$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Villa Cofresi Hotel

3 stars
Road 115 Km 12.0, Rincon, 00677
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
30 reviews
Great Experience!!!!!

The hotel overall was great, clean, excelent staff. Location Ok! The only disadvantage is that the... See full review

  • Negokik
  • Mar 25, 2013
Rincon Gem

Villa Cofresi is located right in the middle of Rincon. The hotel has adequate facilities, free... See full review

  • MikeNtyce
  • Jan 22, 2014
This family friendly hotel is located on gorgeous Rincon beach on the west coast of Puerto Rico. It has 69 rooms including standard rooms, standard rooms with kitchen, deluxe rooms with private balconies with ocean view and two bedroom apartments.
Property amenities includes: swimming pool for adults and another one for small children, banquet facilities, business services, front desk, ATM, arcade/game room, gift shop, Internet access in public area (complementary), massage (in rooms), free parking, pool table, ping pong table, room service(limited hours), safe deposit box in rooms, security guard, beach towels and umbrellas, whale watching (specific months). Water sports including jet ski, banana boat rides and kayaks (fees may apply).

Hotel Map

18.3285 -67.2503
Area served
Rincon, Aguada, Aguadilla, Isabela, Mayaguez, Cabo Rojo. Property address: Rd.115 Kilometer 12.0 Rincon, Puerto Rico.
Nearby airports
Eugenio Maria de Hostos Airport (MAZ)in Mayaguez and Rafael Hernandez Airport (BQN) in Aguadilla, PR.
Area description
Rincon is so well known in surfing circles that it has hosted two World Surfing championships. One of the main attractions is the restored Rincon Lighthouse and Park; which sets in the middle of some of the best surfing in the world. Often there are formal contests held on the beach just north of the park (Spanish Wall to Sandy Beach). Walking a short distance to the south, you will find more surfers and seaside snacks.
Divers and snorkelers should consider a trip to Desecheo Island, northwest of Rincon. This reserve has some of the most spectacular diving in Puerto Rico. On the southwest corner of Desecheo you will find a small and protected cove with excellent snorkeling and diving. Some of the over 20 dive sites include the dives on the Yellow Reef pinnacle and the reef formation just offshore. You will find coral arches as well as staghorn and brain coral formations. This area is teeming with fish, and once in a while, a turtle wanders through.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Cofresi Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Villa Cofresi Hotel Rooms

Family Standard Double
Standard double room offers two double beds, partial ocean view or no view, located on floors 1-3(no elevator), tropical decor, cable TV, wireless Internet access, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hair dryer, air conditioning. All rooms are non-smoking.
Family Deluxe Double
Deluxe double room offers two queen beds, ocean view with a private balcony. It is located from a first to a third floor (no elevators). Offers cable TV, wireless internet access, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hair dryer, air conditioning. They are all non-smoking.
Deluxe King
This room offers a king size bed, with ocean view and private balcony. Located in floors from 1-3 (no elevator), cable TV, wireless Internet access, coffeemaker, refrigerator, hair dryer, air conditioning. These rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Ana de Cofresi Restaurant
Specializes in fresh sea food, Angus beef and Puerto Rican cuisine. The restaurant is famous for breaded shrimp, fish filet, and the best steaks in Porta Del sol. One can also find arroz con habichuelas, mofongo and asopao. All meals include a salad and garlic bread.
The restaurant is open year around. Breakfast is served between 8:00am -11:00am. Dinner starts at 5:00 until 10:00pm. The restaurant is also open for lunch on weekends and holidays. Desserts are homemade and include the traditional flan (custard), natilla de coco and cheesecake.
Nearby Restaurants
Additional restaurant options within driving distance.
Beach Bar
Just steps from the ocean, offers light lunch and all kind of drinks including their famous Pirate Special, served in fresh coconut. One can enjoy the most breathtaking sunsets from the beach bar.
Beach bar is also known as 'The Bohio' or Pirate bar, serves quality hamburgers, chicken and shrimp kabobs, hot dogs, salads and sandwitches as well as all kind of drinks, including the unique house drink. The happy hour is Monday to Friday between 5:00pm and 7:00pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Villa Cofresi Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Apr 5, 2010

Peaceful getaway

The three of us pesonally enjoyed it. I would go back again. Activities right at ther beach at decent prizes and the area is kind of cozy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Mar 28, 2010

great location - all positive!

Great place. We had a room facing sea but not near bar area which was great for peace and quiet.Walk into town! It is only 15-20 minutes and there is a sidewalk and it is safe. Great restaurants eg a Mexican in the town square. Hired bicycles ( place just opposite hotel) for a morning to cycle to lighthouse half hour away. Beautiful..and great bar/cafe on way back! Would definitely return. Hotel bar area had live music some evenings to attract people to watch the beautiful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to explore restaurants in Rincon and along coast and beaches! Also supermarkets along the way into Rincon town.Also we flew using a 9 seater plane from San Juan - quicker than car [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
himkc21
chicago, il.
Mar 28, 2010

we had a great time in puerto rico!

location was great right on the beach with bar and grill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel food was some of the best that we've ever had

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacationing Bostonians
Boston, MA
Mar 5, 2010

Awesome vacation experience

We had a fantastic time at this hotel. Great location right on the beach. We even saw whales from where we were sitting. The bar was lively and the drinks were really good -- the highlight was the drink that comes in a coconut. The rooms were pretty basic, but ok. The only downside was the restaurant, which had slow service and not so great food. The breakfast is poor, but there is a nice coffee shop (Surf's Up) that is within walking distance. Overall it was very relaxing, and a nice change of pace if you want to get away from bustling San Juan. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Champaign, IL
Feb 24, 2010

Loved it!

