$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
664 out of 664
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 22, 2007

Not So Gran.....

The staff knew nothing about the facilities or surrounding areas. One of the six restaurants were open. One of the four bars. The food service was terrible, not to mention the food itself. Expensive, expensive, expensive.... I had a 16 dollar phone bill for 4 local calls to make dinner reservations. 2 dollars a minute!!! Never go there again. Had to rent a car to get the hell off the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jan 3, 2011

Review of Gran Melia

From the start it was bad. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Watch out! When we checked out, we paid all charges....then the next day they charged us over two hundred dollars more

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Humacao, PR
Feb 14, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever, Will never go back

It is a beautifull hotel, but the service it is the worst I have ever seen, terible cleanlines, Electrical Problems, Water Problems, Bartender Eticate and profesionalism. Were did they finf their employees. Simply the worst service ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not worth it trust me
Business
RIO GRANDE
Jun 27, 2011

[*]

There was no microwave no mini frig and everything on trump cost to much Trump owns this there are no stores close by but there own connected to the hotel. Room service never answered. You have a dress code to go into the food places connected to the hotel. The casino is very very very small only 30 slot machine. I would not recommed anyone for this hotel ever. I live in MD and I would rather stay home than go to this hotel. breakfast was from 3 days ago do not go to this hotel. WARNING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT GO IT IS NOT WORTH IT TRUST ME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 22, 2011

DONT STAY HERE Horrible hotel.

You have to pay to park there even if you are a registered guest. This is like a slap in the face to everyone that checks in who rented a car. No ash trays in the rooms and only a couple on the grounds. You are forced to throw your buts on the ground. The air conditioning quit working and the room was uncomfortable. 2 Days in a row the toilet paper was not refilled. Finally on the 3rd night I had to call and ask for some. 2 days we were not given any wash cloths. I had to call and ask for some. Then we were given 4 of them by 2 different people that came to the room. A 3rd person tried to give us some also but I told her that we had enough. The next day all the wash cloths that were give were gone and we were left with only 1. One day when we returned after breakfast there was only 1 towel from the day before that was left in the room. Once again I had to call and ask for towels. Then 2 different people come to the room with towels. The floor was never swept very well. There was always sand left on the floor from the day before. We were not told that there would be a 500 dollar hold on our credit card for the food and drinks. Most people are not prepared for an additional charge like that. This put us in a bind. Everything was too expensive there. Although the food was good it costs too much money. This idea that outside food and or drinks are not allowed in the resort is unreasonable and foolish. I am a diabetic and I MUST at all times have some food or drink with me in the room. This made us have to hide it from the guard to be able to do this. The toilet in the room would only flush once in a while. Sometimes you would have to flush it over and over just to get the waste to go down. We bought ourselves a set of 4 wine glasses that we used. These were taken out of our room on the 2nd day they were there. I had to call and complain and it took 2 hours before they were returned to us. This resort seems to have forgotten what it means to cater to the guests. In order to survive in you need to kiss the butts of your guests. I spent a lot of money to stay here and I did not at any time feel like I was being serve or catered to. Other resorts will cater to your every need. You would never have to call and ask for something that was not done or left in the room. There are people all over just waiting to cater to your every need. This resort forgot what service is and what people pay to stay here. This was completely unacceptable to me and the woman that I was there with. The Sunday night after traveling all day over 16 hours we were tired and very hungry. At check in we asked about getting something to eat. We were told that the only thing that was available was box lunch type thing that was a sandwich. That was fine so we went to the room and ordered 1 ham and cheese and 1 turkey and cheese sandwich with a can of diet coke. It took them an hour before we got the food and then we got 2 ham sandwiches. 1 box had chips and another did not. We called the front desk to say we asked for 1 ham and 1 turkey and were told that we would get the turkey in 5 minutes. We waited for 30 minutes then got a call from the "Manager" and was again told that we would have the turkey in 5 minutes. We waited for 30 more minutes before calling and saying forget it, it was too late. We would leave the other ham sandwich box outside the door and to not be charged for it. The next morning the sandwich was still outside the room and we took it to the front desk and gave it back. The beach sucks. I called and asked if this was a good beach for swimming and if it was possible to swim there at the beach. I was told Yes it is and people swim there all the time. This is not true. The beach is not a good beach and it is not possible to swim there. You can only wade in the water. It seems to be difficult to find a bathroom. The only 1 found was in the bar area. The Italian restaurant, we were told that it was closed on Mondays then on Tuesday night we wen...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El Yunque rain forest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach
Sep 29, 2008

They will Rob you in a heartbeat!

