$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
911 reviews
Great family experience

We loved this place. great location. The resort is huge. Pool is big, was not to busy. The room was... See full review

  • Galina04
  • Jul 13, 2014
wonderful

Staff was friendly food was good. Rooms were nice no fridge. Overall nice place to go. See full review

  • Duubg
  • Apr 30, 2014
All-suite resort with spa, golf on Puerto Rico’s northeaster coast

Gran Melia Puerto Rico, located on Coco Beach, offers an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast. The resort features 544 oversized suites, including 131 Red Level Suites and 59 Red Level Family Suites, a world-class spa, several pools, the nearby Coco Beach Golf and Country Club and a tropical pool where waiters satisfy every craving. Business travelers and event-goers enjoy the 27,018 square feet of function space.

Highlights
  • Close proximity to championship-caliber golf
  • Four pools, spa, water activities
  • Spacious suites
Rooms

Each garden view suite, decorated with modern mahogany furniture, features a king size or two double-size beds, a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, air conditioning, cable television with pay-per-view channels, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffeemaker, and safety deposit box. Red Level suites offer additional amenities such as daily full breakfast, private lounge for check-in, personal butler, exclusive junior suites, and priority dining.

Features

The hotel offers a lagoon-style swimming pool, children's pool, and an adults-only swimming pool on the property. Guests also enjoy a vast selection of non-motorized water sports, including ocean kayaking, windsurfing, and sailing. The 12,000-square-foot spa, Sol Melias, provides massages, facials, and polishes, and guests also enjoy the fully equipped health club and three tennis courts.

Minutes away are two 18-hole championship golf courses, designed by PGA tour professional Tom Kite. Gran Melia guest privileges include special green fees prices, preferred tee times, private lessons, and guest club storage.

Restaurant selections range from local Caribbean cuisine to Italian, Asian, and a steakhouse. The resort also offers five bars.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (19.6 mi/31.6 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (25.4 mi/40.9 km)
  • El Yunque Rainforest (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting and banquet rooms with 27,018 square feet of function space
  • Modern audiovisual equipment
  • Banquets and theme parties for up to 1,050
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rooms

Red Level Oceanfront Villa
Inspired by Gran Meli Golf Resort Puerto Rico's flair for the avant-garde and sophisticated, the Ocean Front Villas introduces a new element of luxury to the resort. Majestic ocean-front views, and private bedroom, living, and dining areas, offer a rare opportunity to experience a luxury Puerto Rico hotel beyond accommodation. These premier guestrooms showcase the privileged benefits of the Red Level Service with access to a his own private garden featuring plunge pool, ocean front dining, and an array of exclusive services. Red Level features additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast, Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access.(Subject to availability)
Deluxe Garden View Junior Suite
Each garden view suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double size beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full marble bathroom with vanity mirror and bath amenities, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, high-speed Internet access ($), in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Garden View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each gardenview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean View Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanview suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size or two double beds. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Ocean Front Junior Suite
Red Level suite feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily full breakfast,Private lounge for check-in, check-out and 3-hour evening wine & beer selection, Personal butler, Exclusive Junior Suites, Priority dining and YHI Spa reservations, Adult-only private pool, flat screen TV, bathrobes and slippers, complementary Internet access. Each oceanfront suite is decorated with modern elegant mahogany furniture. Rooms present king size and a jetted tub (set-up by butler) in the balcony. The suites are very spacious (520 sq ft) with a living area with sofa bed, private terrace or balcony, full sized marble bathroom with vanity mirror, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, in room mini bar with water and soft drinks (liqueurs subject to change), hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family Junior Suite
Each family suite decorated in the tones of the Caribbean and conditioned with fine modern furniture. These spacious suites (688 sq ft) are equipped with two Full Beds, Dining room/Kitchenette, a small living room area. Also, individually controlled air conditioning, cable television with pay per view channels, hair dryer, alarm clock with radio, iron and ironing board, direct dial telephone, coffee maker and safety deposit box. The Level Family Suites feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply).
Red Level Family One Bedroom Master Suite
Each family suite is decorated in a very fresh avant-garde style plus a terrace with Jacuzzi. The Level Family One Bedroom Master Suites (1,075 sq ft) feature one King size bed or Two full size beds (upon availability at time of check in), alarm clock, telephone, safety deposit box, a luxurious bathroom with double sinks, a Jacuzzi and a separate shower, hairdryer, an independent living room with sofa bed, dining room for 6, kitchenette with cookware, utensils. Feature additional included services and amenities as: Daily Breakfast, Butler Service & Kids Club, Welcome kit for children, Family Concierge Services, priority booking for activities and restaurants, Access to Red Level Lounge with Internet & coffee complimentary service, Clarins toiletries, childs dental kit, bathrobes and slippers, Family water ritual at our YHI Spa (for parents), DVD Player and Movie Menu (upon request), Video console and games (upon request). And 24-hour room service ($-Additional fees may apply .

