

The Gran Melia more than lived up to its advertisements by offering an outstanding locale, exceptional rooms and ocean view. It truly made us feel like were at an upscale resort. The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast buffet a true gem. We found the grounds to be well maintained and the pool truly incredible. Improvement opportunities include the following: more staff during peak season or in our case holidays as we often had to wait in lines. The Asian themed restaurant could use a touch of real Asian flavor as our food was generally bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. It will provide you with more freedom and do it off of the airport property to save at least $100 plus dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LizaAnne
Business
DFW
Jul 26, 2014

A good stay

Beautiful resort . This place would be a 5 star hotel if they paid attention to the details. Ice towels & beach loungers were limited. Assistance from staff was also limited. They were friendly but always too busy to assist . It's a beautiful resort and we had a good stay but they need to bump it up a notch. I would recommend but w side notes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Ivan from adventure tours was amazing! He took our group of 7 everywhere w reasonable rates. He was our personal tour guide

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top