$160 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shatha Q.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Amazing !

This resort is amazing! very beautiful and really high class. The pools are to die for. There are trees everywhere. Very Very beautiful and secure. There are two security gates. There is golf carts that take you anywhere you need in the resort. The only thing is that most restaurants there take only credit card or charge your room. they dont take cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E.Jack
Business
Chicago
Jan 15, 2015

staffs

front desk staffs are rude. and also we paided parking fee, when we check in. I dont know why, but they want to charge again and we dont have a recite to prove our paid. however I can not understnd I paid card and also they look at it my card impromation or check in date. but it took a forever to look at it. and also fortunally i have in my wallet. so it was done but thinking about if I paid cash or I dont have improve to pay it. it is aweful situation for us. speicailly We that happen was check out. and We need to hurry to go airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sabina C.
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 15, 2015

Very nice hotel overall

The grounds are beautiful (and large) but the staff isn't too swift. We spent a lot of time at the hotel desk discussing our complaints (room, location, charges, etc.). They were courteous but took much longer than humanly necessary to address and resolve our issues correctly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raj.649
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Good family vacation

Was a good resort with amenities but the service felt short at peak season

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex H.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Red Level- Off Season

After reading all the reviews I did, I was initially scared but when we arrived ( Wife and I 1 Year anniversary), all the worry was mostly gone. The view, landscaping, and hotel were AMAZING. Sights were just inbelievable. I checked in in the Red Level Lounge and got served with complimentary drinks right there before i was golf carted away on a tour of the grounds and to my room. The Butler service and staff definitly made the trip that much more. Staff was VERY friendly and always ready to give a hand unlike the other reviews stated. Again, this was OFF season so not many guest. Rooms were clean and ready when we arrived and staff kept up on it every day I was there. The only two things I found bad were the lack of beach which was just sand and rocks which bordered the water to protect from hurricanes and flooding AND food on site. The price of food was very expensive and honestly, lack of choices.There was an "authentic" PR, Asain, and Italian restaurant on site. Breakfast was standard continental buffet style. Nothing over the top. $22 per person. Drinks were also expensive and served in small cups. I recommend renting a car and doing some site seeing and outside eating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Richie's Restaurant and enjoy the view. You will not regret it! Food was also GREAT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marvinjeep
Business
union city
Jan 12, 2015

Family trip

Good value but a bit far from attractions. Food is expensive but overall a nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aristotle The Great
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 12, 2015

Summer Fun

I enjoyed my stay at this resort and I'm looking to visit at least once or twice a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon B.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great Family Trip

Loved the resort. Loved PR. The only drawback was no beach access from resort...all rocks. It was very nice though and we would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean V.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

The good and the bad

I went to the Gran Melia with my wife over New Years. We had some good experiences and some bad impressions. The good: it was absolutely beautiful with stunning views. I think that the rooms were nice for what we were looking for. We didn't need an amazing room because we wanted to be at the beach and the pool most of the time. The food was great. We ate on site a couple of nights and the food was worth it. The paella from the restaurant Passion was one of the best meals ever. The bad: bring your credit card. The food and drinks are EXPENSIVE. I live in downtown Chicago and the prices for drinks were exorbitant even compared to city prices. I would suggest bringing a bottle of booze or wine if you plan on drinking a lot at the resort. We ended up buying a bottle while in San Juan and it was worth it. The drinks that were poured weren't that strong to even justify the prices. -If you are looking to go into San Juan, try to find another couple to share a taxi. It is $80 each way. We ended up sharing taxis and it worked out quite well. -The beach was not that swimmer friendly. A lot of seaweed and very rocky. We heard that the Wyndham nearby had a much better beach and it might be worth it to take a quick taxi over there. -There were not enough workers for the size of the place considering how busy the place was. We called the front desk for a simple request and we needed to call back an hour later to check on our request. The lady at the front desk said she would call back to give me an update. The call never took place and our request was never fulfilled. More annoying than anything. Overall, we would recommend the resort because we did have a wonderful time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Ask the concierge to call the Salty Dog if you are looking for a catamaran tour. The trip was so fun and the price was around $80 per person compared to the $180 the concierge book advertised. When I asked them what the difference was between the two, they said there wasn't any difference, the other company they call was more expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diana S.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Honeymoon

We loved our suite and had a wonderful time. The beach was just a short walk from our balcony and the grounds were beautifully kept. Daily activities were organized for guests to do such as yoga (I was on my honeymoon so none of these were done, lol). Being in the suites we also had access to a private pool, lounge and free breakfast. The only downfall we thought, was dinner, as the restaurants on site didn't stay open very late. We rented a car though and had most dinners in the center of town or while we were out and about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top