$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
618 reviews
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
Beautiful Place

The hotel was great. The views were amazing. Bungalows were clean and quiet. Service was great,... See full review

  • Jay9
  • Aug 2, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (618)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
618 out of 618
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickname123
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Dec 4, 2012

very nice place, worth every penny

staff helpful, location convenient if you hav a car, close to bio bay and rainforest, nice facilities/pool/beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Aug 28, 2009

Unexpected vacation expenses

The Gran Melia Resort was beautiful, just as shown on their website. However, upon arrival we began to experience the hidden costs involved in our stay. We were not aware until arrival that we had to pay to park at the resort. So in addition to the resort stay costs, we also had to pay a daily fee to park our rental car. Then we were hit with paying an upfront deposit on our rooms in the event we incurred expenses during our stay. This would include dining onsite & using anything from the mini-bar in our room. This too we were not aware of. Initially we did not have any room amenities (i.e. refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker), and with traveling with a small child, this did not work in our favor. So after speaking with the management staff, especially [...], who was more than gracious to us, our accommodations were change to allow for the above amenities. Overall, our stay was good, but beware the hidden costs!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ct
Aug 28, 2009

Gran Melia-Go elsewhere

THe hotel itself is bueatiful. Not much to do. Hard to find inforamtion. No details of spa, watersports or even the resturants were given or left in the roon. As part of my package I was suppose to recieve $100 coupon for breakfast and even though I asked twice, nothing was given to me-they infact said I was mistaken. If you want to sit in a chair by a pool, its a great place-if you would like to do something you are better off going to the Conquistdor Resort. Eating was a problem-only two real resutrants. Make sure you rent a car and go elsewhere for dinner. Casino machines constantly were broken and very limited. The one and only gift shop looks like its going out of business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Need to drive into San Juan

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Aug 18, 2009

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful but the beach is poor, only about 6 ft area to lounge and rocky. We drove to nearst public beach. A rental car is a must to see any sites of interest but I thought it was ridulous to pay 15 dollars a day to park when you are a guest also they put a hold of 600.00 on credit card at check in for incidentals. The bed loungers around pool are are extra at 50 per day. I felt all extras were ridulous and should have been known ahead of time. Food and drinks at hotel were very expensive too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Falls Church, VA
Aug 17, 2009

fun!!!!!!!!!!!

The Gran Melia was great! The people were so helpful, friendly and outgoing. My husband and I had a wonderful time at the resort . One thing that is needed on site is store that has clothes and anything that you may need because it was expansive just for a tour to the Outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 11, 2009

Bad Experience

We arrived at 3 and didn't get a room until six. When we did finally get in our room the sheets were dirty. The front desk seemed to feel this was all a very small problem and we didn't even get an apology. We were told by the front desk that we were in a building located far from the lobby but that there would be transportation to the lobby every fiver minutes; however, this turned out not to be true. In reality the transportation ran every twenty to thrity minutes. The general staff were very polite and accomodating but any dealing we had with the front desk were frustrating. I would not recommened this hotel. Also, by the pool, a coke cost $3 for a 4 oz glass (no free refills).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainforest- a car is needed

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yaritza
Puerto Rico
Aug 10, 2009

De la realidad al sueño

My experience in the Hotel was amazing....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
puerto rico
Aug 9, 2009

normal stay

it was good but nothing special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 4, 2009

Beautiful resort but far from action

The Gran Melia is a beautiful hotel, we stayed un late June 2009. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. However it is far from the airport (15 min by car). The bad thing about PR is that in order to really sight see and get around you need to rent a car, which is what we did. We rented from Charlie Car Rental from the airport. They sent a shuttle to pick us up. They were 1/2 the price of Hertz/Avis. The car paid for itself within the first day. The resort is far off the main road and there isnt any public transportation readily available. The good thing is that there is hardly any traffic on the island. The hotel does charge for parking which you validate. This resort also does not let you pay for food/beverages in cash. Instead they put a hold on your credit card which is equal to a percentage of the cost of your stay. Anything you eat/drink is taken from that credit but it isnt charged. When you check out you can choose to have the total amount of what you spent charged on that card (the remaining balance would be released) or you can pay in cash or by another cc. If you pay in cash then they release the hold. It's a little odd but not a hassle. If you want to bring in food you have to smuggle it in. No outside food is allowed. With our car rental we'd leave in the morning and would return at night, giving us the chance to eat our meals on the road and try the local cuisine. The hotel's restaurants are expensive. We only tried it on our first night, it was good. Also, the beach at the hotel is not suitable for swimming. It's really shallow and rocky. The only thing you can do is collect seashells.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas
Aug 2, 2009

Good and Not so good

The location is good for the NE side of the island, but a tedious drive to San Juan. We went sailing and diving out of Fajardo and went to El Yunque (Rain Forest) for some extensive hiking. We also visited with family in Seiba and toured Ponce. The hotel pool was great and the Cafe was good value for eating lunch (not dinner$$$$). We drove to other locations for dinner. Checkin took almost an hour while two reps took a break - checkout was the same - not intereseted in customers. No ink cartridges in printer in Business center for entire week - could not print out airline boarding passes - again, staff were disinterested; we had ordered an ocean view room - recieved a partial ocean - complained and got exchanged to a nicer full ocean view room; maid for room was poor - no towels on two days and I don't think the floors were ever cleaned, one day room was not madeup until 8PM. Very poor service for the price! For the record, we do speak Spanish fluently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Book sailing, diving, etc on line via Google and save $$$$. You can do El Yungue rain forest yourself - no tour required.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Jul 31, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The Gran Melia is located a few miles west of San Juan. It took us about 45 minutes to arrive at the complex using a rental car. The grounds are beautiful with beautiful vegetation and gardens and new buildings. The staff is very friendly, but they did not seem to be prepared for our arrival. I usually can checkin in Las Vegas at least 3 times faster. I went with a group of friends and their rooms were not ready. Note that we arrived at 5pm local time. We all went to my room to wait for their rooms. Meanwhile, the staff had to change the bedsheets after I arrived. Complimentary food or drinks would have been nice for a 2 hour delay of our vacation. I found that the breakfast rather pricey. U$23 for a breakfast buffet. All our meals were eaten outside the facilities where prices were half to a quarter the cost. San Juan actually offered many dining deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat where the locals eat. Cheaper and a good experience.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search