$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
664 out of 664
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viv & P.J.
Business
Queens, NY
Feb 12, 2010

The best couples getaway

We relaxed and enjoyed the resorts ammenities. The quietness of the resort was unbelievable! Especially when you live in noisy New York City. The restaurants were beautiful with great service and great food! The beach wasn't crowded at all, the pools were all spread out with enough privacy allowed. The rooms were spacious with high ceilings and the service was outstanding! We would definitely visit again...Loved the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The rainforest is about a 5 minute drive, the outlet mall is 10 minutes from the hotel, the Fort and the San Cristobal Jailhouse is about a 35 minute drive along with Old San Juan. The resort is the perfect location. It's right in the middle of all the major attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
golferette
Business
Dallas TX
Feb 12, 2010

Hotel needs a "facelift"

Travel at least 6 times annually for PLEASURE. This hotel needs Room "upgrades" as well as the noise level is very poor whereby hearing your adjoining room guests clearly. The front desk staff is friendly however, ALL the restaurant personnel are NOT ACCOMMODATING!! The casino is in POOR shape as many machines (which they have very few were "OUT OF ORDER"! The BEST feature of this hotel is the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Highly recommend "adding" to your package: DAILY BREAKFAST as the buffet is the ONLY option offered & VERY expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Road Town, BVI
Feb 9, 2010

Nice resort!

Superb pool area and pool bar. nice pool area and games for kids. Rooms are large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the 'outlet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX area
Feb 8, 2010

Restful and quiet when we needed it!

Well, I have to say, all we did there was sleep, and shower as we are busy bees on a trip. But it was so restful and quiet, we really liked that. We slept well, and the shower was great. For us...what more could we ask for. We did walk the grounds one day and they were beautiful! The drive to the hotel was a little far, but really how else is one to get away from all the noise of town. The food was way too much $ for us, we only ordered a pizza one night which was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The bakery at the end of the street for the hotel, where it meets up with PR3...that place is great. They serve a hot lunch, subs and great bakery items. I'd suggest you stop in! For me it was great to get a breakfast pastery and a coke before we headed out on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovesvacations
Business
Near Boston, MA
Feb 5, 2010

Beautiful but in trouble?

This is such a beautiful place. The gardens, waterfalls, columns, and plants are just spectacular. The beach is very natural and there are a lot of rocks and coral that make swimming challenging - bring water shoes. The hotel was not busy, rooms are being discounted; this place was much better when it was all inclusive. As an example, there are these Bali Beds around the pool. You have to rent them for $50 a day. None were ever rented. This doesn't seem like a management that knows their market. The staff was very nice but it seems like they have had a lot of turnover. I just wonder if it will be able to survive financially in the market it is trying to serve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kissimmee,florida
Feb 1, 2010

fantastic place to stay......

everything was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

very nice pool..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ST. CHARLES, MO
Jan 28, 2010

GRAN MELIA PUERTO RICO

Great Resort. Great Staff and Services. Long way from Old San Juan, suggest renting a car to max touring and going to beaches, Rain Forest, and Las Americas. However, use GPS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain Forest and beaches are a must and a short drive. The Resort is large, and if you do not like walking, cart rides are great. If, you wish to eat away from the resort you will need a car. Cabs are expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
Jan 26, 2010

Fantastic experience

It was a great experience. Food was expensive, but was delicious. It was way apart from what you get in the local restaurants. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The infrastructure and enviornment was the lively. Would love to go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The karaoke night was good. Nice cheerful spanish music. Ambience was great. Lot of activities to do on the campus during the day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct
Jan 25, 2010

dont go if you dont golf

very nice place but too far away from everything. very expensive rest. lousy beach, very nice golf course. had to have a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

go to the bakery at the end of the road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Second trip in 2 months

The first time we visited in December everything was perfect! great staff, AWESOME food and the rooms were clean! Second time wasnt awful but the room wasnt as updated or clean as the first round. Nonetheless everytime we called for more towels or room service we received everything we asked for. I wish it was as perfect as the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

everything was good! If you can get puerto rican food at the pool! That is a PLUS!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top