$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puerto Rico 2013
Business
OC, California
Jul 28, 2013

If you want a Vacation, DON'T stay here!!!

We had a total of 4 families staying here and from the very beginning our problems began. First of all we requested a double bed with a tub for my toddlers and ended up getting a room for the disabled with no tub. The 1st night we must have asked for ice 4 times because their 5 machines where all out and never got the ice. The sheets in the hotel where stained and the room smelled like mold. One of my other family members requested a crib and a roll away bed for their rooms and that never made it to the rooms. when i tried bringing milk to the hotel for my little ones I was told by security that I wasn't allowed to bring food from outside. I also had to complain to the manager for not doing any housekeeping in any of the 4 rooms the first 2 nights. I got to say that the hotel itself is beautiful but the service is not worth the price. Thanks to this hotel and their service, I will not be staying at any Gran Melia again. It's obvious that the employees hate their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Must eat at Guavate. The ambiance is amazing. There's a bad playing while you eat next to the river

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi town Newly weds
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 29, 2013

Mini honeymoon

We had a wonderful time as the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Red level service is the absolute way to go and worth the additional cost as it makes your trip that much more relaxing and basically pays for itself with all the upgrades. Breakfast was excellent, other food options we good but not great. Upgrading food would make this place superb! We had a great time and would recommend staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puppetjr
Business
haverhill
Jun 25, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel was beautiful grounds very clean .no swimming beach at all very disaponted beach resort dont think so.food a joke very expencive and not enough.I travel 6 times a year I don't mind paying the price but leave me full.pools were great.night time hotel beautiful candles at night very nice.rent a car!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Family Love
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 21, 2013

Family Getaway

I was excited about going to this hotel, but was disappointed when I realized that it was 40 miles from San Juan. Therefore, the cost to take a trip to San Juan from the hotel cost $45-65 each person. We traveled with two children and the cost to do the excursions was too expensive. I paid for the Red Level experience, which includes butler service, cabana bed, private pool, and free breakfast and happy hour. The butler service was a joke, because each time you called for one no one was available. The bungalow we stayed in was far from the main building and pool, and it was impossible to get transportation without hailing a golf cart as you are walking. There was only one washcloth , two hand towels, and three bath towels on Day One. We called for additional towels, but did not receive them till Day Three. The drinks in the happy hour was good, but the food was not. The food was only for one hour. I recommend that it is for a minimum of two hours and better food. The authentic Puerto Rican restaurant, Passion was fantastic and the Nami Asia is delicious. The Italian restaurant Temp was not delicious. My children ordered pasta alfredo pasta was $17 and it was bland. I ordered the parmesiana for $22 and it was gross. The chicken was tough. The Nami Asia restaurant could be more affordable, but it was better tasting. There is only one large pool for the children and family to swim in and there are no slides. But, my children loved it due to the cabana bed. There are no children activities. My biggest disappointment was the beach. It was rocky and seaweed is prominently in the water. It is definitely not a beach, because there is no sand. Therefore, the kids could not make sand castles. I definitely think the resort is beautiful and serene. The customer service needs improvement and there should be better options for Red Level guests. I wish there were more activities for the kids and this is a disappointment. Normally, a resort has so many attractions there is no need to leave. I can not blame the hotel entirely, because I should have did better research and discovered it was far away from San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Passion Restaurant was superb. It is a must visit!! The food is delicious.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
puppetjr
Business
haverhill
Jun 13, 2013

aniversary

Very nice hotel friendly staff.The only complaint food extremly expensive.there is no beach to swim why go to a beach resort and can't swim.just to see ocean not fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joey123chacon
Business
Caguas, PR
Jun 11, 2013

Chacon Family trip

Excellent experience!! service was great and facilities are in great shape. Only downfall is pricing on food. At the end of the day, we payed more for the food than we did for the stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat out!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taurence
Business
North Carolina
Jun 8, 2013

