$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
626 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (626)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
626 out of 626
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 17, 2009

Just love it!! Great place.

We really enjoy while we were at the Resort. We didn't want to go out!! It is a great place to relax and have fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA.
Sep 16, 2009

Over-blown and over priced.

This place was over-hyped and over-priced. Room was advertised as having an ocean view, but only if you stepped out on the little patio and looked around the corner of the building across the access road. The distance from our room's building to the main resort area was over a quarter of a mile with no easy ground transportation to get around. The hotel did not provide free newspapers for the rooms nor did they sell any in the hotel store. Anyone who stays here should go over their hotel charge with a fine-toothed comb to ensure there are no charges to your room that you did not make. I detected some bar bills we did not make. When shown. to check-out desk, they promptly corrected my final bill. I got the impression that it was a routine occurence. The hotel rooms had a mini-bar, but no room for guests to keep personally purchased items in the fridge. For the amount of money you paid for the room, I would have thought a small refridgerator and microwave would be in every room. Obviously, the hotel wanted you to eat/drink at the resort. See my comments about dining. The rooms were in need of much minor maintenance and a deep cleaning. A/C vents were dirty and I think the airhandler drip pan needed cleaning because of the persistant mildew smell of the air supply. Shower tiles shouled mold growth in the gout. The shower curtain showed mildew stains. Floors and wall trim needed a good scrubbing and cleaning, as well as some touch-up painting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining in the hotel was very expensive. I estimate at least 25% higher than eating in downtown San JUan. The nicer ambiance at the hotel couldn't compensate for the hum-drum food and increased cost. unless you were willing to drive 30 miles to downtown San Juan, you had few eating options when staying at the Gran Melia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trang from FL
Business
St. Pete, FL
Sep 14, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The hotel was very beautiful and there is so much to do. The pool was awesome and the swim up bar was fantastic. Great selection of restuarants and the most beautiful scenery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the mini fridge for the stay and stock up on snacks and beverages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 14, 2009

Beware Paradise

We checked in on Friday afternoon and were greeted promptly with extremely friendly service. We did not expect our room to be ready at noon, but it was. The hotel took a nightly deposit, which we expected, but it was nothing out of the ordinary. We were given our room key and went straight to our room. They offered to give us a ride to our room with our luggage, but we ended up walking the .25 miles from the parking lot to our room. We were in the farthest villa from the main building, but we didn't find it difficult to walk the distance. Every time we were walking to the building one of the staff members stopped in their golf cart to offer us a ride. The pool was fabulous, very large with plenty of lounge chairs. The swim up bar was nice as well. The views of the ocean from the pool were amazing. The beach was what was expected for the area. Not the wide white sand beaches, but a little rockier. On the beach, there were also plenty of lounge chairs. The facilities themselves were amazing. All floors were granite in the lobby area and restaunt areas. The outsides of the buildings were fairly plain, but the inside of the open common areas were very nice. The lounges and bars were also very nice. Everything was very clean. Our room was also very nice. We had the basic garden view room, and were very pleased with it. The balcony was nice and had a great view of a courtyard. The room was very large with room for a king bed, couch, and table. The bathrooms were also very nice and large. All floors were granite which helped keep the room cool. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have seen in a hotel room. The closets were very large and contained a safe to keep valuables in. The shower had great water pressure and it was great every morning. The only part that we didn't care for was the quality of the food. The prices were fairly high and the food was average. The prices are expected at a resort such as this, but the food could have been better. There was a daily fee for parking, but it was expected for a resort like this. Other than that, we did not find that there were additional charges that showed up on the bill. As far as the staff, everyone that we encountered was very friendly. Our attention was always met promptly, and with a smile. Finally, upon checkout, we looked over the bill that was given to us through the night, and everything was correct. We were still planning on eating breakfast, so we ended up checking out at the front desk at ckeck out time. The line was very long when we went to the front desk, however, it went quickly (approx. 20 mins), and the bill was again correct. Overall, we had a fabulous experience at the Gran Melia. It was a nice mix of relaxing and adventure with the proximity to the rainforest and hiking. We recommend getting a car since the resort is off the beaten path, but still within driving distances to many things to do and see in the San Juan area. We loved the Gran Melia!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try finding some alternative dining locations around the areas of the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florham Park, NJ
Sep 1, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The hotel design and atmosphere was breathtaking. The open floor plan really swept you away once you are ready to check in. However, the bungalows are quite the walking distance and would often need to be carted around if you didn't want to make the walk. The spa was very nice but the staff there was not very friendly or helpful. The pool was great, but access to the beach was very limited. Since it may have been the end of the season the beach was filled with rocks and shells so it was very painful to walk on. The room was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LATINAGODEZZ
Business
BROOKLYN, NY
Aug 29, 2009

