$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
In need of relax
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 12, 2009

Expensive

Beautiful hotel but they charged extra for everything. Expect to pay 15.00 per day for parking and 10.00 per day for internet. All the ice makers were broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 20, 2010

Second trip in 2 months

The first time we visited in December everything was perfect! great staff, AWESOME food and the rooms were clean! Second time wasnt awful but the room wasnt as updated or clean as the first round. Nonetheless everytime we called for more towels or room service we received everything we asked for. I wish it was as perfect as the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

everything was good! If you can get puerto rican food at the pool! That is a PLUS!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 8, 2011

Wedding Weekend

We choose the Grand Melia for the proximity to our wedding and reception venue that weekend which was at the Trump Golf Club. They helped and allowed my stylist to get me ready and send transportation from the room to the lobby when I was ready to be picked up at the lobby. The room was beautifully located in front of the beach so we were able to see the sunset from our balcony. Definitely will come back and spend more than two nights. Service is excellent no matter what type of room you choose, and the added value of a full breakfast is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Continental breakfast is included with a variety of choices from fresh fruit to a la carte omelets.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 9, 2007

very friendly

The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the spa is very lovely and luxurious. Our spa experience was wonderful. I thought that most of the hotel staff were very very friendly and helpful. While others could care less about our concerns, and were not friendly. At check-in the room number that we were assigned was occupied. Which was not that big of a deal, but it was quite a distance to walk back to the front desk, some what of a wait to have the problem resolved, and then a long walk back to our room. After all of that, our shower was clogged, our safe was malfunctioning and (our peep whole was placed in the door backward, which we found very distrubing). However, the hotel saff ie.. maintenance and security, responded to the problem quickly and efficiently. They were also very friendly. These are problems, that one does not expect to have, when they are paying five star prices for restaurants, spa treatments ect. Management was alerted to our problems by our friends, our friends a had much worse experience. However, one of the managers reponded with the greatest of care and concern. The only reason, why I would even consider recommending this hotel to anyone, is because of the way management responded to our problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to take a bottle of water and a bathing suit to the nearby rainforest be sure to take a dip in water at the falls, it is a nice refreshing experience.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 30, 2007

Would Recommend

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Gran Melia Puerto Rico. The amenities were great. For example I liked huge pool which was very clean. I also enjoyed the fact that they had an on site spa although I did not get to indulge. The room was very clean and the beds were super plush and comfortable. The hotel staff I came in contact with were very friendly. The location was very good as well. The resort was very near a few of the well recommend attractions such as El Yunque Rainforest and Luquillo beach. The only complaint that I have is that the service was very slow. There was a long wait to check in and to even ask any general questions when going to the front desk. The hotel restaurants were pretty pricey, and none served any authentic Puerto Rican food. The few meals that I did eat at the resort were pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunque Rainforest, great view of the island as well as an excellent waterfal that you can swim in. Luquillo Beach. Pretty nice beach one of the recommended ones on the NE side of the island. Also right next to the infamous strip that has shops with authentic Puerto Rican food.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Oct 28, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The staff was not very friendly and the everything was overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coolmom1
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Jan 18, 2010

Paradise

The Gran Melia resort is paradise! Everything you need for a romantic vacation. Quiet, private, beautiful. The food is very expensive and not the best quality, so we went off property to eat a lot. Although, the Hibachi restaurant on site was reasonable and delicious. Other than that, it was perfect! The spa services are pricey but the service there is excellent. Go see El Yunque rain forest and Old San Juan. Rent a car, they are cheap. Exploring around is easy with a simple map. But, for lazy, romantic days in the sun just hang out by the pool or on the beach, which is a picture postcard! Will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, new york
Oct 29, 2009

Great Hotel, Attraction Company Horrible

The Hotel was absolutely beautiful. Breath taking views of the ocean. So relaxing. Friendly and wonderful staff, ask for [...]. Great food, restaurants are a little expensive, but great food. The attraction site that they have in the hotel -Dragon Fly- was absolutely horrible. There service was terrible, there staff are so non-friendly, so unprofessional, and they over charge you so dont use them. There arent enough things i could say bad about them. If you get the chance rent a car and get to do your own things there. But overrall the hotel was a gem, great price, great service, just a great place to enjoy and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Passion the restaurant has wonderful authentic puerto rican food.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdVill
Business
archbold. ohio
Jan 17, 2010

laid back & friendly

very nice resort in a secluded area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and never a bother to us. As in all resorts food and drinks were a little pricey, but overall food and service were good. El yunque rain forest is just a short drive away and well worth the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bostonian Inquisitor
Business
boston, MA
Jan 19, 2010

very nice vacation

It has been a great experience. The resort has an outstanding architecture, and the temperatures are up even in January.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top