$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2015 Check-out: Feb 22, 2015

Hotel Melia

3 stars
Calle Cristina #75, Ponce, 00733
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
35 reviews
road trip

Awesome place. Staff was super friendly and informative. Cool layout with center courtyard and room... See full review

  • ponce
  • Jan 20, 2015
Family Trip

The room was small, but it serve the purpose. Great location, in the Center of Ponce See full review

  • Hector N.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Intimate, old-world property in the heart of Ponce's historic district
Across from Plaza Las Delicias and the Firehouse Museum, Melia Hotel affords direct access to Ponce's historical district and institutions. Guests can catch trolley tours near the hotel or simply walk to the well-known landmarks such as the Museum of the History of Ponce and Serralles Castle. The property itself showcases an elegant, wood-paneled lobby and comfortable rooms fitted with cable TV and views of the patio and imperial buildings.
  • Across from the Firehouse Museum and Plaza Las Delicias in Ponce's historic district
  • Colonial-inspired furniture and architecture
  • Family-managed and owned for decades
  • Outdoor pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Hotel rooms reflect the traditional touches of the rest of the property, from wood furniture to gilded frames. Striped bedding in navy blue and gold also boast a floral pattern, an elegant accent that coordinates with upholstered dining chairs. In some rooms, big picture windows reveal the hotel's greatest quality: its proximity to Plaza Las Delicias, which faces the building. Each room comes with cable TV, a hair dryer and ironing board. 
Melia Hotel guests looking to explore the rich history of Ponce will find some of the city's most famous landmarks within walking distance. Facing Plaza Las Delicias, the boutique hotel brims with old-world appeal driven by archways, chandeliers, intricate tile and stately columns and a patio with lush landscaping.

The property is also close to the Museum of the History of Ponce, Serralles Castle and the Municipal Government of the city of Ponce. Visitors can catch free trolley tours to learn more about the city's deep history. An on-site restaurant and private pool, where a waterfall trickles from a stone wall, round out the offerings.
  • Mercedita Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Museo de Arte de Ponce (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • El Museo Castillo Serralles (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Hacienda Buena Vista (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cruz del Vigia (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Parque de Bombas (3.2mi/5.2 km)
  • Museum of the History of Ponce (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • La Guancha (3.2mi/5.2 km)
  • Plaza Las Delicias (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Melia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Melia Rooms

Standard Interior Full
Cozy single bed for up to two guests, located in the centenary building. Ideal for groups, businessmen or a venturous backpacker, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and free Wi-Fi access
Standard Interior Queen
Cozy single bed for up to two guests facing the interior patio. Ideal for groups, businessmen or a venturous backpacker, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and free Wi-Fi access
Centenary King
Luxurious and comfortable king size bed, for up to two guests in the centenary building, ideal for couples who enjoy the view of the picturesque Fire House Museum and historic archuitecture. Recently renovated and decorated with the exclusive collection of Puerto Rican world-recognized artist, Antonio Martorell.
Centenary Queen
Luxurious and comfortable queen size bed, for up to two guests in the centenary building, ideal for couples who enjoy the view of the picturesque Fire House Museum and historic archuitecture. Recently renovated and decorated with the exclusive collection of Puerto Rican world-recognized artist, Antonio Martorell.
Superior Double Queen
Comfortable and spacious double queen size beds for up to four guests. Ideal for families and groups who enjoy the City View from the comfort of their balcony facing the main square; furnished, satellite tv, A/C, and Wi-Fi access
Superior Plaza View
Comfortable and spacious king size bed for up to two guests. Ideal for families and groups who enjoy the City View from the comfort of their balcony facing the main square; furnished, satellite tv, A/C, and Wi-Fi access
Standard Interior Double
Comfortable double full size beds for up to four guests. Ideal for families and groups, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and Wi-Fi access
Standard Interior King
Cozy single bed for up to two guests facing the interior patio. Ideal for groups, businessmen or a venturous backpacker, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and free Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Mocha Coffee Bar and Bistro
Open daily 7AM-4PMWed.-Sat. 7AM-11PMServes breakfast, brunch, lunch, appetizers, coffee and cocktails.By outdoor pool, room service available.
Panorama Sky Lounge
Wed.-Sat. 6PM-12MNInternational Cuisine, serves appetizers and cocktails in Rooftop Terrace with Panoramic City View

