$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island
Feb 26, 2011

Gran Melia

The Food was not very good..You could not swim at the beach...This trip was the worst..All others have been a ten..No Carib flavor..St. Lucia..St. Martin Caymen beautiful..and very memorable..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikki Great Traveler
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 21, 2011

Couples Retreat

The hotel offered many activities to do from Shopping to rain forest tours. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. It is also very romantic at night. This was the best trip I have been on so far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Many to choose from.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cici Lee
Business
Boston
Feb 20, 2011

great place

The hotel is great. the Sea shore is beautiful. just I am not very sure whether we can swim in it. The best advise is renting a car. It is really far away from Old San Juan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The convinient store besides hotel lobby sells great bread. It will help to save a lot for the breakfast.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cici Lee
Business
Boston
Feb 20, 2011

great place

The hotel is great. the Sea shore is beautiful. just I am not very sure whether we can swim in it. The best advise is renting a car. It is really far away from Old San Juan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The convinient store besides hotel lobby sells great bread. It will help to save a lot for the breakfast.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virgiina
Feb 19, 2011

gran melia

Puerto Rico is a very beautiful place. However, if you enjoy the city style. I wouldnt pick this place to stay. If was a good distance from everything. Which is nice if you are just looking for some relaxation. Pretty much everything on the resort closes by 11p. So not much night life. If you want some excitement you should pick somewhere closer to the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

this resort was more for couples, people wanting to honeymoon or relax. it is away from the city not much excitement

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Humacao, PR
Feb 14, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever, Will never go back

It is a beautifull hotel, but the service it is the worst I have ever seen, terible cleanlines, Electrical Problems, Water Problems, Bartender Eticate and profesionalism. Were did they finf their employees. Simply the worst service ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Venue shopper
Business
Midwest
Jan 25, 2011

Looking for wedding venues in PR

My daughter and I went to PR in hopes of finding the perfect July wedding venue. We were slightly disappointed with Gran Melia upon arrival. We arrived at 4:30 p.m. after traveling since 6:30 a.m. I'm going to constitute jet lag as our first impression of the resort. With that said, a new invigorating day was brought on by sleeping on a cloud with a marshmallow pillow. Service and food were exceptional. Pools were crystal clear. Room was clean, yet for some people the tinge of mold in the cracks of the marble enveloping the tub area may be less than desirable. My thought...tropical area; lots of humidity. Otherwise the room was as expected. Wedding ceremony will be at GM, but not sure if we will stay there. ONE downfall, the hotel wedding planner. When shopping for a venue in PR, buyers should have the feeling they are the most important people since sliced bread. Not no. So we hired an off-site wedding coordinator (which is delightful and energic), and she did an entire walk-through of the resort. (Hum...she is not an employee.) If it were not for the new coordinator and the oceanfront ceremony location we would not have stayed with the Gran Melia. Let's hope we didn't make a mistake with GM and that the wedding day is a beautiful blessing for our daughter. Accommodations are yet to be decided, but we still have time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Kioskos

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Got Bite Up.
Business
Naperville, IL
Jan 19, 2011

"NO AIR CONDITIONING"

Hotel ground is nice but room was not so nice. We upgraded our room for the ocean front because it was my husband 50 birthday. The air in our room did not work. They had someone in our room at 12:15am trying to fix the air..could not fix it. The room they wanted to move us did not have a good view of the ocean and there was standing water on the balcony. The entire stay there our room temp was 74 degrees. The warm air kept blowing and we could not turn it off on the control. We had to play maintenance and turned it off at the circuit breaker box. The service was very slow. When I wanted to talk to the manager regarding my situation. I was told at the Royal Service that someone would call me and no one ever did. The food at Tempo came out cold and pasta was over cooked and service was extremly extremly SLOW..not worth the money. The food and service at Cafe Soleil and pool was good. Staff and gound keepers were nice. If I return to Puerto Rico...would I stay there again...the answer would be "No". If you go to the pool...bring BUG SPRAY...I got bite up by some kind of bug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay closer to downtown San Juan. More activities and action.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
School Nurse on the Go!
Business
Virgin Islands
Jan 17, 2011

rest, relaating and revitalizing

The service was great, the smiles were lovely, the entire staff seemed to enjoy their work. The lay out is Beautiful, peaceful and restful to the eye. We had the red service. The room was spacious with a lovely view of the water even from the lower level. There are lots of activities if you want and lots of quiet if you need. The later being our priority on this trip. This was our second stay @ the resort, and we were not disappointed. My husband's only wish was for some local cuisine be served @ one of the Restaurants there. We look forward to our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
School Nurse on the Go!
Business
Virgin Islands
Jan 17, 2011

rest, relaating and revitalizing

The service was great, the smiles were lovely, the entire staff seemed to enjoy their work. The lay out is Beautiful, peaceful and restful to the eye. We had the red service. The room was spacious with a lovely view of the water even from the lower level. There are lots of activities if you want and lots of quiet if you need. The later being our priority on this trip. This was our second stay @ the resort, and we were not disappointed. My husband's only wish was for some local cuisine be served @ one of the Restaurants there. We look forward to our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top