$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nelly guest
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 27, 2013

Excellent customer services

Our experience in this hotel was excellent. All employees bring us the best customer service to our group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul Chris
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 27, 2013

Great couples getaway

Idyllic resort away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, and all that noise. Beach access and pools in various areas of the resort make it a great place to getaway! Would definitely recommend this to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the various hotel recreational and entertainment activities for guests.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
llk430
Business
Phx,AZ
May 26, 2013

Great place

Had a great time, Clean rooms beautiful grounds. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Is secluded rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NicoleandJay
Business
Chicago, il
May 25, 2013

AC broken

We upgraded to a better room and the AC was broken. We ended up having to pack up and move to a different room and no one accomidated us. I don't think we would stay there again, although, the island is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Passion was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Husker Buckeye Fan
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 19, 2013

Gran Melia

The pools were great. Beach is okay, but not swimmable. Breakfasts were same everyday, consistant and enjoyable. Asian rest. was very good. Italian rest. food was poor. Room was okay, but not cleaned well daily. Felt we over paid for what we received, especially the room. Had to call 3x in 6 days for towels, soap, etc., although staff was friendly and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angelakay
Business
San Antonio
May 8, 2013

Do Not Stay at this Resort!

Where do I start... We arrived at 4pm after being on a flight all day long, expecting our room to be ready since check in is at 3pm. Our room was not ready until 6:30pm. While we were waiting, they sent us to have lunch at a restaurant at the main pool. The waiter took forever to take our order. We ordered "nachos" expecting something good since they were extremely over priced & received a small basket of chips with processes cheese over it. Finally at 6:30 as we walk into our room & look around we realize its still dirty, bed was broken, iPod dock was broken & bathroom was not cleaned properly. We called the front desk to complain & they said they would send someone up immediately. An hour & a half later, still no one had come up. Eventually we had to walk to the front desk & request a room change. By the way, did I mention we upgraded to the "red level" expecting to receive the best of the best & did NOT see anything that was promised. NEVER set eyes on the "butler." Red level pool bar opened at 11am (11:30) & closed at 6:00 (5:30). Not a single waiter walked around to check on people or take orders. Staff was very unfriendly. Food EXTREMELY over priced. If you want to leave the resort for any reason get ready to pay $150 for a cab ride since the resort does not provide a shuttle. Point being, this resort has made us never want to visit Puerto Rico again. Sad but true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Missgoodie
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 8, 2013

Amazing!!! Over the top!!!

First of all let me say this is by far one of the best places I have ever been. I have traveled quite a few places and this has everything else beat!!!! The pool with the swim up bar was my fav. I do suggest getting a rental car since there is alot to do off the resort. There are several workers who come around to pick you up on the golf carts since the resort is huge. The pool is open 24 hours which is another plus. The beach is great also: just a walk down from the main pool. The room was absolutely great: much more than I expected. At night, there is live entertainment and activities for couples. I did notice that this location is kid friendly as well even though I did not bring my children. Also, I do suggest going on the ATV riding and the ziplining tours!!!! Overall: Awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for great food, turn left out of the resort until you reach the "Kioskos" and take the off ramp and make another left and this will take you to several outdoor diners. I do recommend Kiosko 1. They have great food. 2 drinks (alcoholic) , 1 appetizer and (2) entrees only $30.00. YES $30.00!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kimmcel
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 30, 2013

Way to relax...

Great grounds, no pits,lots of cart rides and perfect spot between the city and the rainforest. Great time of year to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Louquillo Beaches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spontaneous traveler CA
Business
Hawthorne, California
Apr 25, 2013

Relaxation trip!

The resort was beautiful and clean. It has 3 swimming pools, two of which you would need to have red level access and/or spa access. The food and buffet were a bit pricey. There were no servers readily available at the pool area although there was a swim up bar. As far the beach, it was full of rocks and uncomfortable to walk on. The ocean water itself was very warm and clean. I've traveled many places and never have seen the ocean floor covered with grass at the point of entry. Good place to snorkel. Gran Melia had plenty of lounge chairs and a few hammocks to relax in. The resort is extremely large and the bellmans roll around giving ppl rides to the pool area and other locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would suggest purchasing a travel voucher when you book your flight. I enjoyed the travel from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is approx 30 mins from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAPA GAUDIER
Business
TRUJILLO ALTO PUERTO RICO
Apr 16, 2013

THE FIRST ROOM HAS HUMIDITY

THE FIRST ROOM HAS HUMIDITY BUT WE TALK WITH THE EMPLOYEE AND THE NEXT NIGHT WE SLEEP IN OTHER ROOM WITH NO HUMIDITY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top