$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

2 stars
View map of 103 Turpo Industrial Park, Ponce, 00715

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Auddity
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Oct 4, 2010

Not bad for the price.

It was cheap, and clean. We had to keep food and drinks cleaned up to aviod ants, but it wasn't that big of a deal at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gunman49
Family
Maine
Jul 22, 2010

ok deal needs improvement and updating

Staff was friendly, but slow at front desk and restaurant. Enjoyed the jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Newly Engaged in Puerto Rico
Couples
Miami, FL
Jul 6, 2010

Newly Engaged in Puerto Rico

Although the hotel was accomodating enough to allow us to check-in early, the room we were given had a moldy mildewy smell. We called to ask for another room and it took them to long to come that we ended up having lunch at the hotel restaurant. The restaurant had flies flying, which was very annoying. By the time we checked again all they had done to the room was sprayed air fresher. We finally got a better room, but that put us back on our sightseeing plans. Not a great first impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

At the center of Ponce at Plaza de las Delicias they offer a trolley tour for $2 a person at the Parque de Bombas. It takes you all around the center and gives you great insight on the history of Ponce. The best part is that the trolley is air-conditioned.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Niceville, Florida
May 29, 2010

Clean rooms. Woudl stay there again

All the hotel employess were very courteous and always pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
May 16, 2010

Good price, Good value

We stayed for 7 days and the hotel was very quiet during that time. The best rooms are definately on the 1st floor by the pool. It is clean and conveniently located to many attractions, stores and a beautiful beach, Santa Playa (Hwy 52 to route 116). It is really, really easy to drive in the Ponce area to get to different places. Ask the front desk staff for directions, they will give you a very detailed map, but just be prepared to stop at a gas station closer to your destination to make sure you do not need to make an additional turn somewhere. Twice we were given directions and either a right turn or a left turn at a traffic light was left out of the instructions. My only suggestion is that they update the gym equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sympathyzero
Family
Milwaukee, WI
Mar 14, 2010

very, very nice

It was wonderful, the staff was very friendly and helpful. the rooms were clean and noise level minimum even though your right next to the freeway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ithaca, NY
Feb 11, 2010

Great value

great value, friendly staff, they let us check in at 9am!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
washington, DC
Jan 23, 2010

adequate accomodations for the price

We only used our stay for sleeping, we did not spend much time in the Hotel facilities. It was great for our needs.What we liked the most was the hotel accessability from the main highway, it could not had been any easier. If you are visiting relatives in the neighboring towns, then this the place to stay;reasonable price and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fajardo,P.R.
Oct 9, 2009

Good location

Nice & very good service, very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KathiD67
Couples
Jersey Shore
Sep 27, 2009

Old and you can tell.

The only positive was the $54.00 per night room rate. And I know, 'you get what you pay for'. But so many of the reviews I read prior to going were very good, so I took the chance. I would not return to this HoJos. I'd rather pay double, or more, and have an updated, clean, fresh room. The carpet had no padding and seemed almost damp. The A/C unit smelled musty and moldy. The water pressure was very poor. And everything was generally rundown. The pool itself was nice, however, the two hot tubs had NO STEPS to get in or out! Can you imagine? The restaurant (an open kitchen setup) had limited selection and high prices for what they did offer. And I don't like seeing the 'chef' sniff the pork chops and dig through the container to the bottom before finding two that he decided were good enough to cook. ICK! I'm alive, the food didn't kill me (although climbing into and out of the hot tub nearly did). It was not a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top