We loved this small hotel and location. Right on the beach, our room was spacious with ocean view. I can't wait to go back. Was disappointed that the water toys vendor was still not open at 11 am on our last day when they had said the day before that they open at 10-10:30. We weren't able to jet ski as we had planned. Otherwise, it was a perfect stay. A little tricky to find it - there's a sign on 115 but it's on the opposite side of the road, no arrow, and the hotel is actually at the end of long dead end street and is not right on the road, as we were told.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HARDCORE
New Jersey
Dec 21, 2009

Super getaway

The hotel is very nice. I like the View Excellent !!! I had a great time Thursdays,Friday,Sat and Sunday's is went the Party Start. Also Jet Ski, Scuba diving and other attraction is a Kool Place to be !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Drink, La Bruja Negra and the famous Pirate Special, served in fresh coconut. One can enjoy the most breathtaking sunsets from the beach bar. Beach bar is also known as 'The Bohio or Pirata Bar with out standing bartenders ;) Yeeeeeeeessssssss !!!!! by HARDCORE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
seeyouinpr
Caguas, P.R.
Nov 29, 2009

Watch Pelicans in a front row seat

We enjoyed our family stay at the Villa Cofresi. The staff is very nice and friendly! Starting at check-in, through the Restaurant and the Bar. We travelled with two kids 4 & 6 and they loved the sandy beach with very moderate swells; pelicans can be seen all day, passing by in low level flight or at a nose dive to snap a fish. The pool is clean and a little cool, but this is not a show stopper. Rooms are not brand new, however well maintained and neat; the closeness to the sea requires a de-humidifier, which is placed in the room (in addition to a/c). The curtains are perfect as they shade the room effectively (important, when being with kids...). The breakfast cannot compete with Beacuse, but you get all you need. We had dinner once and all tasted great, service was very flexible and cooperative. The only thing, that bothered me, was the need to wear a yellow bracelet to identify yourself as a hotel guest. If there are some "black sheep", that book as a couple and stay with an entire bowling crew, management should have better controls in place to trap it. This is in contrast to the timeless atmosphere in this beautiful hotel and is the reason, not to get 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Surf beaches north of Rincon (e.g. at the lighthouse): Try yourself or go there to watch the cracks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 27, 2009

Solid value and location

Villa Cofresi is an old hotel, I'm 37 years old and the hotel has been there at least as long as I remember. I grew up in Rincon in the 70's and early 80's before moving to Florida. If you are looking for newest and greatest this is not it, but if you are looking for a comfortable, clean and conveniently located place to stay in Rincon, Villa Cofresi is hard to beat. The rooms are spacious and clean and the beachfront location is one of the best in Rincon. Our room rate included a no frills breakfast that was nevertheless more than filling and it meant not having to stop on the way out to grab breakfast. When we arrived the Hotel, it was undergoing renovations to control beach erosion. The first room we were given had a cement truck and pump by the front door and a very large excavator by the back balcony, not exactly what I wanted to see or hear after a long day of traveling. I notified the front desk about the situation and they promptly moved us to an upgraded room in the third floor away from the construction noise. This ended up being a great room location due to the fact that Rincon goes from a quiet, sleepy town during the week to a party town on the weekends, with Villa Cofresi being one of those party destinations. They have a nice beach side bar and restaurant with music on the weekends. We had no problems sleeping Friday and Saturday night although there was party going on by the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

If traveling with no kids, the Hotel bar and restaurant offers a great place to mingle with the locals on the weekend. Most of the people we ran into in Rincon were very friendly and are easy to strike conversation with. They are very accustomed to having out of town visitors and are very easy going adding to the relaxed island experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn,NY
Aug 25, 2009

Great Place!

This hotel was great! It is really on the beach-which is very clean, not crowded or rowdy and made for the most beautiful sunsets. There was a great mix of people-not just families, but singles and older folks too-it seemed like everyone mingled perfectly and was having a good time at the hotel and bar. The room was awesome, the ocean view was very cool and the family room was very spacious. The resteraunt was excellent and not overpriced as has been my experience elsewhere on the island. I am adding this hotel to my list and can't wait to go back because I know I will have a good time. Also well located for other places to eat nearby-which were pretty good and fairly priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Other great places to eat was the Harbor Resteraunt (mahi-mahi) at Seaside Village (on 115) and El Cerdito del Cielito-really cool soul food type stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Jun 11, 2009

Pleasant Rest and relaxation site

Stay during the week and avoid the month of July. The hotel is a sleepy very clean spot with a pristine and sparsely populated beach but on the weekends its jumping and the bar is loud till 2AM and packed. Its as though this is the Rincon spot to see and be seen, but still safe and not crazy. Rooms are large, very clean and beds are comfy, staff is friendly and appropriately attentive. Keep in mind this is not a posh resort but a more of a family oriented vacation destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

As the economy is slow I was able to do some negotiating with the motorized water activities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search