Perfect Getaway

Upon arrival at the Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico we were greeted with friendly and courteous hotel staff who helped us unload our vehicle and shuttled us over to your room. You do have to pay for parking on site that isn't told to you up front. We ended up paying $65 for a whole week. They also put a hold on your credit card so be aware when booking this resort. The room was well laid out and equipped with a mini fridge along with a beautiful garden view. The resort is also located on Coco Beach which is beautiful and has hammocks everywhere to lounge around in. The pool is enormous and has 4 whirlpools inside of it. There is also a poolside bar you can swim up to and order drinks. The resort is minutes away from the El Yunque National Forest. The only bad thing about this resort is it is expensive to eat so I recommend eating off site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One of the shuttle drivers recommend Don Pepe Restaurant and it was the best Mexican food I have ever tasted. You have to try it if your in Rio Grande.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ATL Caribbean Princess
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 7, 2013

Excellent Choice!!

This resort gets all 5's from me. Great people, fabulously beautiful resort (the most romantic place I have been and I have seen a lot!), affordable and even the food was great. The only negative is the beach is full of rocks, however you can drive 5 mins down the road and there is a better beach that all the locals use. I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have to try Pasion restaurant. Everything they served was great!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeremy1976
Business
Topsham, Maine
Jun 4, 2013

Family Getway

We stayed at the Gran Melia for 5 nights/6 days. Our room was an oceanfront suite with a hot tub on the patio. I was traveling with my wife and two children ages 7 and 10. We found the room to be very clean. The only complaint my wife had with the room was that we didn't have wash clothes the last 3 days. The room was cleaned twice a day and they also checked each night around 9pm to see if we needed anything. We were red level guests and I would recommend that you upgrade to that, what you get is 20% off all meals, free beer and wine between 3-6 at the red level lounge, free bali beds (which are awesome) and a couple other things. The only restaurant that we didn't eat at was Passion, and that is only because I didn't bring any dress pants. The Asian restaurant was great which we went to twice. The pasta and steak restaurant, I found the food to be very good, however the hostess was very rude. She asked if we had a reservation, which we did not and then rolled her eyes. I told her that I could clearly see that there were plenty of tables available (at least 15). She decided to seat us and didn't give the kids any menus. I spoke to our waitress about this and she said that we don't have a kids menu. I never asked for a kids menu and my kids can order off of the regular menu. Then once we did order she offered the kids different things that weren't on the menu and it only cost $8.00 per child. I believe they are trying to be a five star restaurant but are not even close to that, however the food was good. Breakfast was amazing and they have a very good selection at the buffet. The pool restaurant was good and the bar's drink prices are right in line with resort prices. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. There are hammocks all over the beach to find a relaxing place to hangout. The golf course was beautiful and in great shape. I got to enjoy two rounds at the Championship course. The pool is huge and amazing. The only other place I have stayed in Puerto Rico is the Ritz Carleton. When comparing the two I would have to say that the Gran Melia is the better place to stay for families. The only negative mark was the one at the restaurant other than that we had an awesome time and enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngryLOCAL
Business
San juan PR
Jun 2, 2013

Big deception weekend at EL Grand Melia , Rio Grande

One hour waiting for two rooms after check-in sharp at 3:00 PM and the minimum information from the front desk personnel about the status of the rooms and “Resort” amenities. That was the beginning of my family experience at El Gran Melia Rio Grande Puerto Rico. Smelly rooms and air conditioners that never work properly (the cable TV did not work neither) was the second part of my experience but the worst part was the unprofessional employee without good manners asking when we leaving so they can start cleaning the room and that were at 10:00 AM two hours before regular check-out, they never made my family feel welcome. The pool was a disaster at 8:20 AM trash everywhere beer cans, cigarette and food around. My daughter hurt her knees with the expose cement in the bottom of the pool surface, clearly lack of maintenance. The best part was left behind the worst weekend ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

El Conquistador Hotel o RioMar never in Melia

Back to menu Return to top