$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
569 out of 569
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Husker Buckeye Fan
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 19, 2013

Gran Melia

The pools were great. Beach is okay, but not swimmable. Breakfasts were same everyday, consistant and enjoyable. Asian rest. was very good. Italian rest. food was poor. Room was okay, but not cleaned well daily. Felt we over paid for what we received, especially the room. Had to call 3x in 6 days for towels, soap, etc., although staff was friendly and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jandrt
Business
Washington, DC
May 29, 2013

Nice resort , poor staffing

The resort is remote so, if you need to leave the resort, you need a car and taxis are expensive. Everything took forever. The staff is very slow. We ordered room service the day before for a wedding party and confirmed the morning of the day and it showed up 1.5 hours later when the bride had to leave for pictures. Avis rental car was the worst. There were 10 people in line and we were the third ones and took 3 hours. After us, the Avis rep left the rest of the people to take an hour lunch break. Beaches are not swimmable so you are limited to the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puppetjr
Business
haverhill
Jun 25, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel was beautiful grounds very clean .no swimming beach at all very disaponted beach resort dont think so.food a joke very expencive and not enough.I travel 6 times a year I don't mind paying the price but leave me full.pools were great.night time hotel beautiful candles at night very nice.rent a car!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Family Love
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 21, 2013

Family Getaway

I was excited about going to this hotel, but was disappointed when I realized that it was 40 miles from San Juan. Therefore, the cost to take a trip to San Juan from the hotel cost $45-65 each person. We traveled with two children and the cost to do the excursions was too expensive. I paid for the Red Level experience, which includes butler service, cabana bed, private pool, and free breakfast and happy hour. The butler service was a joke, because each time you called for one no one was available. The bungalow we stayed in was far from the main building and pool, and it was impossible to get transportation without hailing a golf cart as you are walking. There was only one washcloth , two hand towels, and three bath towels on Day One. We called for additional towels, but did not receive them till Day Three. The drinks in the happy hour was good, but the food was not. The food was only for one hour. I recommend that it is for a minimum of two hours and better food. The authentic Puerto Rican restaurant, Passion was fantastic and the Nami Asia is delicious. The Italian restaurant Temp was not delicious. My children ordered pasta alfredo pasta was $17 and it was bland. I ordered the parmesiana for $22 and it was gross. The chicken was tough. The Nami Asia restaurant could be more affordable, but it was better tasting. There is only one large pool for the children and family to swim in and there are no slides. But, my children loved it due to the cabana bed. There are no children activities. My biggest disappointment was the beach. It was rocky and seaweed is prominently in the water. It is definitely not a beach, because there is no sand. Therefore, the kids could not make sand castles. I definitely think the resort is beautiful and serene. The customer service needs improvement and there should be better options for Red Level guests. I wish there were more activities for the kids and this is a disappointment. Normally, a resort has so many attractions there is no need to leave. I can not blame the hotel entirely, because I should have did better research and discovered it was far away from San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Passion Restaurant was superb. It is a must visit!! The food is delicious.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puppetjr
Business
haverhill
Jun 13, 2013

aniversary

Very nice hotel friendly staff.The only complaint food extremly expensive.there is no beach to swim why go to a beach resort and can't swim.just to see ocean not fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldubs182
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 3, 2013

Gorgeous Aesthetics - Poor Overall Value

Overall, my fiance and I enjoyed our stay at the Gran Melia. The grounds are gorgeous, the pools are well-maintained, and the entire resort offers an abundance of breathtaking views. Aesthetics aside, we were displeased with a few things. The Gran Melia requires a "security deposit" of $100/night for any damages that could happen in the room during your stay. That's A LOT. While the Red Level upgrade is worth it for the "complimentary" breakfast buffet, they are not shy about reminding you to give at least a 15% tip for being served coffee and water. (breakfast would be $22 without red level, so they suggest tips of 15%, 18% and 20% for what the cost of your meal WOULD HAVE been.) They charge about $17/day for parking. They really want you to spend all your money at the resort, so they don't allow coolers on the property, or food/beverages from outside resources. Put leftovers or booze in a backpack. Basically, they try to stiff you out of $$$ in all ways possible. If you want a Bali Bed at the "red level" pool, reserve it a day ahead of time. They will kick you off of it if it is reserved for someone else, even if they never show up. The beach is pretty, but very rocky and full of seaweed. To save money, we ate at the Taco Bus located just outside the resort. $12 for 2 people, can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a bakery and a Taco Bus located just at the entrance of the resort. Right when you turn onto PR-187 (I think). Eat here for lunch/dinner, if you want to save money.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. D L Willimas
Business
Farmington, Michigan
Nov 1, 2013

Not Very Exciting

This is a place for Golfers only. No other attractions or events for entertainment. You must rent a vehicle, otherwise you will pay an arm and leg for food on the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honeymooners Nov 2013
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 13, 2013

Honeymoon Destination

The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was very spacious and clean. However, I was not very impressed with the customer service and all of the hidden charges. For example, we called several local places for dinner reservations, zip lining, and kayaking. You were charged $2.00 per phone call. Also, no free WIFI, and if you rent a car, you will be charged $15.00 per day for parking at the resort. I have traveled a lot and have never seen this amount of additional charges before. Besides that, the place was very nice with beautiful views, pool, and landscaping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill Blackberry
Business
Chicago, Ill
May 7, 2010

My Stay at the Gran Melia

There wasn't a real beach area (could not go swimming). Also, was not expecting to be charged $100/day per person for incidentals. A car rental would be nice to have because of the distance to/from various sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Discount Mall is approx. 10 miles way.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 25, 2010

Decent Hotel

The Good: The hotel room was nice, above your average hotel room and each came with balcony/porch which was semi private. The rooms also have safes which is relaxing. The hotel was very clean, including the pool area and the room was promptly made up as you left the room. Gran Melia also sports a nice golf course, apparently this is the spot of the Puerto Rican PGA tour. The staff was also very nice, approachable and easily gave me tons of information on local hotspots and "to do's" while in Puerto Rico. The Bad: The hotel resort was isolated, you will definitely need a vehicle if you plan to leave (i.e. it was approx 2 miles from the front gate to the front desk...another five miles from the front desk to the main road, and there is nothing to see along this journey to the main road.) There were three restaurants, Italian, Asian (Japanese), and Puerto Rican. The ambiance was nice in all three but the food was about average (at best.) Add to this however that the average entree was about $30 and average drink ($10) and a meal for two with drinks essentially starts at $80 (which is on the lower side.) Now I have no problem paying for good food, I live in NY and restaurants easily cost this much on average, but the quality of the food is much better. I was expecting at least the same at this resort, but was sorely disappointed (i.e. I ordered a Halibut fillet at the Italian restaurant, the fillet was "a la carte" and very bland for $32). I was much better served driving into any one of the many eateries along the roadway for an authentic and moderately priced meal. Also, if you go with your significant other for a romantic get-away, be very cautious. This resort also sells time shares and the sales folk were on the prowl. I had to have said "No Thank You" at least five times over my 4 night 5 day stay. Bottom Line: I personally would not go back to this resort. If you do choose this Hotel to stay, rent a vehicle at the airport. Puerto Rico is actually very easy to get around and after leaving the airport only three turns will get you to the front gates (albeit 40 minutes later.) The airport transfer is $72 per person which will get you a small car for 2 days. Also, if you rent from Avis, you get free parking at the resort because there is an Avis at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a car and get out, you will find tons of eateries.

Back to menu Return to top