$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jul 8, 2010

nice place but no custumer attention

nobody give any n formation about the hotel or activities. We were in the pool and the beach everything was pay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CLM
Business
Ashburn, VA
Mar 30, 2011

Fun Vacation

The Gran Melia is very nice. The staff is very friendly and always available to help with any of your needs. The pool is great! Especially the pool bar...very active and fun! One down side to the resort was the beach. They could really put some money into making the beach larger and softer sand. The other downside is the food is VERY EXPENSIVE but good quality. We went off the resort and ate a few times and highly recommend the local cuisine. The highlight of the vacation was the Canopy Adventures (ziplining). AWESOME...highly recommed to all visitors. I believe the company is Rico SunTours. If you are staying at this resort a rental car is a MUST...it is cheaper than the shuttle to and from the airport, plus you get to see the island. Next time, we plan to stay on the West side of the island. Overall, the resort is nice and I recommend it to anyone looking to visit Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Dude
Business
Houston
Jun 24, 2011

Texas Dude

Let me start by saying the hotel property actually looked better on the pictures. The beach was non-existant as it appeared to have eroded away. The property management didn't recommend swimming due to the sharp reef's. So there is no real beach on property. Paid extra for red velvet service and it was just OK. The customer service was still hit or miss 50/50. Depended on which staff member you got. First room smelled liked mold and we got switched to a knew one. The resort was actually nice and well kept. You will need a rental car for food and touring. Better to drive to sites by rental car as tours are expensive and time consuming at the hotel. Rent a car at the airport because it's cheaper than at the hotel. Restaurants on property are extremely overpriced! Get GPS with the rental car and find dining outside of property. Most attractions are free if you drive yourself there. GPS and Rental car are a must! No nightlife or entertainment on property. Overall had a great time riding across the Island. Scenery was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car. Most attractions are free if you drive yourself. Food is also way less expensive and better outside the resort. GPS a must. Most sites and resteraunts are preloaded.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 7, 2011

Gran Melia

This was a lovely hotel and resort that had a lot to offer. However, the house keeping staff was terrible! We were always missing something from towels to bedding. Two days our room was not cleaned at all! It made this lovely resort a major disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McLovin Life
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2011

LUV PR

Clean room and very comfortable! The sofa coach had a musty smell to it, but our daughter sleept with us in a huge comfortable bed. However, for no beach and a pool that was only 5 ft deep and not the cleanest, I would've expected more in that area, such as the pool being kept better. The kids club s nothing except poor use of space. The staff was great and always smiling!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Luquillo to eat dinner. Beware dining in La Parilla and Oso Busco takes forever! Drive to Coco Sweet or La Famila for lunch and breakfast!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jay82
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 21, 2011

it was ok.

the hotel is in a deserted are area . u will definetly need a car . the rooms was not what i expected. they have old televisions and they need new mattresses compared to the other hotels i have stayed in this was my least favorite next time i will be staying in isla verde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

just stay in isla verde!!!! thats the best location everthing is walking distance.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ebrushka
Business
new york
Dec 24, 2011

it was the best but....

We were there for our honeymoon which was amazing. Everything at the resort was great and we enjoyed our stay. However the only negative comment i can say was the service they provided us. We had to wait few hours for someone to come and fix our ac in the room after i had made few phone calls. On top of that our shower had was broken and no matter how many times i called it took them a day to come and repair. It was a little disappointing on our first time experience at gran melia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr N
Business
New York City
Jan 4, 2012

Good time

The hotel is equipped very well in order to be one of the best. But don't have enough staff for high demand season. Red level service don't worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very good!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snowsteve
Business
Iowa, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Honeymooners

Overall the Resort is large and beautiful. The Bungalows are nice and comfortable. The ocean view is priceless but the beach needs some work. The pool is open 24hrs and I dont think i have seen a bigger pool in my life. As our stay got longer our experience was progressively getting worse though. For example: We had been there for a total of 8 days and wasnt told until the four day of being there that we were suppose to have been paying for parking and needed to have a wrist band to get to our room. Again this is a large resort and is or can be a long walk to where you need to go. There are staff on golf carts to take you back and forth from your room and the front desk but having a bunch of them running around when you just want to walk is annoying. We had to walk back to the front desk multiple times after walking all the way to our room to find that neither of our key cards dont work. How frustrating! The resort has a few resteraunts but the food sucks and is way overpriced! The drinks are overpriced and you mise well be drinking water. One trip to Puerto Rico was enough for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Some attractions are overpriced and some are very reasonable like the El Morro in Old San Juan. Brings lots of money on your trip because most attractions cost way too much for what they are worth.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emdog
Business
Falmouth, ME, USA
Feb 24, 2012

great place-- needs some work

The Gran Melia Resort in Puerto Rico is a very nice place but could use several improvements. 1. The rooms were a bit dirty and out dated and the beds were not comfortable-- forget about sleeping on the pull out sofa unless you want to kill your back. 2. The food options are too few and over priced. There are no casual dining options for the evening, and the only breakfast option is an expensive all you can eat buffet. Also the drink prices are quite high. 3. Beautiful pool, but for a pool area that could seat several hundred people there were only three umbrellas for shade. We were told the rest of them were broken-- ok buy more!! This is suppose to be a high end resort. 4 No waterfront activities except to pay $40 per hour to use a kiak or paddle board. These should have been free at a resort of this cost. Over all we had a great time, but the Gran Melia does not deserve the high ratings that were advertised. With several improvements it would be a much better resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car and get out of the resort. There are a bunch of fun activities to do but if you rely on the resort to arrange them for you, you will pay twice as much.

Back to menu Return to top