$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
658 out of 658
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Utt's
Business
Virginia
Jul 17, 2014

Beautiful Resort

My husband and I chose this resort for our honeymoon! We booked the Redlevel oceanfront room and were beyond pleased with how beautiful the rooms and property are. As for the butler service we weren't pleased with. Not once did we receive what we requested. Don't order the pizza lol it's terrible. The other restuaraunts there are amazing. We ate at the cafe for breakfast and for dinner we tried the Japanese and the steakhouse of which both were wonderful and so was the service. We will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLJ76
Business
Naperville, IL
Jul 28, 2014

Wonderful Family Excursion`

The Gran Melia more than lived up to its advertisements by offering an outstanding locale, exceptional rooms and ocean view. It truly made us feel like were at an upscale resort. The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast buffet a true gem. We found the grounds to be well maintained and the pool truly incredible. Improvement opportunities include the following: more staff during peak season or in our case holidays as we often had to wait in lines. The Asian themed restaurant could use a touch of real Asian flavor as our food was generally bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. It will provide you with more freedom and do it off of the airport property to save at least $100 plus dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherlz
Business
Brooklyn New York
Aug 21, 2014

Birthday getaway

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel! Our butler Daniel was the BEST EVER! Room was huge with two jacuzzi.. We stayed at one of the Villas with our own personal private pool.. The public pool was huge! Service was on point! Def would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pasion puerto ru an restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
head chef daley
Business
yonkers ny
Sep 3, 2014

family fun times

loved this resort...the red level pool near our room was great when we didn't want to walk to the main pool. I loved the covered pool beds that you could reserve for free.The kids were excited to see many iguanas roaming the grounds.The staff were all friendly and helpful.We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The finest breakfast buffet I ever could have dreamed of....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cadams1721
Business
Oklahoma City Oklahoma
Sep 1, 2014

Return to Puerto Rico

Had read reviews up to two weeks before our trip with negative guestr concerns. Only negative comment was lack of wash cloths for two days. Strange with low season guest count. Need a rental car. Beautiful resort. Red level room on ocean front was perfect. Some moisture smell in room, but, normal for tropics Beautiful golf courses. Check- in quick with complimentary drink and Butler answered all questions. Complimentary breakfast buffets were excellent with good sppervice. Only had one other meal of Pizza at night. Not American type with lots of tomato sauce, but, cheese was very tasty with good pepperoni. Afternoon Happy Hour with snacks was very good with excellent service. Checkout included a bill slipped under door and a central depository to place signed statement on way out. Recommend resort for after high season. Only time will tell if new General Manager can keep service high with larger guest count.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent GPS or make sure you have very good directions from Airport car rental to Resort. Buy rental toll pass. Add an hour to any reservation during rush hour to San Juan (Old San Juan)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKtiger
Business
Cali
Sep 8, 2014

Excellent

Very good stay for 4 star resort! Staff are kind and foods were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TimVanL
Business
Ct
Sep 18, 2014

Great place Eat elsewhere

There was no negative aspects to the grounds. Perfectly maintained and beautiful beaches. Staff was friendly and quick to the aid of their guests. But, the bar food was not up to the prices they were charging. Also the breakfast as a buffet and it was more than $50 for the two of us to have an omelette and fruit. Everything on the menus was over priced by at least 50%. We ended up eating elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and experience the local fare anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfnut monty
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 19, 2014

Great Resort; average location

Everything was superb. The adjoining Trump International GC was beautiful and the pool bar hit the mark but the location was one just too far from the action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IT Professor
Business
Mayaguez PR
Nov 14, 2014

My Home far away from Home

Great family hotel. Lots of activities...3 great swimming pools, play chess in the sun, add a hole mini golf, volleyball on the beach, or simply watch the sunset from the spectacular rooms and service full of details. Usually visit 3 times weekly in a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

When reserving, make sure you ask for a refrigerator in your room. Usually it costs $25 per night but if you say during your reservation that you need it to store your meds they will get it for you for no charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esther S.
Business
Charlottesville
Dec 29, 2014

Big resort

We had to get on a golf cart to go to our room. That's the one thing I remember the most about this hotel. Staff is not that friendly but it was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top