$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
657 reviews
Awesome getaway!!!

This place was awesome. The pool and swim up bar are my favorite. The night life is great also. See full review

  • Missgoodie
  • Feb 23, 2015
Great Honeymoon

I have never seen something so beautiful in my life - will return! See full review

  • Stefanie F.
  • Feb 20, 2015
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 2-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (657)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
657 out of 657
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 9, 2010

Family first to Puerto Rico

The hotel was beautiful. Checking in was a bit lengthy and the room wasn't ready until after 7 pm. The staff were very friendly. You do need a car to get around, as the hotel like most things seem to be far apart. A car also gives you a chance to eat at some of the less expensive restaurants away from the hotel. The pizza at the Avenue bar is the best deal and delicious. I would like to see the pool bar stay open later and serve burgers until at least 9 or 10 pm for a less expensive, less formal dining option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

El Jefe Burger Shack in the Luquillo Kiosk's has great food and cheap beer. Wish we would have tried it before our last night in Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jul 8, 2010

nice place but no custumer attention

nobody give any n formation about the hotel or activities. We were in the pool and the beach everything was pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jun 24, 2010

The most relaxing stay

I am a native Puertorican who lives in the states. I book my first visit to Gran Melia last summer and really enjoyed the hotel. This year I had to go back, I meet my parents in the hotel, they enjoyed everyminute of the stay. The facilities are beautiful, the landscaping is great and well kept. The service is excellent, rooms large, clean and with unique view. The buffet (we tried breakfast only) was the best breakfast buffet! and I travel quite a bit. It is a great place to rest, but plenty of activities for all ages. I recommend this place to anyone, this was my sencond time and hopefully not the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CRobin8551
Business
Elkridge, MD
Jun 12, 2010

Absolutely Beautiful!

The Grand Melia Resort is absolutely beautiful! The rooms are very clean and grounds are highly manicured. The service from the staff was exceptional and very friendly. It was like being in paradise! If you are looking for a fantastic place to truly relax and get away, I would recommend the Grand Melia Resort as a must. It is located far enough away from the local hustle and bustle but close enough to places of interest such as Luquillo Beach, where we had lunch almost everyday at some of the different restaurants and kiosks located by the beach, and the El Yunque Forest which is absolulely very beautiful. We made trips to San Juan to visit the Bacardi factory and to explore San Juan, which is only about a 30 minute trip depending on traffic. I would definitely visit this resort again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Renting a car is a must unless you don't plan on getting out to site see. Ask the concierges for places of interest and the best local restaurants, they have directions to a lot of attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BSN
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 6, 2010

A liltle pice of Paradise

Beautiful place to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superchic
Business
Fort worth Texas
Jun 6, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

There is not enough room to write the book about our horrible 10 year anniversary trip at this resort. So I will sum it up, maid stole our camera so we lost 2 days of pictures, we saved for 10 years to take a vacation and was terribly disappointed, the hotel didnt even offer to take the amount the camera cost off our bill, we were not informed of the nasty beaches, nor the resturants closing so freaking early, and the royal service bar well it closes at 5 every day, well that's insane, people that pay for the royal service should have a bar tender until 11:00 pm at least, we are adults you know, so besides starving in the middle of the night and no refrigerator in the room we drank hot water, because they did not tell us that if you put your water in the cooler in the room everytime you take it out they charge you because their stuff is on a sensor.. there was a lot of miscommunication from the get go, there was only one individual that really expressed his sorrow for the camera and i cried for 2 nights after that because we will never get those memories back, never! The food was horrible and to expensive after spending all our money on the Royal Service we would have been better off not paying exra for the Royal Service is a JOKE We will never go back to this resort EVER!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take lots of money because everything is really expensive! Be Ware!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield, CT
Jun 1, 2010

