$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
658 out of 658
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leno, the man
Business
Canton, Ga
Nov 23, 2010

Gran Melia

One Of the most beautiful resorts I have ever seen. Perfect for romantic get away and the kids loved the pool. The pictures in their ad doesn't justify the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do brunch and skip lunch to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rev Julie
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 22, 2010

Beautiful Resort

The resort was beautiful. The pools were fabulous. We chose to upgrade for the last 3 nights. the rooms were wonderful, though the mattress on the fold out couch was not very comfortable. The food in Pasion was okay and service not so great, but in the Italian Rest. it was super as well as the wait staff. Happy Hour that comes with the upgrade was nice but did not enjoy the kids that were rowdy and their parents who were loud. Not all butlers were efficient but as bad as some were the others were great. It is about 45 minutes from airport and San Juan so either book tours or pay high price for cab if you do not have a car. No entertainment, make your own. I would stay again because it is so beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

About 45+ minute drive to Old San Juan but well worth it! Great shopping, dining and clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
starbuck, mn
Nov 16, 2010

some good /some bad

rooms where great, staff where very good. outstanding scenery. drawbacks- nowhere on yuor info does it say you have to pay 100.00 dollars a nite deposit at checkin. that would be nice to know before hand. also, eating at resort is too highpriced. buffet breakfast 22.00 dollars each. ive had better at bestwestern and other hotels for alot cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

eat off site. alot cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chica boriqua
Business
Harrisburg pa
Oct 30, 2010

Breathtaking Views

Very beautiful view of the ocean, beautiful landscape, beautiful pools, great employees. The food is a little on the pricey side but you can eat for a lot less off the property. Overall highly recommend Gran Melia as a place to stay in Rio Grande Puerto Rico. The casino pays out pretty well also and I am not a gambler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

coco sweet bakery on your way into the resort you will find the best breakfast, lunch and dinner for a very low price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Joliet, IL
Oct 25, 2010

Fabulous getaway!

Gran Melia Resort is very beautiful. The lobby is very inviting. The grounds are constantly being kept up and manicured. The staff were unbelievably welcoming and helpful during our entire stay. They responded with speed to any question or request we had. The ocean view was spectacular. Our only disappointment was that our beach area was not meant for swimming, but since the resort had two beautiful pools, that was not a problem. We would definitely plan to stay at this resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The concierge had educated us on the "ferry" system and how to get to a couple of the other islands that are known for their beautiful beaches. It was a great experience and so affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sister Love
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Oct 21, 2010

Beautiful Resort

Service could be better. You have to walk a lot or wait for a golf Cart to take you. This includes going out to get ice.It is the tropics (very hoy) Rooms are great, large with private balcony's. Take Bug Spray

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Coco's Sweet shop. Locals go for lunch $5.00. Breakfast also. Hotel breakfast $22.00. At the beginning of the road to the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 17, 2010

mediocre medley

Grand Melia Resorts have been my favorite places to stay at many destinations, usually their employees, food and accomodations are wonderful and I have always enjoyed my vacations with no complaints and a desire to return which I have may times. Until now. The Grand Melia PR needs new management, some staff replacement, price adjustment and some selection opportunities for transportaion, restaurants and entertainment of which there was none. Much of the staff seemed more concerned with themselves than the guests, almost everything opened up late without apologies, I had no running water in my room "Royal Service" and they were doing construction on the walkway in front of my room. The hotel was not busy so why put me in a room like that when others are available? However, my butler, the waiters at the restaurants and the scenery were great. The pool bar was filthy but the pool itself and the towel area were well kept. I will not not return to the Grand Melia PR, but as always I will use [...] to book all my vacations, they are the most reliable company I have ever used for travel. PS the food was good but way overpriced, get the breakfast deal if you can it was worth it but lunch and dinner were not worth the money. Don't plan on doing activities when you get there, there were virtually none at the hotel and excursions were limited and expensive. Happy Vacationing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Old San Juan and an outlet mall down the highway. I would avoid driving though if you are not an aggressive driver traffic is brutal at all times of the day. There is no shopping at the hotel except a small store in the front of the main building and it is limited, but it has great coffee and muffins.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uwi
Business
Georgia
Oct 13, 2010

Location ok, service bad

Puerto Rico was awesome, but the hotel isn't that great after all. The service was bad, the stuff unfriendly and not trained enough. The breakfast buffett on the weekends was good but from Monday to Friday you can only order via menu. The waitress was unfriendly and the breakfast came 45 Minutes later!!!! The only friendly and fast waiter was [...]. We got charged for things which we didn't order and parking was 80 USD for 5 days. That is really not acceptable! The rooms were ok, but the bed sofa was dirty and ugly. Nobody likes to sleep there! The pool area and the hotel lobby are really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Sep 26, 2010

Perfect Relaxing Getaway

It was everything I was looking for in a relaxing getaway. They had everything you needed to get away from the hotel also i.e. car rental, taxi, excursions with transportation. I got to see the best parts of the island with the tours that they set up for me. Gave me great directions to everything I wanted to see when I rented a car. The pool was incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 21, 2010

Great for couples

very nice expirience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top