$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

2 stars
103 Turpo Industrial Park, Ponce, 00715
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
40 reviews
Birthday vacation

I dont know where to begin. I current stayed for 5 days and enjoyed every moment. The food was... See full review

  • toxic
  • Jun 17, 2013
Great Convenient Place

The restaurant shall have a more elaborated menu and Staff should strive to welcome guesses when... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 18, 2011
Affordable lodging in Ponce, Puerto Rico

Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce, immersed in beautiful Spanish architecture and surrounded by a lush tropical courtyard, features a pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, and pool bar. The new business center in the lobby offers a computer with Internet access and printer. The hotel provides convenient located access to the business district of Ponce, as well as to a highly regarded art museum.

Highlights

  • Near Ponce business district
  • Business center and meeting space
  • Pool bar
  • Free-high speed Internet access

Rooms

All of the accommodations feature cable television including HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, free high-speed Internet access, and coffeemaker with a complimentary supply of the finest mountain-grown coffee in Puerto Rico.

Features

Guests looking to unwind hit the pool or go for a work-out in the fitness center. La Perla, a new fine dining restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (72.7 mi/117 km) 
Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (73.9 mi/119 km)
  • Ponce Art Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business

  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 150
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

17.9903 -66.6004
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 40
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Perturbed Puerto Rican
NY, NY
Dec 29, 2013

Look Elsewhere

My wife and I had planned this trip to Ponce, Puerto Rico for six months. We had stayed at this very hotel the year before and were willing to ignore the little things considering the importance of our visit at the time. We chose to stay again there again, and I regret the decision. Well over a week before, we called the hotel so that we could arrange both rooms we booked to be side by side. Our daughter was coming with us and we wanted to make sure we could have her close by for obvious reasons. After arriving at the hotel, we were issued hotel rooms at either end of the first floor. Clearly our request was ignored and it took the receptionist 20 minutes to understand what it was that we wanted. Once we got into the rooms, their accommodations were uncomfortable and dirty. The curtains that covered the sliding glass doors going to the pool area were moldy and dirty, and the carpet itself had a damp feel to it. We didn't stay much time throughout the day because we had family to visit that live nearby. So we, for the lack of a better term, toughed it out. The topper to all this was when the facilities lost all water and we couldn't flush the toilet, take a shower or use the faucet. My wife told the front desk, who in turn told us that there was a water main break down the road and that they were bringing us 2 gallons of water. Overall, the experience was lackluster and because of it, I couldn't in good conscious recommend this hotel. They are way behind in the times and in maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san juan ,pr
Nov 29, 2010

weekend

Hotel was small and quiet.Not far from Ponce City.We went kartracing.Visited de camuy caverns,very impresive.Very good price for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza Del Caribe Shopping Mall

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betty mom
Puerto Rico
Jul 17, 2012

Sleep stop

Confortable just to go to sleep. Clean room. Clean areas. Good servises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa
Aug 10, 2008

terrible location

it's located in an industrial area with terrible smell, gym was a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, il
Aug 9, 2010

Just fine

It was just fine, good location, not very well maintain hotel. A few upgrates are needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gunman49
Maine
Jul 22, 2010

ok deal needs improvement and updating

Staff was friendly, but slow at front desk and restaurant. Enjoyed the jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ithaca, NY
Feb 11, 2010

Great value

great value, friendly staff, they let us check in at 9am!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberto Leer
Florida
May 31, 2012

Vacation

Good time , people, the pool is great the kids have a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LOLY
NEW YORK
Aug 15, 2011

Wonderful for a nice vacacion

it was so perfect I had a good time and also I went there to get marige it was very nice I did like it I am planing to go there againt for charstmas with my brother so I hope you WILL LOOK OUT FOR ME THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 16, 2010

Good price, Good value

We stayed for 7 days and the hotel was very quiet during that time. The best rooms are definately on the 1st floor by the pool. It is clean and conveniently located to many attractions, stores and a beautiful beach, Santa Playa (Hwy 52 to route 116). It is really, really easy to drive in the Ponce area to get to different places. Ask the front desk staff for directions, they will give you a very detailed map, but just be prepared to stop at a gas station closer to your destination to make sure you do not need to make an additional turn somewhere. Twice we were given directions and either a right turn or a left turn at a traffic light was left out of the instructions. My only suggestion is that they update the gym equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search