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Melia has 4 conference rooms with capacity from 12 to 75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity from 50 to 150 persons and nearby other important venues.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Melia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 35
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nick A
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Good location, Average Hotel

Hotel Melia is clearly a hotel which is beyond its prime. The rooms have not been renovated since opening, and the vents in the ceiling clearly had not been cleaned in a while. There's not much in the room in terms of amenities, other than a phone and a non-flat screen TV. In our initial room, the A/C was very loud, and we could hear the singing from the lounge on the top floor until 12:30 am. We asked for a change of rooms, to get somewhere quieter, and though the hotel staff complied, the room we got was a windowless dark room in the back of the hotel which was in worse condition than our original room. It was quiet, however, so we were able to sleep. On the plus side, the hotel is extremely well situated, and all of Ponce's historical sites were within easy walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hector N.
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Family Trip

The room was small, but it serve the purpose. Great location, in the Center of Ponce

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trotamundosgirl
Business
Puerto Rico
Dec 1, 2014

Good location

Stayed for one night after a day trip to Caja de Muerto. I requested a room in front to the Plaza to enjoy the view. A HUGE MISTAKE!!....Loud music from the cars do not allowed me to sleep until 3:30 am. Curtains were dirty needed to be replaced. AC was not working properly, it was kind of hot, no matter the A/C setting. Not impressed with the hotel, nothing comparable to the website photos. Breakfast was very good at the pool cafe. I will give a second chance but in interior rooms (for a short stay).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eli G
Business
Texas
Nov 3, 2014

Stay in Ponce

We stay at this hotel every time we go to PONCE. it has reliable service and is in a great location downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jossi
Business
Trujillo Alto
Jun 24, 2014

excellent

Employees are all excellent, the mens parking expectacular work ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dilarraza
Business
Puerto Rico
May 6, 2014

Strategic location, great architecture and charming ambience

I was looking for a place to sleep only one night to rest after a long day exploring Ponce and surrounding municipalities. This hotel capture my attention because its history and also the affordable price. Staying in the Melia allowed me to explore the town of Ponce without the need to drive my car. The hotel offers affordable and accessible parking. Once you paid the parking fee you can go in and out whenever you want in the day as long as you keep the ticket. Rooms are clean and have the basics. Pool area and cafe are nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Research with locals or the internet restaurants of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gjsuarez
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2014

Irregular charge for room upgrade

We booked a room for USD 92. We asked for a bigger one and we agreed to pay USD 117 total, but in the check out they charge USD 44 instead USD 25 with not received or explanation. We paid because we were in a rush

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the main “Plaza” one block away, It is so beautiful old buildings

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Police
Business
Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Apr 20, 2014

Good for the price!

Exellent location for business, in the center the town, Catholic church a cross the streets, and city hall to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marijane
Business
Limerick, PA 19468, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Charming - Great Location - but needs updating

The hotel is definitely charming - but a bit shabby. The staff was very considerate - but the rooms are small and very outdated. The rooftop garden where continental breakfast was served, was lovely. The location was excellent - we could walk wherever we desired in Ponce. If you're up for some adventure and can look past the shortcomings of this charming old building you would enjoy your stay. I would only recommend this to someone who is able to do that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Del Valle
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 28, 2011

BROKEN ELEVATOR

The Hotel is in great shape for it's age. It was immaculately cleaned and in very goos repair. On arrival the night desk manager apologized for the fact that the elevator had "just broken but that out rooms were in floors one and two. We later found out from a chambermaid that the elevator had been broken SEVERAL WEEKS. As courtesy to my mother I let her have the 1st foor room and I took the other. Well in these old biuldings, the stairways are long and winding. Having had 6 knee surgeries, the climb was far from comfortable. In the morning, for the free continental breakfast, we had to climb to the 4th floor. The breakfast was adequate with cereal, wonderful local pastries and cofee, milk and orange juice. If you have trouble walking or require a wheelchair, call and check the status of the elevator. After all, being a native of Puerto Rico, I know how slow things move during the holidays; which for us are from the day after Thangsgiving to the END of January!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top