$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy (always looking for 5 star servic)
Business
Lathrup Village, MI
Aug 9, 2011

Beautiful Resort, but far from downtown!

Me and my husband took a last minute 4 day getaway and was recommeded to try this resort. Although the surrounding area is very rundown and desolate, the resort itself is beautiful..I was very happy once we got on the property. While there we took the ATV ride through the rainforest, it was nice, maybe next time we will zip line? It was worth the $$..We also did the couples massages at the spa, this I dont recommend. Way overly priced for a mediocre massage! The layout of the resort is great easy access to everything. The only one major complaint I have is that the room we had was horribly damp! It had a mildew smell, the mgmt said it was due to being on the ocean and offered no resolution! They need to disinfect and get better air circulation in the rooms.. I only wish this was an all inclusive resort, because at the end it was costly for meals. Overall I would go back and maybe upgrade my room, they say the rooms that are upstairs do not have the same moisture?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2009

Great Place for a Romantic Getaway!!!

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Gran Melia. We stayed there for 5 days and 4 nights and did not want to leave. There was always something to do from lounging in the pool by day or going to the bar at night for dancing. The resort is located steps away from the beautiful beach. The only drawback is that with staying there for an extended period of time you dont have many choices as far as restaurants since they only have 3. The food is really good though. Overall, we would definatley stay there again and would recommend to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Dont make this trip and not visit Old San Juan. The hotel offers a shuttle bus, which is about a half hour drive.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lehigh Valley PA
Mar 17, 2011

Beautiful Resort

It is a beautiful resort. The beach however is grainy with lots of broken shell pieces. I would not go into the water without wearing water shoes - I am a tenderfoot. But there were very few people and I walked long stretches of unpopulated beach with only rocks and shells for company. It was lovely. Service was good but slow. If you stay there, be aware that the resort is some 30 miles from San Juan. Either rent a car or be prepared for a massive taxi fare (~$80 one way) into San Juan. Renting a car is best since there are other sites on the island to visit in addition to San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tempo, the onsite Italian restaurant was very good but the pizza at the poolside cafe/bar was horrible.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
May 20, 2007

Beautiful, but needs development

Hotel and Pool were very beautiful. Our stay was during a transition period to new owners and is no longer an all inclusive resort. As a result, the dining options were limited and mostly buffet. The breakfast buffet though, was consistently great. The Hotel is fairly secluded so having a rental car is a must. Had an issue with the lock being broken on the sliding door to a ground level balcony which wasnt fixed until the following day. Also waited overnight after requesting a remote control that was missing from the room. The highlight of the resort is the pool and the lounge areas which were large and offered ample and comfortable seating options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Loquillo (Spelling?) Beach has fantastic local food in a row of food stands. It is a little scary looking aesthetically, but go ahead and try it. The people are warm and friendly and the food is phenomenal.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 28, 2008

Not a good beach!

The Gran Melia in Puerto Rico was somewhat of a dissappointment. First, the beach location is not good - it was small, very rocky and lots of seaweed. We actually wound up driving 15 minutes to another beach since we couldn't enjoy the one at the hotel. Second, SERVICE!! Be prepared for LONG waits at reception, and also not completing requests made to the staff. On the flip side, the food at all restaurants was very good. Prices (if you're from the NY area) were comparable to eating out at decent restaurants. The pool was nice, but there's only one. The kids camp was absolutely useless! Unless you want your child to be outside in the heat with no water activities, I wouldn't suggest it. But, again, the hotel property was beautiful. Be prepared to see lots of iguana's running around! Big ones too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 13, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

The staff was great, the pool was amazing. Breakfast was overpriced but everything else was on par. There's a great local bakery outside the hotel, Coco Sweet, where we ate every morning for a few bucks. The Supermercado on Hwy 3 is a great place to stock up on water and snacks and fruits as well. My only issue with the hotel was the concierge service. They always referred me to the front desk for things they should know, like driving directions to popular beaches, or hotel activities, even to mail a postcard. I must've gone up to the concierge desk 4-5 times and never could I get quick answers. It was odd, and I would definitely be concerned about that if I were the hotel manager. But having said that, we had a fabulous experience and we'd done a lot of research on our own so we managed on our own quite well. The staff was very polite, the rooms clean, the pool amazing, the hotel food very good. Two thumbs up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car and do your own excursions to the rainforest and beaches, Old San Juan, etc. You save money and get freedom to go where you want, when you want. Plus you have to freedom to eat at the local restaurants which are amazing!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle School Teacher
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 6, 2010

Relaxing....

This hotel is very beautiful, clean, and tranquil. This was my first visit to Puerto Rico and when I return, I will not stay here. It was absolutely beautiful and served the purpose of my trip (to relax), however, the location was an hour away from the airport which was a $65.00 cab ride. The best thing to do if you stay here is to rent a car!!!!! Rent from Avis so you don't have to pay to park at the hotel. There are no other food options other than what is offered at the resort and outside of the poolside bar, it can be expensive. The poolside bar did have excellent food and it was a decent price but there wasn't much of a selection. The beach was not very appealing due to the seaweed and rocks but it was very peaceful if you just want to relax by the beach on a lounge chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis mn
Aug 17, 2010

great vacation, very relaxing.

