$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickname123
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Dec 4, 2012

very nice place, worth every penny

staff helpful, location convenient if you hav a car, close to bio bay and rainforest, nice facilities/pool/beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeff_P.R.
Business
San Juan,P.R.
Jul 23, 2010

Just Great!!!!!!

If you wanna be in a place far away from the noise of the city this is the place you want... drink something at the "wet pool bar and grill" enjoy the beach or just stay relax at the lobby that have a lot of chairs and "little beds" where you can read a book,use your laptop (free wifi) or play table games with your kids. It was PERFECT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooner on a budget
Business
Austin TX
Jul 17, 2010

Exceeded my Expectations !!!!

We stayed from 7/5/10-7/9/10....It did rain bad the first day but that was okay..its still beautiful..I loved the Gran Melia in Rio Grande Puerto Rico. It exceeded my expectations. I got a great deal through orbitz, so that added to my satisfaction. The resort is beautiful, tropical..our bungalow was big, definitely enough room for us.Everything is marble, the floors, counters, lobby, very luxurious. The lobby/lounge was so beautiful, definitely my kind of decor, and I loved the music they played.. wish I could get a music list of their selections..very lounge/chill sounds.. The lobby was open air, plenty of room for lounging, the lounge bar was awesome, very relaxing. I have to say the pool bar was not great, my drink was $9.50 and I dont remember seeing the bartender put alcohol in it, plus it didnt even taste like they did, and the cup was small for the price, stick with beer. I purchased a bottle of Jose Cuervo Especial tequila for $16.99 at Ralph's (the grocery store down the street) but on the resort (The Market), they wanted $34.00 for the exact same bottle. That was way overpriced. I definitely dont mind paying extra sometimes, but that was just ridiculous (somewhat of an insult). I definitely recommend everyone to see "El Yungue"..OMG..the rainforest is so relaxing and beautiful. We hiked to La Mina Falls and swam under the waterfall, very romantic..(bring watershoes so when you get in the water the rocks dont hurt your feet)..except...I definitely recommend going early in the morning, because by noon it is crowded at the waterfall, shuttles from the resorts bring crowds of people. Also, I recommend renting a car from AVIS (which is located on the resort also) because you do not get charged a $20 daily rate parking fee at the resort for using AVIS. Also, you definitely need to explore Puerto Rico, so a car is a must...I also recommend seeing Old San Juan...to shop and eat..they have alot of souvenir shops and restaurants. the shops start closing around 6pm I believe...just a heads up. I almost forgot to mention the restaurant Pasion on the resort...it was awesome, the prices were normal (I saw some reviews that restaurant prices were steep at the resort...its normal/average on my opinion..and I'm an average income gal...so I consider myself cheap...lol..The "Mofongo de relleno con pollo" at Pasion was to die for...so good...I definitely recommend trying it..it's a classic Puerto Rican cuisine...The Mofongo in old San juan was great to..it was more of a traditional recipe..I did like Pasion Mofongo better, more flavors..and very filling..couldnt finish...YUMMMMM..Now to mention the Beach at Gran Melia...I loved the beach..secluded feeling, no crowds of people...just you and your main squeeze walking along and laying out under palms trees..but you definitely dont want to swim at that beach...its loaded with grass/weeds in the water..so I saw alot of crabs crawling around, see slugs/snails...grossed me out...ewwww..but I'm not much of a ocean swimmer..I'm scared of sea life somewhat..so walking on the beach and lounging was just fine with me...and the beach is beautiful..did I mention that. palm trees everywhere..even walking through the resort grounds..palm trees and iguanas..GREAT STUFF....All in all..I loved my trip to Gram Melia in Puerto Rico..I wish I was still there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mofonge de Relleno con pollo at Pasion on the resort was so good...a definite try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 9, 2010

