$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
565 out of 565
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Mar 3, 2009

Gran Melia was terrible experience

Our bed was filthy and it took numerous calls to have this even partly fixed - but we never got a replacement duvet for the original (which had large brown stains and felt gritty)they just stacked sheets to compensate for real bedding, which was very uncomfortable, and the staff was very difficult and unhelpful in this matter. The beach was rocky and after 3 feet into the water was a lot of algae and seaweed- which made swimming hard (we went to a different resort and used their beach). Also, we had not been notified in advance of the hefty parking fee for guests with rental cars and our overall experience was that we will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Mar 3, 2009

The good and the bad!

This hotel is beautiful, rooms large and confortable, good beds. If you're going for the beach, find another location. This beach is covered in small rocks and grass in the water - not pleasant if you want to play in the water. Nothing is within walking distance to this hotel, you are held captive! Not even a vending maching. Purchasing a soft drink or coffee will cost $3 or more. Food in their restaurants is only "fair" and very expensive. We paid $120 for roundtrip transportation to visit Old San Juan. Just an example of how expensive this place is. If you stay here, be sure to rent a car at the airport. We wouldn't go back....there are many other nicer locations to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

RENT A CAR, nothing withing walking distance. You'll find all the restaurants/shopping, etc. about 5 miles from the hotel. And beautiful beaches are everywhere but here!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 3, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

This was our second favorite trip, Greek Islands 1st. The atmosphere can't be topped. Besides a out of this world pool, the beach had more than enough lounge chairs and palm trees for shade (if wanted). Clean rooms, beautifully decorated. Great Place. The front desk was a little slow, two attendants. We always had to wait for help; usually about a half hour. Travel directions were greatly accessible from the concierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Expensive. Nice if there were other restaurants nearby to go to. Small side of the road restaurants only. Breakfast was about $50.00 for two people (buffet) at their only cafe.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wlknudson
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 3, 2009

Mixed emotions

After traveling 12 hours from Seattle, all we wanted was to get to the room, change, and hit the pool. Upon arriving a half hour AFTER check-in time (3p) the rude girl at the front desk informed us there was no ocean view with king bed available, and that she'd call our cell when the room was ready, in about an hour. An hour and half later, no call. We went back and someone else told us it was ready. They take us to the room, but the keys don't work. Then another couple walks in whose keys do work. And there's no ocean view. The woman at the front desk then argued with me and said I paid for garden view NOT ocean view, but my confirmation was in my hand stating ocean view. Then she hung up on me. Finally someone else gets us to 2 more rooms before finally landing the ocean view room with a king bed that we had booked. This was 3 hours later. It was a nightmare, and literally EVERYBODY else we met had similar experiences. Some were worse. But, once we got past that, it was amazing. The bartenders were VERY friendly, the grounds were amazing and lush, and the food and drinks were great. One bad thing is the location: $80 each way to Old San Juan, which is a must for Puerto Rico. But, if you're okay with staying at the resort most of the time then it's not a problem. I may go back, but the check-in headache left a very bad taste in our mouths. But, the rest of the vacation was wonderful so it kind of made up for those first few hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Great Place for a Romantic Getaway!!!

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Gran Melia. We stayed there for 5 days and 4 nights and did not want to leave. There was always something to do from lounging in the pool by day or going to the bar at night for dancing. The resort is located steps away from the beautiful beach. The only drawback is that with staying there for an extended period of time you dont have many choices as far as restaurants since they only have 3. The food is really good though. Overall, we would definatley stay there again and would recommend to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Dont make this trip and not visit Old San Juan. The hotel offers a shuttle bus, which is about a half hour drive.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Mar 3, 2009

A Superior Vacation in the Sun

This resort was even better than we had hoped it would be. The property was very spacious, the landscaping and grounds were spectacular. It is located on a beautiful, private peninsula right on the ocean. The beach is beautiful, private and very uncrowded. A Donald Trump Golf Club is located next to the Melia Resort, so very convenient for golfers. The gym was well equipped and the paths leading to the resort excellent for jogging. There are 4 restaurants on the property and all of them were very good with excellent friendly service. Staff was exceptional, very friendly and helpful wherever we encountered them. It is located about 25 mi. east of Sasn Juan which we liked. It was an easy location from which to tour other areas on the island. We will return again and hopefully stay for 2 weeks next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 3, 2009

Beautiful Accomadations

Everything was beautiful, clean and 5 Star. Most of the hotel restaurants were closed. Meals were very expensive. You are far from everywhere, so you need a car if you don't want to stay just at the hotel. All hotel activities are extra and very expensive. They also don't do them if they can't get a big enough group together for the activity, so we couldn't do any activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The economy kept this 5 start hotel only 1/3 full, so that is the reason so many things were either closed, or unavailable, due to lack of enough people signing up.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockland, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Gran Melia

The hotel decor and demeanor is beautiful and very classy and makes you feel like you are on a fantasy island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Hotel is on beautiful grounds and part of a golf course. If you are there to golf or just get away from it all, its the perfect place.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Lueys
Business
New York
Feb 19, 2009

Great place to stay!

The Gran Melia was a great vacation spot. I was hesitant at first, from reading some of the reviews posted, but don't listen to them. I don't know why these people go on vacation, if all they are going to do is complain! The pool area is gorgeous and there are two separate pools. One of them is for adults only, so if you don't want kids running around it's perfect. The other has a swim up bar and they also have a light lunch menu. Good prices. They have little bungalows all over the pool areas, which are perfect for taking a nap on and just getting out of the sun for a bit. The food is not that expensive, there are a couple different restaurants to choose from. The drinks are a little more expensive, but your on vacation-who cares! The rooms were nice and seemed to be maintained. The resort is in a more secluded area, but I don't think your going to really want to leave and go to the area that it surrounds! In the past reviews, people complained about the beach area. That's wrong to. There is a beach and yes it has sea shells on it, like most beaches do, so you may not want to lay in them, but the resort provides lounge chairs, so you don't have to worry about it. The resort also has daily tours that go to the Rain forest, old San Juan, and a couple other places. Not badly priced either! I would definitely go back to the Gran Melia. It was a great vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Hibachi Restaurant on the resort! It was great food and a lot of fun!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The tourist that won't go back.
Business
Somewhere in the northeast.
Feb 15, 2009

my vacation at Gran Melia Puerto Rico

-We paid for ocean view room, but instead we got a Garden view for the same price. -THEY CHARGE $60.00 PER PERSON TO PICK YOU UP AT THE AIRPORT???? -The staff does not go out of their way to accommodate you, everything becomes a problem. - The Hotel location is far away from civilization. -Very expensive for food, water and cocktails. -No entertainment and it was very glum. -not very friendly. - The beach was so steep that we had to lay on the grass for tanning. -If your looking for a hotel that dead, this is the place. If you want a little nightlife and shopping forget it. -This hotel is not really set up for tourists, there is no ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top