$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickname123
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Dec 4, 2012

very nice place, worth every penny

staff helpful, location convenient if you hav a car, close to bio bay and rainforest, nice facilities/pool/beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick M.
Business
Beaufort, NC
Feb 27, 2010

Great hotel!

Outstanding room, service, pool and hotel area seem like a time share instead of a hotel. Each bungalow is 2 stories, ours faced the laggon with fountain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat a La Parilla, its on the beach about a 15 min drive from the hotel. I had grilled mahi mahi, vegatables, rice and bean soup for $16. The portion was at least double the size fish from my home area in N.C. Mixed drinks were $6 and were very good, not watered down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Feb 23, 2010

A Birthday Gift

I had a wonderful experience while at the Gran Melia'. Things that I would change is first and foremost, I would rent a car at the airport. Cost of taxi is rediculous. Also, I would rent from Avis for you can park the car in their identified area and not pay nightly parking fees. The property is absolutely beautiful and tranquil. Not a place if you are looking for a lot of entertainment. I went to play golf. The champion course was closed in prep for the PR Open. Played the International and didn't like the course. It was in poor shape and over priced, $160.00. Drove to the El Conquistidor. A much better layout. The food was sub-par. Also, casino didn't have a dice table. I had to play blackjack and left $75.00 down. Not bad for 4 nights. Love the property and would definitely go back just to stay in the bungalo. Oh watch the catch on Ocean View vs Ocean front. Ocean View you get to be on the ocean side but can't see the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 21, 2010

Could not have been better!

This hotel was all we could have asked for and more. The hotel staff was very helpful. The hotel itself was beautiful. It was nice to get out of the hussle and bussle of the city. This hotel is very secluded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

You should rent a car. We rented a car for 4 days for $89 dollars from enterprise and it was worth every penny. We saved that in the cost of transportation to the bioiluminescent bay tour (which everyone should do!) alone. It also allows you to eat at local restaurants rather than every meal at the hotel. The hotel restaurants are pretty pricey. Eat dinner one night at Richie's, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen wants to have fun
Business
Portsmouth, RI
Feb 18, 2010

Beautiful hotel.

Renting a car is the best way to get around. The beach at the hotel is not great, but there are beaches close by. The hotel grounds and pools are sensational.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel restaurants very expensive. We drove into town for food & drinks and saved a lot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Feb 15, 2010

Nice place to stay, bring plenty of $$

Very nice hotel, location not so great. They want you to stay and spend a lot of money while there. If you're looking for a place to relax and not leave the resort this is perfect; but we are more adventurous. You have to have a shuttle, taxi, or rent a car to get anywhere, because of the location (about 45 minutes from the airport if there's no traffic). The beach is ok, but there are better ones down the road. Whether checking out, renting a car, dining, or ordering a drink, be prepared to wait! Not kidding- by the time we got things planned for the day, it was after noon! Not just at the resort, but this happened almost everywhere we went. For the prices we paid, we expected to have a lot better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Farjardo, take the ferry to Culebra Island (just to the east of Puerto Rico). Take a bus to Flamenco Beach- very clear waters and white sand beaches! Great day trip, the ferry leaves at 9am and returns either 1pm or 5pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gran Melia
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 15, 2010

Gran Melia

I am WELL traveled and this was the MOST amazing hotel I have ever stayed at!!! I plan on returning next month and actually making plans to get married here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You don't need to rent a car, there is a hotel shutttle for approx $35 per person each way. Much cheaper than car rental

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gushunt76
Business
Oakland, IL
Feb 15, 2010

My 5 days of paradise

Upon arriving into the main road to this resort I was very impressed. Although there was some new construction going up around the area, the resort itself was beautiful. It felt high class although most of the people staying there were just regular, average, hard-working people. The lobby and seating areas were all open air and there were so many places to just lounge around in the lobby. The pool was huge and had lounge chairs built in so you could sit half in/half out of the water. They charge your credit card at the beginning of your stay and then while you're at the bar or restaurants you just tell them your room number and they keep track of it. Whatever is left goes back onto your credit card. (We ended up using almost every bit of what they charge at the beginning and I think we were pretty conservative in spending). There were only two options for dinner- the Asian place and the Italian. (You will definitely want to make reservations if it's the weekend.) Both were very good, but especially the hibachi at the asian place. The italian place had a pretty limited menu and you didn't really feel like you were getting what you paid for. The Asian place was pretty comparable to other hibachis I've been to as far as price and quality. The food was very good. You only other option for dinner was to go out of the resort area, which is pretty secluded. There are NO nearby restaurants unless you want burger king or church's chicken or the hole-in-the-wall local places. The pool bar and grill closes at 5 so the pool is pretty much deserted after the sun goes down. The breakfast buffet had so much food to choose from, but again was very overpriced. The hotel and guests both would benefit if they had at least one restaurant that was more like the average American eatery. While there, we went to El Yunque rainforest - amazing and well worth the exhausting hiking up and down the mountain. You should definitely wear good shoes and lightweight clothing. Bring your swimsuit too because you can swim in one of the waterfalls. The water at the bottom of the fall is cold and small but a cool experience, I'm sure. We tried our luck at surfing as well on Luquillo Beach. There was a small surf shop along the beachfront where a guy named Juan gave 1 hour lessons and you could also rent the boards by the hour. Again, a cool experience and well worth being exhausted by the end of the day. There weren't many places to eat either. We found a McDonald's nearby (ugh). We also visited Old San Juan and the El Morro fort/castle. It was pretty cool but we didn't stay there long. We walked down the where the sea port is and looked in some shops and ate at a great local cuisine place called Mojito's. It is very touristy down by the port, so be prepared for lots of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A rental car is a must if you stay on the side of the island. The hotel is waaay out almost on a peninsula and it would cost a fortune to take a taxi everywhere. Luquillo Beach, the rainforest, ferries to other islands are all only about 15- 30 minutes away, and really easy to get to. There is so much to do on the east side of the PR. You should definitely call way ahead for certain attractions like the Bio Bay and the Zipline tours. We wanted to do the zipline and it was all booked up by the time we got there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Viv & P.J.
Business
Queens, NY
Feb 12, 2010

The best couples getaway

We relaxed and enjoyed the resorts ammenities. The quietness of the resort was unbelievable! Especially when you live in noisy New York City. The restaurants were beautiful with great service and great food! The beach wasn't crowded at all, the pools were all spread out with enough privacy allowed. The rooms were spacious with high ceilings and the service was outstanding! We would definitely visit again...Loved the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The rainforest is about a 5 minute drive, the outlet mall is 10 minutes from the hotel, the Fort and the San Cristobal Jailhouse is about a 35 minute drive along with Old San Juan. The resort is the perfect location. It's right in the middle of all the major attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
golferette
Business
Dallas TX
Feb 12, 2010

Hotel needs a "facelift"

Travel at least 6 times annually for PLEASURE. This hotel needs Room "upgrades" as well as the noise level is very poor whereby hearing your adjoining room guests clearly. The front desk staff is friendly however, ALL the restaurant personnel are NOT ACCOMMODATING!! The casino is in POOR shape as many machines (which they have very few were "OUT OF ORDER"! The BEST feature of this hotel is the pool area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Highly recommend "adding" to your package: DAILY BREAKFAST as the buffet is the ONLY option offered & VERY expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Road Town, BVI
Feb 9, 2010

Nice resort!

Superb pool area and pool bar. nice pool area and games for kids. Rooms are large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the 'outlet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top