$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
569 out of 569
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marvinjeep
Business
union city
Jan 12, 2015

Family trip

Good value but a bit far from attractions. Food is expensive but overall a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aristotle The Great
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 12, 2015

Summer Fun

I enjoyed my stay at this resort and I'm looking to visit at least once or twice a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean V.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

The good and the bad

I went to the Gran Melia with my wife over New Years. We had some good experiences and some bad impressions. The good: it was absolutely beautiful with stunning views. I think that the rooms were nice for what we were looking for. We didn't need an amazing room because we wanted to be at the beach and the pool most of the time. The food was great. We ate on site a couple of nights and the food was worth it. The paella from the restaurant Passion was one of the best meals ever. The bad: bring your credit card. The food and drinks are EXPENSIVE. I live in downtown Chicago and the prices for drinks were exorbitant even compared to city prices. I would suggest bringing a bottle of booze or wine if you plan on drinking a lot at the resort. We ended up buying a bottle while in San Juan and it was worth it. The drinks that were poured weren't that strong to even justify the prices. -If you are looking to go into San Juan, try to find another couple to share a taxi. It is $80 each way. We ended up sharing taxis and it worked out quite well. -The beach was not that swimmer friendly. A lot of seaweed and very rocky. We heard that the Wyndham nearby had a much better beach and it might be worth it to take a quick taxi over there. -There were not enough workers for the size of the place considering how busy the place was. We called the front desk for a simple request and we needed to call back an hour later to check on our request. The lady at the front desk said she would call back to give me an update. The call never took place and our request was never fulfilled. More annoying than anything. Overall, we would recommend the resort because we did have a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Ask the concierge to call the Salty Dog if you are looking for a catamaran tour. The trip was so fun and the price was around $80 per person compared to the $180 the concierge book advertised. When I asked them what the difference was between the two, they said there wasn't any difference, the other company they call was more expensive.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diana S.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Honeymoon

We loved our suite and had a wonderful time. The beach was just a short walk from our balcony and the grounds were beautifully kept. Daily activities were organized for guests to do such as yoga (I was on my honeymoon so none of these were done, lol). Being in the suites we also had access to a private pool, lounge and free breakfast. The only downfall we thought, was dinner, as the restaurants on site didn't stay open very late. We rented a car though and had most dinners in the center of town or while we were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ana V.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Romantic trip

Came home with bed bug bites all over! Saw other guests covered in bites as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAJN
Business
DES PLAINES
Dec 31, 2014

Nice family trip

We planned a short trip to Puerto rico, and got a good deal with Gran melia resort. Resort was amazing in terms of location and amenities, but cleanliness of the room was alright when we checked in. We had to call the room service in order to get the room service and the towels were provided only after we requested. Some of staff were very polite and helped us out well but few of them rude when we asked about the directions. There is a parking fee of $15 per night if you plan on renting a car, which we felt outrageous since the resort is located remote from the airport, but overall experience was nice and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Resort is located very remote.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iva J.
Business
N/A
Dec 31, 2014

Awesome resort

It was the best vacation ever! I would recommend to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen S.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Great relaxing vacation

Hotel was lovely but maid service could use a little improvement. One day cleaned the room and left us no towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esther S.
Business
Charlottesville
Dec 29, 2014

Big resort

We had to get on a golf cart to go to our room. That's the one thing I remember the most about this hotel. Staff is not that friendly but it was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esther S.
Business
Charlottesville
Dec 22, 2014

Big resort

We had to get on a golf cart to go to our room. That's the one thing I remember the most about this hotel. Staff is not that friendly but it was a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top