$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bostonian Inquisitor
Business
boston, MA
Jan 19, 2010

very nice vacation

It has been a great experience. The resort has an outstanding architecture, and the temperatures are up even in January.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
freshman
Business
Río Grande, Puerto Rico
Aug 17, 2011

Good place to be relaxing

it is a good place to be relax and enjoy the pool and beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trang from FL
Business
St. Pete, FL
Sep 14, 2009

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

The hotel was very beautiful and there is so much to do. The pool was awesome and the swim up bar was fantastic. Great selection of restuarants and the most beautiful scenery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the mini fridge for the stay and stock up on snacks and beverages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Jun 13, 2008

Very family oriented

No night life at all at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunque rain forest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
May 6, 2008

Great Quiet Resort

My wife and I stayed at the Gran Melia Resort and Casino with our 10 month old child for our 4th Anniversary. The resort is beautiful and perfectly manicured. The rooms are very nice and the bathrooms are big with marble sinks. The restaurants are expensive and the food is not very good. The casino was a joke... it is the size of a large living room and has very little in terms of options for gambling. Basically just a few tables and some slot machines. If you are going to Puerto Rico looking for a beautiful island you are going to be sorely disappointed. The island seems to be overrun with people and run-down buildings and roads that are not maintained. Puerto Rico is an ugly island and the resort was the most beautiful part of the island but it is very secluded from anything else on the island so be prepared to just stay at the resor the whole time. We did drive to the El Yunque Rain Forest and that is beautiful but it is much better if you can get out of the vehicle and walk the trails but we couldn't do that with a sleeping 10 month old. Overall, the resort was good but we will probably never return to Puerto Rico because we like islands with more natural beauty and less people/traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laredo, TX
Jun 30, 2007

Beautiful Resosrt

This resort was beautiful. My only complaint has to do with the food. The restaurants were buffet style and very expensive. Not many choices especially for a quick bite to eat while hanging out by the pool. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was very accomodating and helpful. The nightlife was awesome the first night we got there because of the Patron Saint festivities. The rest of the week was quiet. There were several live lounge acts that were very entertaining. Overall a great vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlet malls nearby. All other dining sightseeing was a good 45min to hour drive away from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hillside
Aug 12, 2008

Very Family friendly- great location

Gran Melia is a great hotel for families, couples and friends to enjoy Puerto Rico. Everyone is very hospital, the hotel is clean and beautiful. The hotel is situated in a location where there is lots to do. It's 15 minutes from the El Yunque rainforest- a must see, and 30 minutes from the City that doesn't sleep. I would defintely recommend it to a friend. The only downfall is that the restaurants are pricey and catching a shuttle or cab to go anywhere cost a fortune. Definitely recommend renting a car to enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natieli
Business
Brooklyn
Jul 13, 2014

Good experience !

The resort is a paradise. We had a great adventure. The room were very large and comfortable .The service is good. All stuff is friendly. The resort is a little expensive(in my opinion ) with all included. And you pay parking fee. The beach was not as goog as we thought . Not too much sand and a lot of seaweed in the ocean water. But it is a great opportunity to do snorkeling and watch fish in the ocean:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LizaAnne
Business
DFW
Jul 26, 2014

A good stay

Beautiful resort . This place would be a 5 star hotel if they paid attention to the details. Ice towels & beach loungers were limited. Assistance from staff was also limited. They were friendly but always too busy to assist . It's a beautiful resort and we had a good stay but they need to bump it up a notch. I would recommend but w side notes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Ivan from adventure tours was amazing! He took our group of 7 everywhere w reasonable rates. He was our personal tour guide

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymoonin' Griffins
Business
New Haven, CT
Jul 21, 2014

Awesome Location, Okay Staff

My husband and I went to this hotel for four days for our honeymoon. Overall, it was great because the room was incredible, with spectacular views. We upgraded to the Red Level and were able to enjoy the free breakfast (which was great) and the more private pool. We didn't go to the restaurants onsite because they were pricey. The staff was alright and didn't seem up to par with the luxury of the property. We even got walked in on by housekeeping the first day we were there...no knock or anything. We would stay again because the hotel has the perfect location in Puerto Rico, far enough away from downtown San Juan so you get peace and quiet, but close enough where you can drive in to enjoy the nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Luquillo Kiosks for authentic, cheap Puerto Rican food. It's about a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top