THE WORST VACTION OF MY LIFE

THIS HOTEL THE GRAN MELIA IS WAY OVER PRICED AND IT SUCKS FAR FROM ALL THE FUN AND ANYTHING IT IS JUST THAT FAR YOU NEED A RENTAL DONT USE HERTZ THERE GPS IS NOT GOOD THE HOTEL PRICES ARE SKY HIGH FOR ANYTHING NO MATTER WHAT IT IS AND THE FOOD SUCKS WATCH YOUR BILL THEY CHARGE YOU THINGS YOU DIDNT EVEN HAVE USE OR DRINK BEWARE I WOULD NEVER GO BACK HERE NOT EVEN IT WAS FREE. THEY DONT CLEAN YOUR ROOM EVERYDAY I STAYED FOR 7 DAYS AND WAS THE WORST AND WHEN I GOT HOME MY BILL WAS WAY MORE WAO WHAT CRAZYNESS AGAIN BEWARE I WILL NOT POST ANY PIC OR ANYTHING GOOD ABOUT THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

GET A REANTAL IF YOU WANT TO GO TO THIS DUMP!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Aug 28, 2009

Unexpected vacation expenses

The Gran Melia Resort was beautiful, just as shown on their website. However, upon arrival we began to experience the hidden costs involved in our stay. We were not aware until arrival that we had to pay to park at the resort. So in addition to the resort stay costs, we also had to pay a daily fee to park our rental car. Then we were hit with paying an upfront deposit on our rooms in the event we incurred expenses during our stay. This would include dining onsite & using anything from the mini-bar in our room. This too we were not aware of. Initially we did not have any room amenities (i.e. refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker), and with traveling with a small child, this did not work in our favor. So after speaking with the management staff, especially [...], who was more than gracious to us, our accommodations were change to allow for the above amenities. Overall, our stay was good, but beware the hidden costs!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ct
Aug 28, 2009

Gran Melia-Go elsewhere

THe hotel itself is bueatiful. Not much to do. Hard to find inforamtion. No details of spa, watersports or even the resturants were given or left in the roon. As part of my package I was suppose to recieve $100 coupon for breakfast and even though I asked twice, nothing was given to me-they infact said I was mistaken. If you want to sit in a chair by a pool, its a great place-if you would like to do something you are better off going to the Conquistdor Resort. Eating was a problem-only two real resutrants. Make sure you rent a car and go elsewhere for dinner. Casino machines constantly were broken and very limited. The one and only gift shop looks like its going out of business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Need to drive into San Juan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Aug 18, 2009

Beautiful Resort

Resort was beautiful but the beach is poor, only about 6 ft area to lounge and rocky. We drove to nearst public beach. A rental car is a must to see any sites of interest but I thought it was ridulous to pay 15 dollars a day to park when you are a guest also they put a hold of 600.00 on credit card at check in for incidentals. The bed loungers around pool are are extra at 50 per day. I felt all extras were ridulous and should have been known ahead of time. Food and drinks at hotel were very expensive too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church, VA
Aug 17, 2009

fun!!!!!!!!!!!

The Gran Melia was great! The people were so helpful, friendly and outgoing. My husband and I had a wonderful time at the resort . One thing that is needed on site is store that has clothes and anything that you may need because it was expansive just for a tour to the Outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top