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.4182 -65.7933
Area served
Rio Grande, Canovanas, Carolina, Loiza, Fajardo, San Juan. Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. Highway 955-I Rio Grande, PR 00745
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU), Puerto Rico - Estimate driving distance 14 miles to the East.
Area description
Gran Melia Puerto Rico is located in a prime spot of Puerto Rico. Set within a wonderful tropical paradise on the northeastern coast on the peninsula of Miquillo de Rio Grande in Coco Beach, the resort is only 35 minutes away from the International Airport Luis Munoz Marin(SJU), 30 minutes from San Juan's business and financial district, 40 minutes from the historic colonial city of Old San Juan and just a few minutes away from the El Yunque rainforest.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
29,000 sq. ft. of flexible and accommodating meeting space for up 1,400 attendees. State-of-the-art audio-visual capabilities, business center, additional meeting areas and bilingual staff.

Dining

Pasion by Chef Myrta
This dining venue brings you a Puerto Rican gourmet culinary experience. Open for dinner from award winning local chef.
Cafe Soleil
Enjoy spectacular breakfast and lunch featuring diverse menus with a local influence as well as a variety of international dishes in a tropical ambiance. In the evenings this restaurant features an exciting variety of international tapas and various types of paellas. Cuisine: Spanish tapas
The Avenue Bar
The beautiful tropical yet chic setting provides the perfect place for lively conversation, enhanced with entertainment. Enjoy a full array of cocktails and appetizers.
Red Level Exclusive Pool Bar
An al fresco bar located at our Exclusive Red Level Adults Only swimming pool where guests can relax, enjoy chill-out music and savor refreshing tropical drinks.
Wet Pool Bar
Casual swim-up pool bar romanced by island breezes and the sounds of the tropics.
Nami
Delight your taste for the Orient at our signature Asian Bistro, which offers three theme restaurants in one. A full Sushi Bar & Teppanyaki restaurant and Pan Asian Style Menu infused with Latin influences. Cuisine: Japanese & Pan Asian
Tempo
Specializing in Italian cuisine this sophisticated, yet comfortable, atmosphere is perfect for romantic evenings, quiet business dinners and special occasions. Slacks and collar shirt required. Reservations required. Cuisine: Italian
Wet Pool Bar and Grill
Dine al fresco at this casual poolside restaurant, serving a full lunch menu, snacks and tropical drinks. Casual dress or beachwear suggested.
Martini Bar
This splendid lounge is the perfect spot for pre-dinner cocktails or an after-dinner cordial or cognac. Located between Nami and Tempo restaurants.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (911)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
911 out of 911
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AJ MAC
Chattanooga, TN, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Food very expensive

Food was overpriced, no soda machines no where on resort's property. Ice machine was always empty. Whirlpools did not work, had to walk .15 miles to the pool and the restaurants. Pool closes everyday at 6 p.m. Could not find nothing to eat from 11 p.m. to 7 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a car and eat and shop off the resorts property.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Honeymooners Spring 2012
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Apr 9, 2012

VERY MISLEADIDNG

This hotel it is very eye appealing but there are many hidden elements that almost ruined our honey moon not to mention all their hidden fees! Though our package purchased included "all fees & taxes" the hotel does not consider parking as a "fee" therefore expect to pay $20-25 additional a day to park, no exceptions! Also, there was broken glass swept under the bed, a dried blood stain on the comforter and our socks were black from walking barefoot in the room. Poor house keeping to say the least! After reporting the dirty bed linens to the 9AM housekeeper we did not get our new clean liens until 12:30AM that night after making THREE follow up phone calls to the front desk! The hotel is VERY far from anything and all of the food on site is incredibly over priced for what you get. We paid over $23 per person for a standard continental breakfast! Again, the resort has beautiful grounds & awesome beach access yet the poorest customer service I have ever seen. Every single time we asked an associate something we had to follow up by asking a second and sometimes a third associate, all of which provided us completely different answers! I will never be returning to this resort or any of their sister hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2007

Definitely Not for a Honeymoon

My new husband and I came on our honeymoon and it was nothing that we expected. It is way to far from civilization which would be fine if it offered pleanty of things to do - which it doesn't. There is no night life and not such a great variety of food. The staff was great and the room was nice but that is all I can say about it. It was not at all what we expected and were very disappointed which is a shame for as I said, it was our honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
najee
Plainfield,nj
Aug 16, 2012

no kids allowed

The hotel itself I'd beautiful,however it did not meet my expectations in terms of child friendly activities..on the website they boast that they have kids friendly amenities such as kids play room and other activities.We were fooled. There is no game room for children nor were theRere any activities for children other than a rundown tennis table and pool table. The aqua activities are only there on weekends as well as the tatoo artist. There really isn't much for children to do other than swim at the pool. The hotel is 45 minutes away from any major attractions and taxis are 60 dollars or more each way.its you have children this is not the place for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Calibria rainforest park for children

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEW YORK, NEW YORK
Jul 6, 2011

NOT WORTH IT!!!!!