Beautiful Resort

The hotel was beautiful, the bungalows, were very large, clean and luxurious. The pool was huge and clean, the beach was very small and the ocean wasn't as clear and blue as expected, it's more situated on on a bay. The restaurants were ok, the service was great until you were done eating, they seem to forget about you for about a 1/2 hour to bring you your check, which was very annoying. The italian restaurant wasn't that great, our food was served quick, however it seemed as though it was sitting under a hot light. The spanish restaurant was delicious, the Churasco steak was superb!! Overall, the restaurants were very expensive like any resort. For 2 of us, breakfast buffet was $50, and dinner was $60 (with water, no drinks), we didn't dare eat lunch for another $50. There is a bakery at the begining of the road to the resort, that has delicious puerto rican breakfast sandwiches and lunch platters and pastries, very cheap. There is also a market in the lobby area, that has bagels/pastries/coffee, if you're not the big eater. Come prepared, because the resort is situated off of the rainforest and the rain clouds come almost every day for a short period, but they conveniently provide umbrellas in each room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JERSEY CITY, NJ
May 10, 2010

PARADISE INDEED

THE HOTEL WAS BEAUTIFUL. PARADISE INDEED. THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAD WAS THE FOOD. I SPENT $81.00 ON BREAKFAST AND IT WASNT THE BEST BREAKFAST. THIS HOTEL DOES NOT ACCEPT CASH. I HAD TO PUT EVERYTHING ON MY DEBIT CARD OR ROOM CHARGE. THE PLACE IS BEAUTIFUL. IF I HAD RENTED A CAR IT WOULD HAVE BEEN EVEN SWEETER. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL FOR BIG FAMILIES AND AN OLDER CROWD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

BAND IN LOBBY. PLAYED LOVELY MUSIC. BAND BY THE POOL/BAR.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill Blackberry
Business
Chicago, Ill
May 7, 2010

My Stay at the Gran Melia

There wasn't a real beach area (could not go swimming). Also, was not expecting to be charged $100/day per person for incidentals. A car rental would be nice to have because of the distance to/from various sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Discount Mall is approx. 10 miles way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 25, 2010

Decent Hotel

The Good: The hotel room was nice, above your average hotel room and each came with balcony/porch which was semi private. The rooms also have safes which is relaxing. The hotel was very clean, including the pool area and the room was promptly made up as you left the room. Gran Melia also sports a nice golf course, apparently this is the spot of the Puerto Rican PGA tour. The staff was also very nice, approachable and easily gave me tons of information on local hotspots and "to do's" while in Puerto Rico. The Bad: The hotel resort was isolated, you will definitely need a vehicle if you plan to leave (i.e. it was approx 2 miles from the front gate to the front desk...another five miles from the front desk to the main road, and there is nothing to see along this journey to the main road.) There were three restaurants, Italian, Asian (Japanese), and Puerto Rican. The ambiance was nice in all three but the food was about average (at best.) Add to this however that the average entree was about $30 and average drink ($10) and a meal for two with drinks essentially starts at $80 (which is on the lower side.) Now I have no problem paying for good food, I live in NY and restaurants easily cost this much on average, but the quality of the food is much better. I was expecting at least the same at this resort, but was sorely disappointed (i.e. I ordered a Halibut fillet at the Italian restaurant, the fillet was "a la carte" and very bland for $32). I was much better served driving into any one of the many eateries along the roadway for an authentic and moderately priced meal. Also, if you go with your significant other for a romantic get-away, be very cautious. This resort also sells time shares and the sales folk were on the prowl. I had to have said "No Thank You" at least five times over my 4 night 5 day stay. Bottom Line: I personally would not go back to this resort. If you do choose this Hotel to stay, rent a vehicle at the airport. Puerto Rico is actually very easy to get around and after leaving the airport only three turns will get you to the front gates (albeit 40 minutes later.) The airport transfer is $72 per person which will get you a small car for 2 days. Also, if you rent from Avis, you get free parking at the resort because there is an Avis at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a car and get out, you will find tons of eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top