The first thing I spotted in the room was a roach on the curtains. The room was gorgeous and the view was a bunch of tree's. They have a senosored mini bar, basically if you touch anything even just to read the bottle you're charge for it, including the little candies they put infront of your face to tempt you. DO NOT try to bring your own food or drinks because you're not allowed too! They force you to eat at their restaurants, which I wasn't allowed to go to because I didn't have the proper clothing! I was on vacation, I wanted to get away from my business suits not bring them with me! So I had to eat McDonald's the whole trip, needless to say I hate fast food! The only reason I enjoyed my trip is because my fiancee and I decided to jump into our rental car and drive across the country to see things we wanted to see, unless we wanted to give the hotel MORE money to see the local sites. Oh and did I mention the whole room was covered in tiny yellow looking ants? But the bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

There isn't anything around the area, accept a shopping outlet called the Belz outlet, its on your way back to the airport, about a 15 minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 9, 2011

Not family friendly

When traveling with a toddler, you need a refrigerator in your room (not a warm mini bar), staff who will open the door for you when struggling to hold the door open and push the stroller through, a large playground, and milk that cost less than $7 to fill your child's sippy cup. Gran Melia PR offered none of this. The staff is completely unconcerned with the quality of service offered to guest. (You will always come second to their personal conversations.) The food is outrageously overpriced and of the lowest quality possible. The kids menus- LOL...who would feed their child chicken fingers and fries for a week? There were three adults and one 18 month old in my party and we spent $1500 eating and drinking at the resort for a 4 night stay. A coke cost $4 and takes 30 minutes to get. The staff should care as much about their customers as they do about their eyebrows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The resort is beautiful so I understand if you decide to go despite it's flaws in service. Talk to the travel concierge to get ideas on off-site food, entertainment, etc. However, go back to your room and google everything yourself. Do not book anything through the hotel...they take on an extra 300%. A rental car in PR should cost about 28 bucks per day, not 100. The rain forest costs $5 to enter, not the $160 the resort charges. The smartest thing to do would be to make arrangements for a rental car before you arrive and take it from the airport. Don't pay $280 for a round trip ride in an over sized van with a bumpy ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Mar 3, 2009

Gran Melia was terrible experience

Our bed was filthy and it took numerous calls to have this even partly fixed - but we never got a replacement duvet for the original (which had large brown stains and felt gritty)they just stacked sheets to compensate for real bedding, which was very uncomfortable, and the staff was very difficult and unhelpful in this matter. The beach was rocky and after 3 feet into the water was a lot of algae and seaweed- which made swimming hard (we went to a different resort and used their beach). Also, we had not been notified in advance of the hefty parking fee for guests with rental cars and our overall experience was that we will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 9, 2009

Not what i expected

The hotel was a very nice hotel. However, the hotel was very expensive, limited beach access with no ocean activities. The hotel had 3 restaurants one of which was closed two out of the four nights we were there. The food was very pricey and not that good. The casino is very small and was not opend 24 hours a day. I would not stay at this hotel again nor recommend it to other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2010

"The Worst Gran Melia"

Snorkeling, beach, pool and exploring local cuisine-There was not much of a beach on hotel premise and it's poorly kept-Booked oceanview room but got a gardenview. Complained and was told all their rooms are partial oceanview unless we upgrade ourselves to royal service for front oceanview.[...]Hotel service from front desk, rental car to waitstaff at restaurant can be best described as nonchalant. -Food in hotel is bad and overpriced-We did not experience it ourselves as we were careful to check our daily bill summary, but some of our friends got charged for minibar items they didn't drink and things such as maid and bellman tips.-Overall a shady place and we would not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Car rental is a must as it's so far from every thing. Coco Sweet bakery close to resort for breakfast. Hacienda Calabri for great local cuisine. La parilla in Loquillo beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top