$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

2 stars
103 Turpo Industrial Park, Ponce, 00715
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
40 reviews
Birthday vacation

I dont know where to begin. I current stayed for 5 days and enjoyed every moment. The food was... See full review

  • toxic
  • Jun 17, 2013
Great Convenient Place

The restaurant shall have a more elaborated menu and Staff should strive to welcome guesses when... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 18, 2011
Affordable lodging in Ponce, Puerto Rico

Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce, immersed in beautiful Spanish architecture and surrounded by a lush tropical courtyard, features a pool, kiddie pool, hot tub, and pool bar. The new business center in the lobby offers a computer with Internet access and printer. The hotel provides convenient located access to the business district of Ponce, as well as to a highly regarded art museum.

Highlights

  • Near Ponce business district
  • Business center and meeting space
  • Pool bar
  • Free-high speed Internet access

Rooms

All of the accommodations feature cable television including HBO, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, free high-speed Internet access, and coffeemaker with a complimentary supply of the finest mountain-grown coffee in Puerto Rico.

Features

Guests looking to unwind hit the pool or go for a work-out in the fitness center. La Perla, a new fine dining restaurant, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (72.7 mi/117 km) 
Nearby attractions

  • Old San Juan (73.9 mi/119 km)
  • Ponce Art Museum (3 mi/4.8 km)

Business

  • Two meeting rooms accommodate up to 150
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, DC
Jan 23, 2010

adequate accomodations for the price

We only used our stay for sleeping, we did not spend much time in the Hotel facilities. It was great for our needs.What we liked the most was the hotel accessability from the main highway, it could not had been any easier. If you are visiting relatives in the neighboring towns, then this the place to stay;reasonable price and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camuy PR
Jan 5, 2010

Like it!!!!

I enjoy to spend a quality time with my wife without disturbance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fajardo,P.R.
Oct 9, 2009

Good location

Nice & very good service, very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KathiD67
Business
Jersey Shore
Sep 27, 2009

Old and you can tell.

The only positive was the $54.00 per night room rate. And I know, 'you get what you pay for'. But so many of the reviews I read prior to going were very good, so I took the chance. I would not return to this HoJos. I'd rather pay double, or more, and have an updated, clean, fresh room. The carpet had no padding and seemed almost damp. The A/C unit smelled musty and moldy. The water pressure was very poor. And everything was generally rundown. The pool itself was nice, however, the two hot tubs had NO STEPS to get in or out! Can you imagine? The restaurant (an open kitchen setup) had limited selection and high prices for what they did offer. And I don't like seeing the 'chef' sniff the pork chops and dig through the container to the bottom before finding two that he decided were good enough to cook. ICK! I'm alive, the food didn't kill me (although climbing into and out of the hot tub nearly did). It was not a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ponce
Aug 10, 2009

unbeatable location for the price

Very good location, excellent service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 15, 2009

Our vacation

We had trouble with the door to the room and construction in the room next door. We contacted the staff and they quickly moved us to another room and chip in an room upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence, Massachusetts
May 19, 2009

My first trip to Puerto Rico

I went to Puerto Rico for the 1st time. I knew I wanted to be close to the airport. The atmosphere was great the other visitors I met at the pool and lounge were very friendly. The employees at the front desk [...] and I believe [...] sorry if I got your name wrong were very knowledgeable and friendly. The lounge was very laid back the cooks were fabulous the bartenders were great [...] was fabulous and I apologize I do not remember everyones name but I give them all an A+. I would come back and visit it was easy access to all places I wanted to go. Family atmosphere and at the same time watching a game at the lounge and hanging out was great. The rooms were great nice and clean and all employees were very generous courteous and insightful. I would stay here and bring some of my friends with me next time. Only downful was the cab that picked me up and charged me $20.00 to the airport but, that has nothing to do with the hotel. I would have preferred a ride or some sort of shuttle to the airport all and all. Thank you all the employees front desk help, security, dining room waiter ( you know who you are) cooks, housekeepers and all the fellas at the bar area you made my stay fabulous and I felt very safe. [...] and [...] keep up the great work fabulous. Security great job!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Watching the Red Sox and Celtics play was a treat had a great time at the lounge. Also, the cook from Boston sorry forgot his name great guy thanks the food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
Aug 10, 2008

terrible location

it's located in an industrial area with terrible smell, gym was a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2007

Professional

The Howard Johnson Hotel in Ponce, PR was satisfactory and the staff was very polite and appeared to be customer oriented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go west along the by pass 1 as you leave the hotel and about three lights you will see the mall on your left .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, IL
Jul 11, 2007

Beautiful Room

The Howard Johnson provided us with a beautiful room. I really must commend the maid service....truly excellent. After our long flight... we felt as though we were home when we walked into our room. Although we were not there long enough to enjoy the beautiful pool...it did look inviting. Restaurant service at the hotel was lacking. The service was very slow. (They only had one waiter..who was very nice and apologetic... and one cook...who could only cook one order at a time.)Twice they came back to us to tell us that they did not have the items that we ordered. (This was after a extensive wait.)Maybe it was just a bad day.... Despite the restaurant....I would recommend that you give this beautiful hotel a try...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach in Ponce is beautiful...as is the downtown area... It reminded is a little of the French Quarter in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top