$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
623 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014

Welcome to Puerto Rican flavor with a Spanish flair, to modern accommodations and our exclusive attention to detailed service. With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's North-eastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this beachfront resort, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico.

The resort features 545 oversized suite including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Coco Beach Golf & Country Club and the best pool on the island with pool concierges, butlers and runners to satisfy your every craving, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. A selection of extraordinary first-class restaurants and bars will brighten your palate. With alternating operating schedules, you will encounter from an Asian Bistro and Italian to the best in international and Puerto Rican cuisine, featuring magnificent creations from our chefs. From elegant, gourmet dining to casual light snacks and exotic tropical drinks, there's something to satisfy every appetite and bring you a refreshing taste of the best of the Caribbean.

Start your day out with a dip in our monumental lagoon-style swimming pool while the kids enjoy the children pool or Kids Club. Get some exercise in our fully equipped Health Club or on one of our three tennis courts. The 12,000 sq. ft. YHI Spa, Melias own private spa brand based on the fourth element of natures, provides with Full Services In-door massages cabins, spa boutique, spa salon, one out door relax pool and state-of-art Health Club with high tech equipment and personal trainers.

Surrounded by Puerto Rico's natural exotic landscape you will find two magnificent 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite, just minutes away. Gran Melia Puerto Rico guest privileges offer special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons and guest club storage - truly a golfer's paradise.

Guests can also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports such as ocean kayaking, windsurfing and sailing. After the sun goes down, Gran Melia Puerto Rico come alive with live music performance at the lobby bar. An air-conditioned amphitheatre will feature nightclub style shows.

Oversized accommodations, Internet access (charges may apply), extraordinary first-class restaurant, 4 swimming pools including a Only Adults Red Level pool, 3 tennis courses, YHI Spa and health club, beauty salon, room service ($), Kid Club ($), nearby golf courses and gift shop, 24 hours- taxi services. Pharmacy and medical services ($).

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (623)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, new york
Oct 29, 2009

Great Hotel, Attraction Company Horrible

The Hotel was absolutely beautiful. Breath taking views of the ocean. So relaxing. Friendly and wonderful staff, ask for [...]. Great food, restaurants are a little expensive, but great food. The attraction site that they have in the hotel -Dragon Fly- was absolutely horrible. There service was terrible, there staff are so non-friendly, so unprofessional, and they over charge you so dont use them. There arent enough things i could say bad about them. If you get the chance rent a car and get to do your own things there. But overrall the hotel was a gem, great price, great service, just a great place to enjoy and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Passion the restaurant has wonderful authentic puerto rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Oct 28, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The staff was not very friendly and the everything was overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 26, 2009

Romantically Luxurious

The staff was friendly and welcoming. We really didn't have to leave the resort at all but forced ourselves to go out and experience the PR culture. We had to tear ourselves away from the resort. I'm glad we chose Gran Melia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, Florida
Oct 25, 2009

Fantastic

This was an awesome place to be. The location to El Yungue rain forest and Luquillo beach 5- 15 minutes away made a perfect place to be and 30 to 40 minute ride to San Juan night life was good. Not much of a beach here but Luquillo beach was very close to this resort. The staff was awesome especially Rick who gave us all the good places to go and eat. I would come here again in a heart beat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york N.Y
Oct 20, 2009

paradise

Beautiful hotel on beautiful grounds. We booked the Royal Service upgrade and it was a treat. The Butler[...] went above and beyond to tend our every need. This is truly a fist class hotel with a very attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HUMACAO, PR
Oct 14, 2009

PARADISE VACATION

GREAT BEACH, SPECTACULAR POOL BUT NEED MORE PERSONNEL. BUT, PASION RESTAURANT IS AMAZING!!! SO GOOD..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

PASION RESTAURANT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
honeymoondawg
Business
Memphis, TN
Oct 12, 2009

Exceeded expectations

I got on here and read all the reviews after I had booked the resort. I was scared after reading all the bad reviews on here but once I got their I realized I had out done myself. It was the nicest resort I have stayed at. My new wife was extremely happy about the resort. The only compliant I have is that my room never got below 70 even with it set on 65. We talked to another couple and their room was cold so AC might not have been working. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Royal Service Suite and we were extremely impressed with it. They also took hundred out each day for incidentales. The food was great except for Pasion which is not part of the hotel. I would highly recommend doing the Bio tour if you go as well. The resort is about 30 minutes outside of San Juan which is a downside if you wanted to spend some time there but we enjoyed not being around a lot of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are only able to one excursion from the hotel I would highly recommend the Bio Bay. It was the most unique thing I have seen in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 12, 2009

Nice but nothing to do around the area

Nice hotel, but for the price we expected a lot more and there was very little activities for us to do. Would not waste our money again unless they were running a SUPER special. Took forever to check in too!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maank
Business
NJ/NY USA
Oct 8, 2009

Excellent - tranquil and luxurious

We typically do not stay at resorts because we are most interested in enjoying the sounds and sights of nature. Exploring non-tourist beaches with no lights at night, kayaking, snorkeling and hiking are some of our favorite things to do. We only had 4 nights so decided to choose a travel package and it worked out very well. The property is beautifully designed and laid out. We found it amazingly quiet for a large resort, although we were told that it was off season and not crowded at all. Definitely romantic! We had a Royal Service oceanfront suite which had additional priveleges, one of them being access to the "private" pool with Bali beds. Very nice! There are two other resorts under construction nearby so this may affect the ambiance in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

El Yunque has great hiking trails and is very close and worth a visit. Note - If you are using a GPS to explore nearby and other areas there have been many changes to existing roads and new roads have been added. We had 2 GPS units and neither of them was entirely accurate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Oct 7, 2009

Beautiful Resort but a little pricey....

Hotel is very clean,staff was extremely helpful and accomodating and the pool is GREAT!!! The staff really goes out of their way to make sure you are having a good time. Resturants were all nice however a little expensive, and during the week only 1 resturant at a time was open at night. A rental car is needed to expolre all the great places on the island. The rain forest and Old San Juan were amazing!! The view from El Morre' (fort where they fought from hundreds of years ago) was amazing....probably took 75 pics there alone! I would recommend this resort but i wouldn't recommend the all inclusive meal plan unless you plan on drinking and eating ALL DAY as it is expensive. I thought it might be worth it but realized we didn't eat breakfast, lunch and dinner every night as the portions were good size, but if you want to drink alcohol all day (only from noon til midnight included) then it might be worth it as drinks are a little expensive. Hope this helps

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A rental car is recommended as taxi and shuttle service is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top