$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
626 reviews
5 days of Amazing

The place is beautiful and the staff was so friendly and helpful. They made our stay very... See full review

  • Bella7888
  • Sep 8, 2014
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (626)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
626 out of 626
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle School Teacher
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 6, 2010

Relaxing....

This hotel is very beautiful, clean, and tranquil. This was my first visit to Puerto Rico and when I return, I will not stay here. It was absolutely beautiful and served the purpose of my trip (to relax), however, the location was an hour away from the airport which was a $65.00 cab ride. The best thing to do if you stay here is to rent a car!!!!! Rent from Avis so you don't have to pay to park at the hotel. There are no other food options other than what is offered at the resort and outside of the poolside bar, it can be expensive. The poolside bar did have excellent food and it was a decent price but there wasn't much of a selection. The beach was not very appealing due to the seaweed and rocks but it was very peaceful if you just want to relax by the beach on a lounge chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gushunt76
Business
Oakland, IL
Feb 15, 2010

My 5 days of paradise

Upon arriving into the main road to this resort I was very impressed. Although there was some new construction going up around the area, the resort itself was beautiful. It felt high class although most of the people staying there were just regular, average, hard-working people. The lobby and seating areas were all open air and there were so many places to just lounge around in the lobby. The pool was huge and had lounge chairs built in so you could sit half in/half out of the water. They charge your credit card at the beginning of your stay and then while you're at the bar or restaurants you just tell them your room number and they keep track of it. Whatever is left goes back onto your credit card. (We ended up using almost every bit of what they charge at the beginning and I think we were pretty conservative in spending). There were only two options for dinner- the Asian place and the Italian. (You will definitely want to make reservations if it's the weekend.) Both were very good, but especially the hibachi at the asian place. The italian place had a pretty limited menu and you didn't really feel like you were getting what you paid for. The Asian place was pretty comparable to other hibachis I've been to as far as price and quality. The food was very good. You only other option for dinner was to go out of the resort area, which is pretty secluded. There are NO nearby restaurants unless you want burger king or church's chicken or the hole-in-the-wall local places. The pool bar and grill closes at 5 so the pool is pretty much deserted after the sun goes down. The breakfast buffet had so much food to choose from, but again was very overpriced. The hotel and guests both would benefit if they had at least one restaurant that was more like the average American eatery. While there, we went to El Yunque rainforest - amazing and well worth the exhausting hiking up and down the mountain. You should definitely wear good shoes and lightweight clothing. Bring your swimsuit too because you can swim in one of the waterfalls. The water at the bottom of the fall is cold and small but a cool experience, I'm sure. We tried our luck at surfing as well on Luquillo Beach. There was a small surf shop along the beachfront where a guy named Juan gave 1 hour lessons and you could also rent the boards by the hour. Again, a cool experience and well worth being exhausted by the end of the day. There weren't many places to eat either. We found a McDonald's nearby (ugh). We also visited Old San Juan and the El Morro fort/castle. It was pretty cool but we didn't stay there long. We walked down the where the sea port is and looked in some shops and ate at a great local cuisine place called Mojito's. It is very touristy down by the port, so be prepared for lots of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A rental car is a must if you stay on the side of the island. The hotel is waaay out almost on a peninsula and it would cost a fortune to take a taxi everywhere. Luquillo Beach, the rainforest, ferries to other islands are all only about 15- 30 minutes away, and really easy to get to. There is so much to do on the east side of the PR. You should definitely call way ahead for certain attractions like the Bio Bay and the Zipline tours. We wanted to do the zipline and it was all booked up by the time we got there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Where-da-party-at
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 4, 2011

nice, but...

Clean, nice atmosphere, friendly staff. But: hotel very far from island attractions and taxi/tours buses get very pricey...so getting a rental car is a VERY good idea. The hotel resturant food is good, but the selection is fairly limited for pickey eaters, and again pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Utt's
Business
Virginia
Jul 17, 2014

Beautiful Resort

My husband and I chose this resort for our honeymoon! We booked the Redlevel oceanfront room and were beyond pleased with how beautiful the rooms and property are. As for the butler service we weren't pleased with. Not once did we receive what we requested. Don't order the pizza lol it's terrible. The other restuaraunts there are amazing. We ate at the cafe for breakfast and for dinner we tried the Japanese and the steakhouse of which both were wonderful and so was the service. We will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natieli
Business
Brooklyn
Jul 13, 2014

Good experience !

The resort is a paradise. We had a great adventure. The room were very large and comfortable .The service is good. All stuff is friendly. The resort is a little expensive(in my opinion ) with all included. And you pay parking fee. The beach was not as goog as we thought . Not too much sand and a lot of seaweed in the ocean water. But it is a great opportunity to do snorkeling and watch fish in the ocean:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LizaAnne
Business
DFW
Jul 26, 2014

A good stay

Beautiful resort . This place would be a 5 star hotel if they paid attention to the details. Ice towels & beach loungers were limited. Assistance from staff was also limited. They were friendly but always too busy to assist . It's a beautiful resort and we had a good stay but they need to bump it up a notch. I would recommend but w side notes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Ivan from adventure tours was amazing! He took our group of 7 everywhere w reasonable rates. He was our personal tour guide

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymoonin' Griffins
Business
New Haven, CT
Jul 21, 2014

Awesome Location, Okay Staff

My husband and I went to this hotel for four days for our honeymoon. Overall, it was great because the room was incredible, with spectacular views. We upgraded to the Red Level and were able to enjoy the free breakfast (which was great) and the more private pool. We didn't go to the restaurants onsite because they were pricey. The staff was alright and didn't seem up to par with the luxury of the property. We even got walked in on by housekeeping the first day we were there...no knock or anything. We would stay again because the hotel has the perfect location in Puerto Rico, far enough away from downtown San Juan so you get peace and quiet, but close enough where you can drive in to enjoy the nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Luquillo Kiosks for authentic, cheap Puerto Rican food. It's about a 10 minute drive from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLJ76
Business
Naperville, IL
Jul 28, 2014

Wonderful Family Excursion`

The Gran Melia more than lived up to its advertisements by offering an outstanding locale, exceptional rooms and ocean view. It truly made us feel like were at an upscale resort. The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast buffet a true gem. We found the grounds to be well maintained and the pool truly incredible. Improvement opportunities include the following: more staff during peak season or in our case holidays as we often had to wait in lines. The Asian themed restaurant could use a touch of real Asian flavor as our food was generally bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. It will provide you with more freedom and do it off of the airport property to save at least $100 plus dollars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherlz
Business
Brooklyn New York
Aug 21, 2014

Birthday getaway

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel! Our butler Daniel was the BEST EVER! Room was huge with two jacuzzi.. We stayed at one of the Villas with our own personal private pool.. The public pool was huge! Service was on point! Def would go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pasion puerto ru an restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
head chef daley
Business
yonkers ny
Sep 3, 2014

family fun times

loved this resort...the red level pool near our room was great when we didn't want to walk to the main pool. I loved the covered pool beds that you could reserve for free.The kids were excited to see many iguanas roaming the grounds.The staff were all friendly and helpful.We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The finest breakfast buffet I ever could have dreamed of....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top