$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RSHT
Henderson, NV
Nov 15, 2012

Fantastic Trip

Great trip. Well worth money. The only downfall was the sand fleas. You can't even see them on you. Need to wear bug spray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdVill
Business
archbold. ohio
Jan 17, 2010

laid back & friendly

very nice resort in a secluded area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and never a bother to us. As in all resorts food and drinks were a little pricey, but overall food and service were good. El yunque rain forest is just a short drive away and well worth the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Delaila
Business
ct
Dec 29, 2009

unbetable location for the price

I Love the hotel, but didn't know there was no beach. its a man made beach, can't swin or take walks on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Dec 23, 2009

Accomodating, but...

The Gran Melia is a very nice resort, the staff were accomodating & very kind. The 3 restaurants to choose from went from moderate to pretty good. Nami (the asian fusion) was nice & the quality & prep of the food was good. The sea bass was delicious but the presentation of the sashimi was just OK. Tempo, the Italian restaurant was the mediocre experiance. My husband ordered the osso buco & it hadn't been allowed to braise enough & the "sauce" was more of a gravy, not true osso buco. Our last night there I ordered the lamb chops. When we got our order, my chops were rare to the point of being raw. Sent them back, (not a problem), my husbands osso came & he finished his dinner & mine was still being re-fired. I didn't get my lamb for almost another 1/2 hour. By that time I wanted to cancel my dinner but powered thru. When it did come the sides (starch & veg) were cold, not lukewarm but cold. Nasty. Even the chop had been sitting there for quite awhile. Needless to say I was extremely dissapointed. Having worked in fine dining for some time I had higher expectations, too bad too because we don't mind paying top dollar for dinner as long as its worth it! One thing you MUST NOT do is to eat at the poolside cafe, nasty, nasty, nasty. Drinks are fine, service is decent but don't waste money on the cafe, you will regret it. Bottom line is that this is a good place to stay if you aren't interested in going anywhere or eating any place but the resort. A couple days is about all we could handle. We ended up renting a car for a few days to see the sights, well worth the money & you actually end up saving money by not eating at the resort, by experiancing the local color & what Puerto Rico has to offer. PR is a beautiful place with lovey people & you absolutly can NOT beat the climate! One more thing you have to be aware of, you do not pay as you go at Gran Melia, you sign for everything, which if you're "The Donald" is great but if you care about your spending you must pay attention!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car, go see PR, have a good time, do some shopping etc. Its more fun in addition to staying at the resort & its' just a more rounded vacation experiance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 19, 2009

Nice but probably wouldn't go back.

The resort is beautifully maintained, but it is a little out of the way, the prices for food/drinks and activities is ridiculously expensive, service was hit and miss, mostly miss, and the beach was not very lounge worthy. I generally enjoyed the stay, but would not go back a second time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cotton&Kungfu
Business
Woodbridge, NJ
Dec 12, 2009

Loved IT

The hotel & staff was great. Peaceful setting, beautiful room and location. Spotless surroundings and freindly personnel. I loved the convinence of the three onsite resturants and the breakfast buffet. Wish the rooms had a small refrig to keep water cold. Overall this was a fanstastic experience for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the complimentary shuttle to Richies Cafe. Great food and freindly casual staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Dec 9, 2009

Best Hotel/Resort I've seen in PR

This is my second year staying @ Gran Melia with my BF. We've gone to all of the other hotels to see what they were like and this one beats them all. One other one that comes close is El Conquistador. That one is great, but this one is much more peaceful and the resort is beautiful. The rooms are big and very clean. The pool is incredible! I love it! Its gigantic and the ocean is right next to it. The resort has so many places to lounge and relax. There are iguanas all around the lakes. Very cool! The staff was very friendly. Its like a dream there! You won't be disappointed. Oh and just so you know its a $100 dollar day deposit on your room when you get there for room incidentals (even if you dont plan on spending money there), so when we stayed 5 nights that was a $500 dollar deposit we had to pay as soon as we got there. You dont know that till you go. Lucky for us we had money on our card for that, but if you don't then what happens? You get your money refunded back to your card a few days after your vacation for the deposit. Those are my tips. Other than that, the resort is AMAZING! No lie! Best by far!OH and its more of a relaxing place than a party place, so if you want peace go there. If you want to party, then try El San Juan Hotel or somewhere else. Hope I helped. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The only thing I can say is the refrigerator in your room is very small and is packed with their stuff. Can of Cokes are like 3 dollars and so on.. Pricey! You cant use their refrig. because there stuff is in there and you will get charged when you take it out and put your stuff in there instead. So if you dont mind paying for the drinks in their refrig your good, otherwise buy a cheap cooler and pack your own stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Friends thru thick and thin
Business
Salem, Oregon
Nov 16, 2009

Memorable Trip

I went to Puerto Rico with my sister and my friend and her sister. We checked in around 11:00PM and it took forever at front desk. They couldn't find my friend's reservation. The lady asked for my card which I thought was to verify reservation but she ended up charging my card $400.00 in case of incidentals. When I complained that she should have mentioned that before running my card she said that it would take 3 to 4 business days before it would be credited back to my account. I only brought that card so that took most of my spending money. We requested to be put in rooms by each other. They said that they only had one room with a king bed and one room with two double beds available so my friend and her sister had to share beds. The rooms ended up not even being by each other like we had been told. My sister and I ordered room service since no resteraunts were open and I ordered a pizza and soda and she ordered a sandwich and soda and our bill was $60.00. The ended up giving us a handicapped room and trying to shower was an experience. We complained the next day which took forever too but they were able to switch our rooms. My sister noticed that her bed had a fitted sheet that was too small and didn't cover the whole bed. When we called to complain the staff treated us like we were idiots for thinking this was a problem. Rooms didn't appear to be that clean. Pool was great and the outside of hotel was very nice. Ocean wasn't that nice and didn't have easy access. Food was super expensive and not that good. I recommend renting a car and going outside of the hotel to eat. Also check your bill at the end tried to charge us for things that weren't correct.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat at hotel, food very expensive and not that good for price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York< NY
Nov 6, 2009

SAN JUAN

JUST RELAX ENJOY THE POOL, a lot of the restaurants were closed, being that it is off season I guess. I loved the place even though the beach was really not kept, don't know reason. for the category of the hotel it should have been prestine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, new york
Oct 29, 2009

Great Hotel, Attraction Company Horrible

The Hotel was absolutely beautiful. Breath taking views of the ocean. So relaxing. Friendly and wonderful staff, ask for [...]. Great food, restaurants are a little expensive, but great food. The attraction site that they have in the hotel -Dragon Fly- was absolutely horrible. There service was terrible, there staff are so non-friendly, so unprofessional, and they over charge you so dont use them. There arent enough things i could say bad about them. If you get the chance rent a car and get to do your own things there. But overrall the hotel was a gem, great price, great service, just a great place to enjoy and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Passion the restaurant has wonderful authentic puerto rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Oct 28, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The staff was not very friendly and the everything was overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top