$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

2 stars
103 Turpo Industrial Park, Ponce, 00715
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
40 reviews
Birthday vacation

I dont know where to begin. I current stayed for 5 days and enjoyed every moment. The food was... See full review

  • toxic
  • Jun 17, 2013
Great Convenient Place

The restaurant shall have a more elaborated menu and Staff should strive to welcome guesses when... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 18, 2011
Affordable lodging in Ponce, Puerto Rico

Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce, immersed in beautiful Spanish architecture and surrounded by a lush tropical courtyard, features a pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, and pool bar. The new business center in the lobby offers a computer with Internet access and printer. The hotel provides convenient located access to the business district of Ponce, as well as to a highly regarded art museum.

Highlights

  • Near Ponce business district
  • Business center and meeting space
  • Pool bar
  • Free-high speed Internet access

Rooms

All of the accommodations feature cable television including HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, free high-speed Internet access, and coffeemaker with a complimentary supply of the finest mountain-grown coffee in Puerto Rico.

Features

Guests looking to unwind hit the pool or go for a work-out in the fitness center. La Perla, a new fine dining restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (72.7 mi/117 km) 
Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (73.9 mi/119 km)
  • Ponce Art Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business

  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 150
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Perturbed Puerto Rican
Business
NY, NY
Dec 29, 2013

Look Elsewhere

My wife and I had planned this trip to Ponce, Puerto Rico for six months. We had stayed at this very hotel the year before and were willing to ignore the little things considering the importance of our visit at the time. We chose to stay again there again, and I regret the decision. Well over a week before, we called the hotel so that we could arrange both rooms we booked to be side by side. Our daughter was coming with us and we wanted to make sure we could have her close by for obvious reasons. After arriving at the hotel, we were issued hotel rooms at either end of the first floor. Clearly our request was ignored and it took the receptionist 20 minutes to understand what it was that we wanted. Once we got into the rooms, their accommodations were uncomfortable and dirty. The curtains that covered the sliding glass doors going to the pool area were moldy and dirty, and the carpet itself had a damp feel to it. We didn't stay much time throughout the day because we had family to visit that live nearby. So we, for the lack of a better term, toughed it out. The topper to all this was when the facilities lost all water and we couldn't flush the toilet, take a shower or use the faucet. My wife told the front desk, who in turn told us that there was a water main break down the road and that they were bringing us 2 gallons of water. Overall, the experience was lackluster and because of it, I couldn't in good conscious recommend this hotel. They are way behind in the times and in maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Betty mom
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 17, 2012

Sleep stop

Confortable just to go to sleep. Clean room. Clean areas. Good servises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
donnavictor
Business
florida
Jan 2, 2013

family getaway

big issue finding hotel with GPS front desk said it doesn't show up on any GPS systems - but when we called they had been very helpful Breakfast could be a lot better with cut up fruit etc... rooms and bathrooms are old and need updating but somewhat clean beds and linens need replacement very uncomfortable ***pool decking** is a huge mess and really needs a proper renovation. staff very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Super Puertorrican
Business
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Jan 6, 2014

Good not Great

It was a good stay. The beds were clean and somewhat comfortable. Even though it says complimentary breakfast. If you make your reservation through this website, you're going to have to pay for it and 20 dollars for some ok breakfast is not good at all. Otherwise it would have been great. And another the tv sets in the room are probably like 24 years old. They need to upgrade a little bit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pelikan
Business
Virginia
Feb 19, 2014

Dissapointed

The staff was nice. The gym may as we'll be non-existing, all machines were non working. They were out of regular coffee in the rooms. I don't believe they sweep under the beds very frequently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan ,pr
Nov 29, 2010

weekend

Hotel was small and quiet.Not far from Ponce City.We went kartracing.Visited de camuy caverns,very impresive.Very good price for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plaza Del Caribe Shopping Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Newly Engaged in Puerto Rico
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 6, 2010

Newly Engaged in Puerto Rico

Although the hotel was accomodating enough to allow us to check-in early, the room we were given had a moldy mildewy smell. We called to ask for another room and it took them to long to come that we ended up having lunch at the hotel restaurant. The restaurant had flies flying, which was very annoying. By the time we checked again all they had done to the room was sprayed air fresher. We finally got a better room, but that put us back on our sightseeing plans. Not a great first impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

At the center of Ponce at Plaza de las Delicias they offer a trolley tour for $2 a person at the Parque de Bombas. It takes you all around the center and gives you great insight on the history of Ponce. The best part is that the trolley is air-conditioned.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KathiD67
Business
Jersey Shore
Sep 27, 2009

Old and you can tell.

The only positive was the $54.00 per night room rate. And I know, 'you get what you pay for'. But so many of the reviews I read prior to going were very good, so I took the chance. I would not return to this HoJos. I'd rather pay double, or more, and have an updated, clean, fresh room. The carpet had no padding and seemed almost damp. The A/C unit smelled musty and moldy. The water pressure was very poor. And everything was generally rundown. The pool itself was nice, however, the two hot tubs had NO STEPS to get in or out! Can you imagine? The restaurant (an open kitchen setup) had limited selection and high prices for what they did offer. And I don't like seeing the 'chef' sniff the pork chops and dig through the container to the bottom before finding two that he decided were good enough to cook. ICK! I'm alive, the food didn't kill me (although climbing into and out of the hot tub nearly did). It was not a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson Az.
Jun 6, 2010

GOOD PLACE TO STAY

The hotel was good, clean, friendly staff. My only problem was that I was charge twice for my room, once by Cheap Tickets, and once by the hotel. But I don't think it was the hotel fault, it was Cheap Tickets fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Aug 9, 2010

Just fine

It was just fine, good location, not very well maintain hotel. A few upgrates are needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top