$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

4 stars
View map of 1000 Coco Beach Blvd, Rio Grande, Coco Beach Sector, Rio Grande, 00745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
730 out of 730
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Oz Pearlman
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 28, 2014

Beware of Bug Bites & Terrible Food

What a shame having to go to a beach that you can't swim in. It is rocky and seaweedy and the sign clearly says no swimming...does that mean I can't complain about it? What a shame everything I ate there taste like pre-cooked, sitting in a fridge for a few days then got microwaved...nothing tasted fresh. Only breakfast buffet was edible because that omelette was prepared right in front of me. I gave up and rented a car just to eat out. I saw 1 or 2 ants on the bed and didn't think much of it. Every day I woke up with a new bug bite. By the third and final night I had about 20 bug bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALBERT 01
Business
NEW YORK
Jan 23, 2014

GREA T VACATION

THE HOTEL CLEAN NICE THE POOL AREA VERY NICE THE ROOM NEW VERY NICE BUT MY ROOM FAR FROM THE LOBBY THE CAUSE TO WALK TO LONG MAKE ME HAVE LEG CRAMPS AT NIGHT BUT IN GENERAL EVERY THING ABOUT THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lori. R
Business
Socorro NM
Jan 1, 2014

Do not stay here

I would not recommend staying here. There is one bar. The restaurants are overpriced. The service is bad. Do not stay here unless you rent a car. Beware of the no see bugs that will eat you alive. The pools do not have adequate seating. They have towel and ice chest security. They do everything possible to make your stay quite miserable. If you do not have a car you will feel trapped. If you do not have a reservation you will not eat. Excursions and taxis are redicilous. Golf is at least 200.00 per person. Bad expirence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandpa Kurt
Business
Gaylord MN
Dec 31, 2013

Great place, slow service

The facilities are beautiful and outstanding. The weather was perfect, warm and sunny. We spent most of our time at the fantastic pools and the beach. Also toured the nearby rainforest, a must. The food at the resort is very average and over priced. The service is unbelievable slow. I recommend leaving the resort and going to local restaurants which have outstanding cuisine for a more economical price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Erin Baxter
Business
Hudson, Ohio
Dec 29, 2013

Horrible Choice!

Based on the reviews and pics we chose the Gran Melia for our family vacation. What a mistake. Upon arriving, we were very happy with the entrance to the hotel - beautiful and very posh looking. The hotel is set up like an apartment complex. You have to walk a great distance or ride in a driven golf cart to get ANYWHERE. When I say apartment complex I mean more Than just the buildings. People were literally parked out on their patios with radios, smoking and loudly talking all over the place. Not very relaxing. Our room was RUN DOWN. The couch, floor and walls were stained. I did not want to sit down ANYWHERE. I tried to overlook it and we decided to look at the beautiful pool we saw in the pictures. It looked completely different. First of all, it was shoulder to shoulder with people- kids, couples making out. Empty plastic cups floated in the few spots where there was no people. The walls of the pool were broken and cracked. Everything looked like a bad version of the pictures we saw. We hoped the beach would make up for everything else. Nope. It was small. I mean only 20-30 feet long and full of jagged rocks and garbage. We complained to management and they said they would upgrade our room but there was only one room left. It was not much better than the first one. We ended up staying at the Ritz Carlton for the week and were beyond happy with the hotel. The Gran Melia was the biggest disappointment ever. Please heed my warning on this. I wish I would've known beforehand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lazybeachbum
Business
New York
Dec 28, 2013

"Beware, Paradise"

The balcony door had a sign "Beware, Paradise" and it is indeed a paradise. The resort is pretty huge with lots of open air space, beautiful architecture, and a long strip of beach. My favorite is the length of the beach and the fact you can have private beach space and never feel crowded together. Rooms are very spacious and personnel is very friendly. Cleaning staff is very annoying and loud, knocking on doors starting 9am, but everything else was great. Will definitely visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Try the strawberry mojitos at the Avenue bar - made with real strawberries and delicious!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Brandy
Business
Rio Grande Puerto Rico
Dec 27, 2013

Good Vacay

We wanted to experience the island but everything was booked....no car rentals, no nothing. Everything should be planned in advance. Nice relaxing time which was why we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MagsandJoe
Business
Brookfield, Illinois
Dec 18, 2013

I would definitely go back!

This hotel was amazing! We had a great time and would definitely recommend it to others. The only complaint I had was that the restaurants in the hotel were very expensive, but they do offer happy hours with discounts at certain times of day. It was very scenic, and secluded on its own peninsula, which was right on the coast line. The staff was very friendly as well, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to El Jefe's Burger Shack on rt. 3. You won't regret it!

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rubygeo
Business
New York
Dec 17, 2013

No worth the money

The room was beautiful but the staff needs improvement. Maid kept leaving dirty glasses in the room, not refilling soaps or emptying the ice bucket, etc...didn't change sheets daily as we were told they would. The food was over priced for the portion and taste. I will not be going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eni the traveler
Business
Durham, North Carolina
Dec 5, 2013

Trip to PR

The amenities were Ok, nothing special. I usually stay at the Wydham but wanted to check out another place since we were going to a weeding near that area and the stay was disappointing. The sofa was stained, floor needed sweeping, the balcony was dirty and the bathroom could use scrubbing. They did not have a whirlpool or hot Jacuzzi in the pool area, only in the spa indoors. The beach area was not very good either, the chairs need upgrading. Overall I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Kiosko had delicious food.

Back to menu Return to top