$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
658 out of 658
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Sep 19, 2010

nice hotel some issues

wont allow coolers in the room no hot water for 2 DAYS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Sep 14, 2010

Beautiful Resort...

Arriving at the Resort is beautiful, there is an amazing golf course and as soon as you come to the entrance it feels like a luxury resort. The entire open air lobby/casino/restaurant/bar areas are decorated beautifully and the marble floors everywhere makes it feel very luxurious. The restaurants were good, yet probably more expensive than most people are used to paying, especially if you are coming with a family. Make sure you upgrade to the "Royal Service" it wasn't much more per day and you get Free Breakfast (which is about $22/ person) access to a private adult only pool, and a happy hr from 6-9pm every night. If you love to swim in the ocean and want crystal clear blue water...this is not a good beach for that. It is full of seaweed and not very deep. But it is pretty to walk along it. Also, make sure you book your transportation when you book your trip, otherwise it is about twice the price. Same when you want to do any of the Trip (ie: Sailing/ Snorkeling/ Rainforest) You pay alot more to book these at the Resort. Plus our room on the main floor was kind of musty smelling, must of had some water in it from a storm or something. Other than that the room looked just like the pictures. Overall we were pleased with the resort and the friendliness of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Upgrade to Royal Service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
smi01011
Business
Springfield, MO
Sep 13, 2010

Couples

Could not go swiming in the beach it was covered with sea weed. There was no entertainment offered at the hotel other than a small casino and live music on Saturday only. We were not told that there was going to be a daily charge of $16.00 to park the rental car in their facility eventhough we were staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PUERTO RICO
Sep 1, 2010

Great relaxing place

IT WAS GOOD EVEN THOUGH, A HURRICANE WAS REALLY CLOSE TO THE ISLAND. BUT GOOD FOR THE PRICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Aug 30, 2010

Very nice Hotel.

We did not stay too much at the hotel. So the review is limited to the room, pool and breakfast service. The hotel is very nice. Beautiful landscaping inhabited by iguanas, little lizards and a number of different wild birds. At night you could see hermit crabs walking around and hear the coqui frogs (not annoying at all). The room was clean and spacious. AC worked fine. Decent furniture. Pool = great. Big enough to find your own spot. Breakfast good. There is a buffet and a continental option. Basically hot or cold stuff and it's priced accordingly ($25 vs. $15). Good quality food, fresh fruit although not a huge variety or very "tropical" ones (pineapple, watermelon, cantaloupe, melon, bananas, oranges, and grapes). Be nice to the staff in the breakfast area. Choose one waiter/tress and stick with her/him. Talk to them, share, laugh, this people are genuine. In general, the hotel has friendly staff and nice amenities. Being native Spanish speaker helped a lot but everyone can communicate in English. It has a casino, golf course, night entertainment, among other stuff that I can't rate since I did not use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the MAS card for discounts and 2x1 breakfast. Ask for it at the desk right before concierge area. Hotel charges $16/day parking, to waive it, rent Avis (call at hotel) they have a dedicated lot. Bring your GPS, pick/drop car at airport, save shuttle. Toll ways are $1-1.50, the rental has a electronic "tag" but it's expensive. People drive a bit crazy so relax, don't fall in the game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
@runtonybobrun
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 23, 2010

Couldn't have been happier

When checking in my girlfriend and I thought we were at the wrong place because how beautiful it was. Same thing once we got to the room and toured the resort. It was nothing short of amazing. I would absolutely recommend friends or family to this resort, amazing place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We rented a car which saved us tons. We wanted to do the rain forest, the Bacardi distillery, the Old San Juan, the forts and much more. We rented a car so we got lucky because going on tours would have been 60-100 for each person for each trip but if you have a car these things are either free or cost 2-5 dollars. The shuttle from the hotel alone made it worth while to have a car, its only 20-30 minutes from the airport and roads are very easy to manage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
See the Globe
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 19, 2010

Great Resort in a beautiful location

Just got back from 5 days in Puerto Rico. It was a girls getaway vacation so we wanted a relaxing but fun trip. The Gran Melia was a great resort in a wonderful location. The property is really beautiful with open pavilions bringing the outdoors inside. The resort had nice facilities. We spent a lot of time at the pool, which is massive. It's lagoon shaped so there are various sections to the pool so you can try and find a quiet spot or be right in the middle of the action where the swim up bar is located. I love the fact that there are Bali Beds that you can rent for a day. They're located near the pool and beach and are perfect for an afternoon siesta or reading a book. Our room was a good size with 2 double beds, a sitting area, and a decent sized bathroom. Definitely worth the price we paid. It was also a short walking distance to the Yhi Spa and Wellness Center where the gym was located. We did try a couple of the restaurants. They were good, but definitely resort prices. Breakfast was $16 for continental and $23 for "hot" and continental. The selection was OK. Personally, I preferred to try more local restaurants. The staff was great. They were accommodating and extremely helpful and provided prompt service. The concierges were fantastic. We visited the concierge desk frequently, getting recommendations on things to do / see and where to eat. They are very organized and have directions already prepared for all the top destinations in the area, including el yunque, San Juan, Fajardo, Luquillo, etc... This was so helpful. WE spent an afternoon at the Yhi Spa. Again, the staff was really great. The spa prices are a bit high (50 min massage was $140!) but daily specials were offered as were some package deals. I think the package deals were the best bet as the a la carte services were really expensive. The facilities are very nice and there was hardly anyone there, so we pretty much had everything to ourselves at times! some minor things that I didn't like about the hotel - no clocks in the room, room service is only available until midnight, and the daily parking rate is $16 for hotel guests which I think is high. Overall, I was very happy with the resort and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you're staying outside Old San Juan or Isla Verde. A cab ride is about $65 (+tip) each way from San Juan to Rio Grande where the Gran Melia is located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Aug 17, 2010

Average hotel, nothing special

The hotel is in a pretty remote location, although there are currently a lot of new hotels and resorts being built on the same property. Not much of a beach at the resort (for something so out of the way, you would expect a much nicer beach). We had to change rooms the first day because the door to the room was stuck (we had to call security to let us in and out of the room - it wasn't a problem with the key, the door was just too big for the doorway and the security guy had to ram it with his shoulder). Also, the maid service was a bit spotty - we did not get maid service on one of the days - no explanation, just returned to the room at midnight after a long excursion and found that the maid hadn't come. Other than that the resort was fine. The pools are nice and the concierge is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The huge buffet breakfast is quite expensive so if you just want something small, go to the gift shop (The Market) and pick up some coffee and pastries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis mn
Aug 17, 2010

great vacation, very relaxing.

It was peaceful, quiet, may things to do at the hotel. One would not even need to leave. However, we also wanted to see more of Puerto Rico and rented a car. We found very well price local food and the people very friendly. The weather was very warm, just the way I like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

since the hotel is located in a more out of the way place, I would recommend renting a car ahead of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, Ks
Aug 15, 2010

Puert Rico Getaway

Great hotel, very nice and upscale, I would recommend to anyone looking for a romantic place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top