$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
727 out of 727
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darig44
Phoenix
Nov 4, 2012

Gran Melia Puerto Rico

It was Awesome. Very clean and the staff is amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The kiosk center heading towards Luquillo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misses W
Business
Minnesota
Nov 12, 2013

Pricey place

Be prepared to spend some money there. Breakfast alone is $22 a person. It's far from any attractions and you need to rent a car for a day if you want to leave the resort that's another $90. $500 deposit when you get there for a room security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go out of the hotel for food to save some money .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newlywed from Michigan
Business
Michigan
Nov 6, 2013

Great Resort Stay for Couples

We had a great time at Gran Melia. The facilty is beautiful. The staff was great and very helpful. THe red level service was definitely worth the upgrade. However, don't excpect beach swimming. It sits on a coral reef.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely rent a car. There is nothing outside the resort that is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. D L Willimas
Business
Farmington, Michigan
Nov 1, 2013

Not Very Exciting

This is a place for Golfers only. No other attractions or events for entertainment. You must rent a vehicle, otherwise you will pay an arm and leg for food on the grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Georg Buben
Business
Maryland
Oct 25, 2013

Great resort

Fantastic location, great pool, superior rooms,.. Worth booking red level service incl. many benefits e.g. the little pavilions at the pool at no extra costs. Food is very expensive, so rent a car to be able to go for fast food :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TruckerFA
Business
Canton,OH
Oct 24, 2013

Weekend in Paradise

We met up in San Juan with son & daughter-in-law to celebrate her birthday. The meal in the restaurant was awesome. When they brought out the desserts the waiters came out clapping, singing, and banging on instruments. She loved it. The breakfast buffet has a huge selection. The beach isn't the greatest for laying out but the pool is enormous & it was so refreshing laying on the built-in lounge chairs in the water. It was fun walking the grounds & looking at all the beautiful plants and watching the iguanas. I only wish that we hadn't walked the beach at night because I got bitten up by sand flies on our last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see rainforest & waterfalls. Make sure you have comfortable shoes & bring raingear or swimsuit. We got soaked!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SJ Sweets
Business
Georgia
Oct 19, 2013

Honeymoon

My husband and I went here the day after our wedding thinking it was just a nice hotel. The serene atmosphere and amazing staff made our trip better than we could have ever hoped for. The food at the restaurants were amazing, everything was clean and comfortable, and there was so much to do. It was about a 30 minute drive which went quickly and got us away from the busy city so that we could relax and enjoy the beauty of Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Always try something new and ask the waiters for their help. They won't let you down!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jackie from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 17, 2013

Not a great experience

The facility seemed kept, but there the pool needs maintenance (painting...) as well as the rooms. We moved to 3 different rooms, two of the were not well kept.. The was a strong moldy smell on the 2nd one and the 3rd. one had a toilet that didn't work. LOCATION: The food is extremely expensive $$$ and there is NOTHING around, except an impoverished city, where not many would not want to eat. Driving all the way to san Juan is about 40-45 mins. depending on traffic. The restaurants at the hotel are nice, but expensive, about $23/pp for a breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josefel 71
Business
Puerto Rico
Oct 16, 2013

Gran Melia Escape

I've stayed in a lot of hotels in PR and in the US, and there's been a few like Gran Melia, their Staff was simply amaizing, corteous and helpful, and the facilities were amaizing as well, definitely we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy and Cicero
Business
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
Sep 3, 2013

Couple getaway

I was very pleased with the hotel. It was a lovely experience. The staff was very polite. The resort was fabulous. Everything about the resort was good. Just be ready to spend money for food. If you can rent a car, please do so because the food is much cheaper off the resort. Yes, I would go back. EXCELLENT RESORT!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Rent a car. Food is much cheaper off the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ldubs182
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 3, 2013

Gorgeous Aesthetics - Poor Overall Value

Overall, my fiance and I enjoyed our stay at the Gran Melia. The grounds are gorgeous, the pools are well-maintained, and the entire resort offers an abundance of breathtaking views. Aesthetics aside, we were displeased with a few things. The Gran Melia requires a "security deposit" of $100/night for any damages that could happen in the room during your stay. That's A LOT. While the Red Level upgrade is worth it for the "complimentary" breakfast buffet, they are not shy about reminding you to give at least a 15% tip for being served coffee and water. (breakfast would be $22 without red level, so they suggest tips of 15%, 18% and 20% for what the cost of your meal WOULD HAVE been.) They charge about $17/day for parking. They really want you to spend all your money at the resort, so they don't allow coolers on the property, or food/beverages from outside resources. Put leftovers or booze in a backpack. Basically, they try to stiff you out of $$$ in all ways possible. If you want a Bali Bed at the "red level" pool, reserve it a day ahead of time. They will kick you off of it if it is reserved for someone else, even if they never show up. The beach is pretty, but very rocky and full of seaweed. To save money, we ate at the Taco Bus located just outside the resort. $12 for 2 people, can't complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a bakery and a Taco Bus located just at the entrance of the resort. Right when you turn onto PR-187 (I think). Eat here for lunch/dinner, if you want to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top