$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
575 out of 575
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VAUGHNGO
Couples
San Diego, Ca
Jul 8, 2009

To relax and enjoy....

My wife and I were in Puerto Rico for work and had a couple extra non-work days to spend. We did a quick search on Orbitz.com and found this Hotel, the same many people had already recommended to us. We seemed to get a great price on an ocean view room with Royal Service (their sort of exclusive club). We were staying at the El San Juan in San Juan, which was nice but nothing like this place. These rooms were spotless, smelled great, the bathrooms were beautiful, and the beds extra comfortable! Our room had a full ocean view and with the Royal Service package we got to use a separate quite pool, with our own bar and free cabanas! Plus everyday we were provided with a free happy hour at the main bar from 6-9pm. Needless to say, we pretty much spent two whole days relaxing by the pool. Which is not like us. We had rented a car at the airport and ventured out one day but quickly realized we just wanted to go back and relax. But if you're in the mood you're only about 15 mins from the rain forests and slightly further away from Fajardo where you can take boats to some of the best snorkeling in the world! As for food, since the hotel is located pretty far away from the city or outlining towns you are left with the Hotel restaurants. A great full course breakfast was served daily and with the Royal Service package it only costs us $7.95. For lunch we found Wet Bar Grill to be really good and affordable. At night we decided to try each of the hotel restaurants. The Puerto Rican and the Asian Fusion were probably the most expensive but also the best! After dinner we would walk back to the open air lounge, where we would just sit and chat or jump into one of the open cabanas all while enjoying a variety of great live music. As you can tell giving what we were looking for during this trip, we could not have asked for a better resort. But, if I was disappointed at all it was with the direct beach access from the hotel. The ocean was amazing to look at but I don't recommend playing there, I would drive down the road a bit where the beaches are much more welcoming. With that being said though their pools are outstanding and there seemed to be tons of family and kids having a great time. We are definitely not big resort people, but this place was outstanding and much cheaper than El San Juan Hotel, in San Juan! Enjoy your stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to snorkel, and don't really love the paid excursions, which seem to range from $65-80 for the day. You could take the local ferry across to one of the islands for a couple bucks, rent some snorkel gear for a couple bucks and spend the day snorkeling or exploring the island. Now you won't get to go the outer islands, but again if you like to do things on your own this sounded great!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2009

Relaxing....

It was my first trip to Puerto Rico. The location of the hotel was approximately 30 min from the airport and 40 from the capitol of San Juan. It was a gorgeous and serene location with space enough for everyone at the resort. It was prime location to the Yunque Rainforest and to docks in Fajardo were located. There were plenty to do if you had your own car. Taxi's were expensive and the excursions were much cheaper if you had your own transportation. I wanted authentic cuisine and that was hard to come by at the resort. That was disappointing. Free wireless and computers were near the lobby. My biggest let down was the type of beach near the hotel. It was all rocks and murky water. The pictures were misleading. If you are looking for a beautiful beach, this is not the place. Although it was a gorgeous resort. Very relaxing. Extremely enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Taxi fares are ridiculous! From the hotel to Old San Juan was $80 one way! Small car rental for 3 days cost just over $200.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kamighazi
Couples
Houston, TX
Jun 23, 2009

Great, but pricey

Pricey, but wonderful. I would have really loved it if there were an all inclusive package. Other than that it was great! Not your typical beach. Not soft sand, and very quite waters. But we loved it like that. Beautiful rocks on the shoreline

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Aibonito,Puerto Rico
Jun 23, 2009

Fantastic

Special Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Excelent

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Annapolis, MD
Jun 21, 2009

Enjoyable stay

Decent location, fairly close to everything you will want to do, but not in the middle of a not so decent areas. Renting a car is a must for most, because of the location. Be aware of an additional 15.00 parking fee daily for your rental. They have a rental car service(Avis) on site as well. The beach is clean, but there are much nicer beaches in the area. Close, is luquillo, however the area surrounding does not appear all that great, and it is full of one way streets which are sometimes hard to decipher. Be forewarned if renting a car, the traffic is generally heavy most places, and noone seems to have any courtesy behind the wheel(compared to coming from the contiguous states.) Pinones beach, near San Juan was nice, and the drive in is littered with kiosks/food stands. The food was good. Most of them share the same type of food, but it is worth giving it all a try. Overall a good place to stay, friendly staff, clean, quiet, and enjoyable. Would go back in a heartbeat, and wouldnt think twice about going back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Renting a car is a must, unless you plan on only seeing the resort.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, Az
Jun 14, 2009

Remarkable Place

Front Desk Help was too slow...not enough people on duty.. had to wait too long for service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hola coquis amigo
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 12, 2009

Housekeeping concerns; noisey.

Sight see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Need to venture off grounds for variety.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Jun 9, 2009

Not what i expected

The hotel was a very nice hotel. However, the hotel was very expensive, limited beach access with no ocean activities. The hotel had 3 restaurants one of which was closed two out of the four nights we were there. The food was very pricey and not that good. The casino is very small and was not opend 24 hours a day. I would not stay at this hotel again nor recommend it to other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Old Saybrook, CT
Jun 9, 2009

Excellent Value

Our stay in early June exceeded our expectations. Hotel is a reasonable (1/2 hour )distance from the airport. We stayed in a spotless first floor single garden view room that we think offered more privacy than the ocean views did at a higher price. Several excellent restaurants on campus. Beautiful pool that was very popular so we'd advise staking out a shaded chair spot early in the day. Only complaint is that the pool bar DJ played music a bit too loud for our taste mid-day, but he toned it down later in the afternoon. Quiet ocean experience can be had by strolling along the beach where numerous beach chairs can be found away from the crowds. Good beach for snorkeling though better can be found - be aware of the currents. Much to explore within 45 minute drive if you have a car. Kid friendly. We would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Having a car can reduce meal costs and open up options like Biolumescent Bay tours in Fajardo - Glass Bottom boat tours was great for us- dark moon is best experience. Local grocery stores and restaurants can help keep food costs under control. Clouds rolling off El Yunque Rainforest can be seen from hotel. It's a short drive, great expericence and FREE! If you have a laptop, bring an ethernet cable for room use, wireless in the lobby is free. Laptop helped us research local attractions and get better prices and options than the on site travel experience operator offered us.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Charlottesville, VA
May 20, 2009

Not what I expected.

It certainly wasn't the hotel's fault, but it rained EVERY DAY we were there. I felt like all of the restaurants/bars in the resort were way overpriced. There were fees like paying for parking, which we had no idea about--but if you didn't rent a car, you had to pay $50-100 for shuttles anywhere. The concierge was not helpful with helping us find something to fill our rainy days--it always seemed like they were trying to sell you something. The pool was beautiful and nice to swim in, even in cloudy weather, but the beach was pitiful. There was about 6 feet of sand you didn't want to lay on, no waves, and lizards everywhere! We had a nice amount of space in our room, great air-conditioning, and the housekeeping staff kept our room really clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We hiked through the El Yunque rain forest, which was close, free, and fun! We also drove into San Juan and found some great restaurants (only about 30 min drive).

Back to menu Return to top