Family first to Puerto Rico

The hotel was beautiful. Checking in was a bit lengthy and the room wasn't ready until after 7 pm. The staff were very friendly. You do need a car to get around, as the hotel like most things seem to be far apart. A car also gives you a chance to eat at some of the less expensive restaurants away from the hotel. The pizza at the Avenue bar is the best deal and delicious. I would like to see the pool bar stay open later and serve burgers until at least 9 or 10 pm for a less expensive, less formal dining option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Jefe Burger Shack in the Luquillo Kiosk's has great food and cheap beer. Wish we would have tried it before our last night in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jul 8, 2010

nice place but no custumer attention

nobody give any n formation about the hotel or activities. We were in the pool and the beach everything was pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jul 8, 2010

nice place but no custumer attention

nobody give any n formation about the hotel or activities. We were in the pool and the beach everything was pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 24, 2010

The most relaxing stay

I am a native Puertorican who lives in the states. I book my first visit to Gran Melia last summer and really enjoyed the hotel. This year I had to go back, I meet my parents in the hotel, they enjoyed everyminute of the stay. The facilities are beautiful, the landscaping is great and well kept. The service is excellent, rooms large, clean and with unique view. The buffet (we tried breakfast only) was the best breakfast buffet! and I travel quite a bit. It is a great place to rest, but plenty of activities for all ages. I recommend this place to anyone, this was my sencond time and hopefully not the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRobin8551
Business
Elkridge, MD
Jun 12, 2010

Absolutely Beautiful!

The Grand Melia Resort is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are very clean and grounds are highly manicured. The service from the staff was exceptional and very friendly. It was like being in paradise! If you are looking for a fantastic place to truly relax and get away, I would recommend the Grand Melia Resort as a must. It is located far enough away from the local hustle and bustle but close enough to places of interest such as Luquillo Beach, where we had lunch almost everyday at some of the different restaurants and kiosks located by the beach, and the El Yunque Forest which is absolulely very beautiful. We made trips to San Juan to visit the Bacardi factory and to explore San Juan, which is only about a 30 minute trip depending on traffic. I would definitely visit this resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Renting a car is a must unless you don't plan on getting out to site see. Ask the concierges for places of interest and the best local restaurants, they have directions to a lot of attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRobin8551
Business
Elkridge, MD
Jun 12, 2010

Absolutely Beautiful!

The Grand Melia Resort is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are very clean and grounds are highly manicured. The service from the staff was exceptional and very friendly. It was like being in paradise! If you are looking for a fantastic place to truly relax and get away, I would recommend the Grand Melia Resort as a must. It is located far enough away from the local hustle and bustle but close enough to places of interest such as Luquillo Beach, where we had lunch almost everyday at some of the different restaurants and kiosks located by the beach, and the El Yunque Forest which is absolulely very beautiful. We made trips to San Juan to visit the Bacardi factory and to explore San Juan, which is only about a 30 minute trip depending on traffic. I would definitely visit this resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Renting a car is a must unless you don't plan on getting out to site see. Ask the concierges for places of interest and the best local restaurants, they have directions to a lot of attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BSN
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 6, 2010

A liltle pice of Paradise

Beautiful place to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superchic
Business
Fort worth Texas
Jun 6, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

There is not enough room to write the book about our horrible 10 year anniversary trip at this resort. So I will sum it up, maid stole our camera so we lost 2 days of pictures, we saved for 10 years to take a vacation and was terribly disappointed, the hotel didnt even offer to take the amount the camera cost off our bill, we were not informed of the nasty beaches, nor the resturants closing so freaking early, and the royal service bar well it closes at 5 every day, well that's insane, people that pay for the royal service should have a bar tender until 11:00 pm at least, we are adults you know, so besides starving in the middle of the night and no refrigerator in the room we drank hot water, because they did not tell us that if you put your water in the cooler in the room everytime you take it out they charge you because their stuff is on a sensor.. there was a lot of miscommunication from the get go, there was only one individual that really expressed his sorrow for the camera and i cried for 2 nights after that because we will never get those memories back, never! The food was horrible and to expensive after spending all our money on the Royal Service we would have been better off not paying exra for the Royal Service is a JOKE We will never go back to this resort EVER!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take lots of money because everything is really expensive! Be Ware!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top