$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
618 reviews
Very nice hotel

This was our second stay in one year at this hotel. This time we came with 3 other couples. The... See full review

  • Vero G.
  • Aug 11, 2014
Beautiful Place

The hotel was great. The views were amazing. Bungalows were clean and quiet. Service was great,... See full review

  • Jay9
  • Aug 2, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.
Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (618)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
618 out of 618
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 16, 2007

Guest are not important

It Took me one hour to check in,and i was the fourth in line,when asked the clerk, why so slow?He replied!! guests asks for to many thing when checking in. He replied that the room I was assigned was dirty, that he can find me another room or i can keep the dirty one!!!.. I thanked him for the offer but told him i prefer a clean room.When leaving the resort that evening I was asked to validate a parking ticket.This parking ticket validation nonsense i had to do every morning before leaving the resort.Finally on saturday evening when traveling to the resort i could not even get close to it becouse these people had a major party. there was no parking available for the resort guests!!!I had to leave the car outside and walk a very long distance to my Room,Tried to get some ice from machine,,Sure!!! Not in this resort. Next morning i walked back to get the car,cleared all the beer bottles and drinks that were sitting over it and drove back to the resort. Talked to the front desk about my problem, Well,Its not their fault,Its the parking department fault.I then realized that in this place somebody else is always to blame!!!Its a shame becouse the resort is nice,I dont think there is any respect for Guest in this resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain forest.The conquistador hotel

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Humacao, PR
Feb 14, 2011

Worst Hotel Ever, Will never go back

It is a beautifull hotel, but the service it is the worst I have ever seen, terible cleanlines, Electrical Problems, Water Problems, Bartender Eticate and profesionalism. Were did they finf their employees. Simply the worst service ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
onawhim
Ogden, Utah
Nov 12, 2012

Beautiful grounds, terrible accomodations

the room reeked of mildew and the service was terrbile. You never got towels, wash cloths, hand towels. The front desk help was non existent. There was only one person at the front desk regardless of how many people were in line. They would tell you they would get back to you and they never did. The travel center was the same way. They said they would make the reservation, but when you got to where you were going, there was no reservation. The pool area and the grounds were spectacular. This would be a great place to stay if you couldn't smell and didn't need any amenities at all. Bring your own soap and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melissa11527
New Jersey
Dec 3, 2012

Not worth it

The hotel does not look anything like the web and ask questions....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayne
Boston, Ma
Jun 5, 2012

Very disappointed

The drive into the resort is very long make sure that when you arrive you have everything you need for example if you go with a child and you need to buy a half a gallon of milk its about 15 min to get out of there and another 15 mins to get back inside. When we had checked in and then we were waiting for someone to escort us to our room. I noticed that there was a parking sign that said guests staying had to pay $20.00 per day and I just could not believe that. I said there must be a mistake. Besides the fact that we paid to stay at their resort and they charge your Credit card $100 dollar security deposit per day and then they refund it back when you check out. They have to nerves to charge you parking too......... When we arrived to the room it was very beautifull it was just like the pics in their website. I called the reception number to ask if we had a refrigerator to put my Sons milk away because I didnt see one and they told me no theree is not a refrigerator and if i wanted one it was gonna cost $25 for the 3 days I was staying and i laughed about it and said never mind. When i hung up the phone I tried using my andriod for internet there was no wi-fi avaliable and there was a little card that said if you want internet they could provide me dial-up and that it would cost $2.00 per min or $14.95 per day. I just couldnt believe that now a days wi-fi is provided in McDonalds, Starbucks, Hospitals ect......... The only place they had wi-fi was next to the lobbly. When we went to go and have breakfast they was charging $12.00 for continental breakfast or $22.00 for buffet breakfast per person. When i remember when I purchase this deal it said continental breakfast was provided for free. But I wasnt gonna make a show and argue in the restuarant and leave the hotel to eat cause it would have just been so much extra work cause of how far it is to leave the hotel. The waiters don't even make you feel welcome they are so miserable and rude. Then later on that day we were at the pool and my Husband wanted a Corona they charged us $6.50 and that was the only beer we bought I just couldnt believe how expensive it was. I will never go to this resort ever again the place is beautiful but its not worth your money....... very bad service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Swan Mates
East Coast, USA
Feb 9, 2012

If you're looking for self serve !!

Upon arrival we pulled up front stepped out of the car and were approached with could you pull your car up forward. Then removed and lugged our own luggage from the 100 or so feet we were asked to move the car to. Then contrary to my pre inquiry on parking fees we were hit with $16 a day to park or $21 for valet. We self parked. Then we were offered to upgrade to Red Level for $175 then $145 per night; We declined. The clerk quickly drew some circles on a map and put a plastic bracelet on us and sent us on our way. The next morning we went to the adult pool she had informed us of and we were told it's Red Level only and couldn't stay. The service was horrible .. actually Nill. Asked the concierge for directions and she was only able to get us to the highway. Another time asked for a phone number and again said has no means to look up a phone number to an excursion we were interested in. Asked for a late check out and they offered us till 2pm , then $10 per hour. Mind you that same night overheard a woman got a late checkout till 3pm. All around; Puerto Rico !! Great... Gran Melia; it's no wonder why they left off the D. Very unaccomidating hotel. Not to mention grossly overpriced food and beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Kiosks and stay on the West side of the Island. Rent a car for sure.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 22, 2007

Not So Gran.....

The staff knew nothing about the facilities or surrounding areas. One of the six restaurants were open. One of the four bars. The food service was terrible, not to mention the food itself. Expensive, expensive, expensive.... I had a 16 dollar phone bill for 4 local calls to make dinner reservations. 2 dollars a minute!!! Never go there again. Had to rent a car to get the hell off the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martinsburg, *
Aug 2, 2008

The location and resort ...

The location and resort is the most beautiful I have ever seen but the service was horrific!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There were lots of attractions nearby. Anywhere from 20 minutes to a couple of hours away. These attractions were fun and reasonably priced.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not worth it trust me
RIO GRANDE
Jun 27, 2011

[*]

There was no microwave no mini frig and everything on trump cost to much Trump owns this there are no stores close by but there own connected to the hotel. Room service never answered. You have a dress code to go into the food places connected to the hotel. The casino is very very very small only 30 slot machine. I would not recommed anyone for this hotel ever. I live in MD and I would rather stay home than go to this hotel. breakfast was from 3 days ago do not go to this hotel. WARNING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

DO NOT GO IT IS NOT WORTH IT TRUST ME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JEAN T.
NEW YORK, NY
May 7, 2014

HORRIBLE (5/02/14)

WE ARRIVED AND UPGRADED TO RED LEVEL WASTE OF MONEY. FREE BREAKFAST IS OK BUT THE HAPPY HOUR IS A WASTE AND FOOD IS NASTY. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE NICE PICTURES OF THE GRAND POOL, IT IS OLD, THE TILE IS CHIPPED OFF AND YOU CAN FEEL THE CONCRETE IN BETWEEN YOUR TOES. AS FOR THE "BUTLER" SERVICE IT'S A WASTE AND DON'T EXPECT THEM TO EVER SHOW UP. FRONT DESK WORKERS SPEAK TO EACH OTHER AND COULD CARELESS THAT YOU ARE WAITING FOR HELP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search