Do Not Stay at this Hotel unless you want to get ripped off, Do not Stay at this Hotel if You plan to explore Puerto Rico. Just Finished up my 5 Day 4 Night Venture and God am I Lucky i Had the Sense to rent a car because if i didnt i would have had the worse time. This Resort, First of all is loaded with kids so if you plan on relaxing and being with a significant other forget it!! 2nd They charge for Everything!!! When you get there you have to pay $100 for each night in which you are there. Everything is overpriced and this is coming from a person who lives in Manhattan (exa room service for a pizza is $17 plus $3 dollars for them to bring it up and that's not including tip REALLY BUDDY!!!!!) 3rd The Beach Sucks, its filled with Rocks and Pebbles and there is absolutely no where in which you can swim. 4th The Food now, i cant comment on all the restaurants however i can on the pas'ion, THIS RESTAURANT SUCKS it claims authentic "Puerto Rican Food" I had better on a truck in East Harlem Ny. This place was so bad, the service was slow and the food looked and tasted like puke!! Your best Bet is to go to the kiosks in Loquillo. This Hotel is not worth it, stay somewhere else if you want to see El Yunke, Loquillo or going to Vieques(which is Beautiful) all I can say is Thank God i Had a Car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KittyKat78
ny,ny
Nov 28, 2011

pretty but boring

this resort is very pretty and peacful. however,being that its not all inclusive,it can get pretty pricey..not to mention,its sort of isolated from other areas in PR,so if youre not planning on renting a car(i didnt), you will be stuck at the resort. which reminds me, i paid $60 freaking dolars(round trip),to take a 10 min ride to a walmart. there are absolutely no amenites to speak of..theres a fake casino,the size of a studio apt,theres the pools,and a very rocky beach...other than that,there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do:(...overall, this place may be great for retirees..but if youre young,and looking for something to do,do not go here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if u plan on taking the hotel shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel...dont...a cab is cheaper

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Got Bite Up.
Naperville, IL
Jan 19, 2011

"NO AIR CONDITIONING"

Hotel ground is nice but room was not so nice. We upgraded our room for the ocean front because it was my husband 50 birthday. The air in our room did not work. They had someone in our room at 12:15am trying to fix the air..could not fix it. The room they wanted to move us did not have a good view of the ocean and there was standing water on the balcony. The entire stay there our room temp was 74 degrees. The warm air kept blowing and we could not turn it off on the control. We had to play maintenance and turned it off at the circuit breaker box. The service was very slow. When I wanted to talk to the manager regarding my situation. I was told at the Royal Service that someone would call me and no one ever did. The food at Tempo came out cold and pasta was over cooked and service was extremly extremly SLOW..not worth the money. The food and service at Cafe Soleil and pool was good. Staff and gound keepers were nice. If I return to Puerto Rico...would I stay there again...the answer would be "No". If you go to the pool...bring BUG SPRAY...I got bite up by some kind of bug.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay closer to downtown San Juan. More activities and action.

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drfeelgood
San Juan P.R.
Apr 28, 2009

unconfortable experience due to overchar

The hotel was very good except for the Oriental restaurant in which the food was horrible especially the tepanyaki

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Enjoy to travel
Grand Melia Resort, PR
Jan 14, 2013

Rooms need some cleaning

Resort is beautiful. We enjoyed all restaurants, pool and beach. About the room, closet looked like they hadn't been clean for months. The small fridge in the room was stinking. We asked them to clean, but never got clean. (We stayed in the hotel for five full days.) When you travel with little kid, these small things are big. If you exclude the room, we had wonderful time at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
a real honest guy
hallandale
Jan 14, 2013

nice photo shop and way to expensive

This hotel is very remote from anything. to go to a resaurant one must take a 20us$ cab ride there and a 20us$ cab ride back. the food on site is not that great and is extemely expesive. ie a fried fish is 38us$ a day you have to spend around 100-150us$ per person to eat there, The bar tender doesnt know how to mix drinks well and after 12 the bar closes. the rooms are like .5 miles from the main lobby. the supposed garden view is two cocnut trees and a bunch of bushes. th beaches are full of sharp rocks, the supposed ive music was a broke DJ who close up at 1130.if you open the refrigerator in the room they charge you. there is no microwave. there was garbage in our hallway including balls of hair, dust balls, and pizza boxes. There is nothing to do but bake in the sun, swim in the pool, and spend lots of lots of money on thier over priced food. the people there are so unwilling to help you. especially in the restaurants...we left after our 2nd day went over to the marriot in condado and had a blast. I dont know how grand melia is anything more than a two star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

go somewhere else... ie the marriot or la concha. geez this place is boooooring. unless you love to golf i guess.

Back to menu Return to top