It was peaceful, quiet, may things to do at the hotel. One would not even need to leave. However, we also wanted to see more of Puerto Rico and rented a car. We found very well price local food and the people very friendly. The weather was very warm, just the way I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

since the hotel is located in a more out of the way place, I would recommend renting a car ahead of time.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
See the Globe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 19, 2010

Great Resort in a beautiful location

Just got back from 5 days in Puerto Rico. It was a girls getaway vacation so we wanted a relaxing but fun trip. The Gran Melia was a great resort in a wonderful location. The property is really beautiful with open pavilions bringing the outdoors inside. The resort had nice facilities. We spent a lot of time at the pool, which is massive. It's lagoon shaped so there are various sections to the pool so you can try and find a quiet spot or be right in the middle of the action where the swim up bar is located. I love the fact that there are Bali Beds that you can rent for a day. They're located near the pool and beach and are perfect for an afternoon siesta or reading a book. Our room was a good size with 2 double beds, a sitting area, and a decent sized bathroom. Definitely worth the price we paid. It was also a short walking distance to the Yhi Spa and Wellness Center where the gym was located. We did try a couple of the restaurants. They were good, but definitely resort prices. Breakfast was $16 for continental and $23 for "hot" and continental. The selection was OK. Personally, I preferred to try more local restaurants. The staff was great. They were accommodating and extremely helpful and provided prompt service. The concierges were fantastic. We visited the concierge desk frequently, getting recommendations on things to do / see and where to eat. They are very organized and have directions already prepared for all the top destinations in the area, including el yunque, San Juan, Fajardo, Luquillo, etc... This was so helpful. WE spent an afternoon at the Yhi Spa. Again, the staff was really great. The spa prices are a bit high (50 min massage was $140!) but daily specials were offered as were some package deals. I think the package deals were the best bet as the a la carte services were really expensive. The facilities are very nice and there was hardly anyone there, so we pretty much had everything to ourselves at times! some minor things that I didn't like about the hotel - no clocks in the room, room service is only available until midnight, and the daily parking rate is $16 for hotel guests which I think is high. Overall, I was very happy with the resort and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you're staying outside Old San Juan or Isla Verde. A cab ride is about $65 (+tip) each way from San Juan to Rio Grande where the Gran Melia is located.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gushunt76
Business
Oakland, IL
Feb 15, 2010

My 5 days of paradise

Upon arriving into the main road to this resort I was very impressed. Although there was some new construction going up around the area, the resort itself was beautiful. It felt high class although most of the people staying there were just regular, average, hard-working people. The lobby and seating areas were all open air and there were so many places to just lounge around in the lobby. The pool was huge and had lounge chairs built in so you could sit half in/half out of the water. They charge your credit card at the beginning of your stay and then while you're at the bar or restaurants you just tell them your room number and they keep track of it. Whatever is left goes back onto your credit card. (We ended up using almost every bit of what they charge at the beginning and I think we were pretty conservative in spending). There were only two options for dinner- the Asian place and the Italian. (You will definitely want to make reservations if it's the weekend.) Both were very good, but especially the hibachi at the asian place. The italian place had a pretty limited menu and you didn't really feel like you were getting what you paid for. The Asian place was pretty comparable to other hibachis I've been to as far as price and quality. The food was very good. You only other option for dinner was to go out of the resort area, which is pretty secluded. There are NO nearby restaurants unless you want burger king or church's chicken or the hole-in-the-wall local places. The pool bar and grill closes at 5 so the pool is pretty much deserted after the sun goes down. The breakfast buffet had so much food to choose from, but again was very overpriced. The hotel and guests both would benefit if they had at least one restaurant that was more like the average American eatery. While there, we went to El Yunque rainforest - amazing and well worth the exhausting hiking up and down the mountain. You should definitely wear good shoes and lightweight clothing. Bring your swimsuit too because you can swim in one of the waterfalls. The water at the bottom of the fall is cold and small but a cool experience, I'm sure. We tried our luck at surfing as well on Luquillo Beach. There was a small surf shop along the beachfront where a guy named Juan gave 1 hour lessons and you could also rent the boards by the hour. Again, a cool experience and well worth being exhausted by the end of the day. There weren't many places to eat either. We found a McDonald's nearby (ugh). We also visited Old San Juan and the El Morro fort/castle. It was pretty cool but we didn't stay there long. We walked down the where the sea port is and looked in some shops and ate at a great local cuisine place called Mojito's. It is very touristy down by the port, so be prepared for lots of people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A rental car is a must if you stay on the side of the island. The hotel is waaay out almost on a peninsula and it would cost a fortune to take a taxi everywhere. Luquillo Beach, the rainforest, ferries to other islands are all only about 15- 30 minutes away, and really easy to get to. There is so much to do on the east side of the PR. You should definitely call way ahead for certain attractions like the Bio Bay and the Zipline tours. We wanted to do the zipline and it was all booked up by the time we got there.

Back to menu Return to top