$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AngryLOCAL
Business
San juan PR
Jun 2, 2013

Big deception weekend at EL Grand Melia , Rio Grande

One hour waiting for two rooms after check-in sharp at 3:00 PM and the minimum information from the front desk personnel about the status of the rooms and “Resort” amenities. That was the beginning of my family experience at El Gran Melia Rio Grande Puerto Rico. Smelly rooms and air conditioners that never work properly (the cable TV did not work neither) was the second part of my experience but the worst part was the unprofessional employee without good manners asking when we leaving so they can start cleaning the room and that were at 10:00 AM two hours before regular check-out, they never made my family feel welcome. The pool was a disaster at 8:20 AM trash everywhere beer cans, cigarette and food around. My daughter hurt her knees with the expose cement in the bottom of the pool surface, clearly lack of maintenance. The best part was left behind the worst weekend ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

El Conquistador Hotel o RioMar never in Melia

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BK Mom n Dad
Business
Brooklyn
Jun 1, 2013

Awesome family vacation

We loved this place. My kid had a great time at the pool. Loved the staff and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnnyfer
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2013

Very nice getaway

Me and my fiancé decided to make this a memorial day wkend getaway! Because of the desperate want of an ocean front suite, we automatically were upgraded to "Red Level." This included a butler & breakfast daily which was a nice addition. Check in via Red Level was easy. Staff was attentive and golf carts covered the grounds to transport guests from your suite to various locations on the grounds - front desk, hotel restaurants, pool, etc. NOTE: this resort is for relaxing ONLY!!!! NOT RECOMMENDED FOR PARTY ANIMALS.... We were absolutely pleased w this resort that we are looking forward to our next visit. GO MELIA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car! It' ll get u an inexpensive meal (PRican style) in Los Kioskos @ Luquillo just 10 min away....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jandrt
Business
Washington, DC
May 29, 2013

Nice resort , poor staffing

The resort is remote so, if you need to leave the resort, you need a car and taxis are expensive. Everything took forever. The staff is very slow. We ordered room service the day before for a wedding party and confirmed the morning of the day and it showed up 1.5 hours later when the bride had to leave for pictures. Avis rental car was the worst. There were 10 people in line and we were the third ones and took 3 hours. After us, the Avis rep left the rest of the people to take an hour lunch break. Beaches are not swimmable so you are limited to the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nelly guest
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
May 27, 2013

Excellent customer services

Our experience in this hotel was excellent. All employees bring us the best customer service to our group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul Chris
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 27, 2013

Great couples getaway

Idyllic resort away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, and all that noise. Beach access and pools in various areas of the resort make it a great place to getaway! Would definitely recommend this to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the various hotel recreational and entertainment activities for guests.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
llk430
Business
Phx,AZ
May 26, 2013

Great place

Had a great time, Clean rooms beautiful grounds. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Is secluded rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NicoleandJay
Business
Chicago, il
May 25, 2013

AC broken

We upgraded to a better room and the AC was broken. We ended up having to pack up and move to a different room and no one accomidated us. I don't think we would stay there again, although, the island is gorgeous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Passion was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Husker Buckeye Fan
Business
Columbus, Ohio
May 19, 2013

Gran Melia

The pools were great. Beach is okay, but not swimmable. Breakfasts were same everyday, consistant and enjoyable. Asian rest. was very good. Italian rest. food was poor. Room was okay, but not cleaned well daily. Felt we over paid for what we received, especially the room. Had to call 3x in 6 days for towels, soap, etc., although staff was friendly and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angelakay
Business
San Antonio
May 8, 2013

Do Not Stay at this Resort!

Where do I start... We arrived at 4pm after being on a flight all day long, expecting our room to be ready since check in is at 3pm. Our room was not ready until 6:30pm. While we were waiting, they sent us to have lunch at a restaurant at the main pool. The waiter took forever to take our order. We ordered "nachos" expecting something good since they were extremely over priced & received a small basket of chips with processes cheese over it. Finally at 6:30 as we walk into our room & look around we realize its still dirty, bed was broken, iPod dock was broken & bathroom was not cleaned properly. We called the front desk to complain & they said they would send someone up immediately. An hour & a half later, still no one had come up. Eventually we had to walk to the front desk & request a room change. By the way, did I mention we upgraded to the "red level" expecting to receive the best of the best & did NOT see anything that was promised. NEVER set eyes on the "butler." Red level pool bar opened at 11am (11:30) & closed at 6:00 (5:30). Not a single waiter walked around to check on people or take orders. Staff was very unfriendly. Food EXTREMELY over priced. If you want to leave the resort for any reason get ready to pay $150 for a cab ride since the resort does not provide a shuttle. Point being, this resort has made us never want to visit Puerto Rico again. Sad but true.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top