$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
726 out of 726
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LibUsa Trip
Aldie,VA
Sep 29, 2012

Great Anniversary trip

Gran Melia is tucked away four miles down a beautiful drive through a golf course. Upon arrival you are greeted by a friendly staff who want to make sure you have a great stay. The grounds are amazing, breakfast is worth every penny and the Red Level upgrade is great for the value but the resort treats all its guest with the same level courtesy. Golf carts are always running and picking up guest. We've stayed at other resorts but this was the best. Beyond great service, we felt at home and comfortable. I would stay here again on my next trip to PR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

El Verde BBQ If you want good inexpensive food and to taste some PR food to there. It's a good hole in the wall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul
Business
Maple Grove
Feb 3, 2015

Excellent in all ways!

If you want the time of your life this hotel alone has all of the amenities you will need. All in one place. It's a family resort with many pools, beachside, and bungalows. It's a must visit and stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Bring your family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
layla
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Quick vacation

Went for a couple days. Good is amazing. Hotel is gorgeous! Staff helpful and friendly. Just the taxi ate much too expensive (I am from New York and take cabs everywhere!) And they only take credit cards which is weird. But other than that every thing was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Call to arrange your own outings. The hotel actually doubles the price to book through them

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vakation
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

family vacation

We had the best time, it was relaxing, there's no activities so a little boring For the kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo AA
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

awesome family trip

Definitely do red level service. You have a few butlers to use and all are good but Tony butler was amazing. We had over 20 people for a family vacation. He made our stay outstanding.He arranged for all our day trips at better rates than the tour desk and his recommendations were always on point!.He is the reason we will all return to grand melia again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Our butler Tony recommmened the restaurant in the hotel, Passion.We usually avoid hotel food but took his advice. The food was amazing and very well priced. Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley N.
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Girls trip

My best friend and I loved this place. We had a fabulous time enjoying the resort but also the local hangouts and the rainforest near by. The pool is amazing and there are a lot of quite little beach spots along hotel property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PauleP
Business
Atlanta
Jan 20, 2015

Wonderful experience

Everything was wonderful. The buffet breakfast was bithot, but everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Suusy
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Nice Vacation!!!!

very nice hotel , stress free all day long !!!Great views , the weather is perfect , very nice people working in the hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pobe
Business
Dublin
Jan 19, 2015

3 star hotel with 2 star service

Arrived at 1am, only one person at front desk. Incredibly slow to check in. There were 2-3 other checkins ahead of us. Waited about 30-40 minutes until we were helped. After checking in, we were told to have bell boy help get out stuff from car to room. We had to wait around about 20-30 min for the bell boy to show up so by the time we got to our room, about 1.5 hour had elapsed since arrival time. We were dead tired, but I needed a fridge to store my breastmilk that I had to pump and store, but fridge was broken and smelled moldy. I tried calling, but got busy signals at Concierge, Housekeeping, then when I tried 2 other lines, finally the front answered. They didn't have a fridge to bring me, so she changed our room. Waiting for the change to happen was another 30 minutes. Our final room was just ok. Pictures certainly look nicer than the actual room. Barely a 3 star hotel by US standard. Next morning, starting at 9:30am (it was 5:30am by our home time) room door harshly knocking. They had to fix or look into something. Told them to come back later. Between these guys and housekeeping, we had another 3-4 knocking interruption to our sleep. This room did NOT have the "do not disturb" sign to hang up! Pool had loud music, a lot of people... NOT a relaxing vibe. Food at the Wet Bar and Grill was terrible and expensive. Pina Colada came in a plastic cup the size of a small latte (maybe smaller) and was $11. The rum was just poured on top of the blended beverage, so I had to mix it in myself. The Pasion restaurant was not good. Side of rice was half-cooked and crunchy. I can even see the opaque bits of uncooked portions. Food was just ok, not worth the price. They try to come off as a 4-star "resort" and charge as so, but need to pick up the service if they want to reach their goal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive East on PR-3 to the Kioskos ("kiosks"?) which is visible from the highway on the left. Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shatha Q.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Amazing !

This resort is amazing! very beautiful and really high class. The pools are to die for. There are trees everywhere. Very Very beautiful and secure. There are two security gates. There is golf carts that take you anywhere you need in the resort. The only thing is that most restaurants there take only credit card or charge your room. they dont take cash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
E.Jack
Business
Chicago
Jan 15, 2015

staffs

front desk staffs are rude. and also we paided parking fee, when we check in. I dont know why, but they want to charge again and we dont have a recite to prove our paid. however I can not understnd I paid card and also they look at it my card impromation or check in date. but it took a forever to look at it. and also fortunally i have in my wallet. so it was done but thinking about if I paid cash or I dont have improve to pay it. it is aweful situation for us. speicailly We that happen was check out. and We need to hurry to go airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top