$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Melia

3 stars
View map of Calle Cristina #75, Ponce, 00733

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
35 reviews
road trip

Awesome place. Staff was super friendly and informative. Cool layout with center courtyard and room... See full review

  • ponce
  • Jan 20, 2015
Family Trip

The room was small, but it serve the purpose. Great location, in the Center of Ponce See full review

  • Hector N.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Intimate, old-world property in the heart of Ponce's historic district
Across from Plaza Las Delicias and the Firehouse Museum, Melia Hotel affords direct access to Ponce's historical district and institutions. Guests can catch trolley tours near the hotel or simply walk to the well-known landmarks such as the Museum of the History of Ponce and Serralles Castle. The property itself showcases an elegant, wood-paneled lobby and comfortable rooms fitted with cable TV and views of the patio and imperial buildings.
  • Across from the Firehouse Museum and Plaza Las Delicias in Ponce's historic district
  • Colonial-inspired furniture and architecture
  • Family-managed and owned for decades
  • Outdoor pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Hotel rooms reflect the traditional touches of the rest of the property, from wood furniture to gilded frames. Striped bedding in navy blue and gold also boast a floral pattern, an elegant accent that coordinates with upholstered dining chairs. In some rooms, big picture windows reveal the hotel's greatest quality: its proximity to Plaza Las Delicias, which faces the building. Each room comes with cable TV, a hair dryer and ironing board. 
Melia Hotel guests looking to explore the rich history of Ponce will find some of the city's most famous landmarks within walking distance. Facing Plaza Las Delicias, the boutique hotel brims with old-world appeal driven by archways, chandeliers, intricate tile and stately columns and a patio with lush landscaping.

The property is also close to the Museum of the History of Ponce, Serralles Castle and the Municipal Government of the city of Ponce. Visitors can catch free trolley tours to learn more about the city's deep history. An on-site restaurant and private pool, where a waterfall trickles from a stone wall, round out the offerings.
  • Mercedita Airport (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Museo de Arte de Ponce (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • El Museo Castillo Serralles (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Hacienda Buena Vista (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cruz del Vigia (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Parque de Bombas (3.2mi/5.2 km)
  • Museum of the History of Ponce (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • La Guancha (3.2mi/5.2 km)
  • Plaza Las Delicias (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Melia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Melia Rooms

Standard Interior Full
Cozy single bed for up to two guests, located in the centenary building. Ideal for groups, businessmen or a venturous backpacker, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and free Wi-Fi access
Standard Interior Queen
Cozy single bed for up to two guests facing the interior patio. Ideal for groups, businessmen or a venturous backpacker, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and free Wi-Fi access
Centenary King
Luxurious and comfortable king size bed, for up to two guests in the centenary building, ideal for couples who enjoy the view of the picturesque Fire House Museum and historic archuitecture. Recently renovated and decorated with the exclusive collection of Puerto Rican world-recognized artist, Antonio Martorell.
Centenary Queen
Luxurious and comfortable queen size bed, for up to two guests in the centenary building, ideal for couples who enjoy the view of the picturesque Fire House Museum and historic archuitecture. Recently renovated and decorated with the exclusive collection of Puerto Rican world-recognized artist, Antonio Martorell.
Superior Double Queen
Comfortable and spacious double queen size beds for up to four guests. Ideal for families and groups who enjoy the City View from the comfort of their balcony facing the main square; furnished, satellite tv, A/C, and Wi-Fi access
Superior Plaza View
Comfortable and spacious king size bed for up to two guests. Ideal for families and groups who enjoy the City View from the comfort of their balcony facing the main square; furnished, satellite tv, A/C, and Wi-Fi access
Standard Interior Double
Comfortable double full size beds for up to four guests. Ideal for families and groups, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and Wi-Fi access
Standard Interior King
Cozy single bed for up to two guests facing the interior patio. Ideal for groups, businessmen or a venturous backpacker, equipped with all the essentials: furnished, satellite tv, A/C and free Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Night club
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Melia has 4 conference rooms with capacity from 12 to 75 persons, 2 venues for special activities with capacity from 50 to 150 persons and nearby other important venues.

Dining

Mocha Coffee Bar and Bistro
Open daily 7AM-4PMWed.-Sat. 7AM-11PMServes breakfast, brunch, lunch, appetizers, coffee and cocktails.By outdoor pool, room service available.
Panorama Sky Lounge
Wed.-Sat. 6PM-12MNInternational Cuisine, serves appetizers and cocktails in Rooftop Terrace with Panoramic City View

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Melia

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cassandra smith
Business
San Diego ca
Apr 6, 2014

flooded toilet

So we walk into a charming old hotel lobby. Its 2:45 and our room has not been cleaned. So we have to wait fifteen minutes or so with no apologies. Get to our room and it's old. I mean blue tub toilet and sink. Wall paper behind the bed old. That night my husband uses the toiletbefore bed. Obviously you have to jingle the handle three times, because our toilet over flows in the night. We wake up to floor completely covered in toilet water. I call the front desk and a man tells me there is no handy man available. Um can you bring us more towels! That was not offered. I was told I could come down in the morning to get them. Well thank you!! So when my husband goes down there, there are no towels ready for us. So HE has to track down the cleaning woman on the end of first floor. REALLY!!!!!!! What kind of service is this? I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont, usa
Feb 21, 2011

Not great

This is a lovely historical hotel right in the heart of Ponce and if I were compelled to stay in Ponce center it probably represents the best choice. Having said that, if I revisited Ponce I would choose something newer away from the city. There was some confusion about our booking through [...]. While [...]had charged us more than a month earlier, the hotel had no record of the booking. As a result, the hotel did not have a room with two double beds for us to use. After a long wait and a number of phone calls from the desk manager, he eventually found us a room, but it had clearly not been used for a long time. There was a very large (and fortunately dead) roach in the bathtub. Perhaps this is to be expected from such an old hotel in the heart of town, but this one had been sitting there for a long time as there were 'expiration' marks on the tub beneath it. The A/C was loud as hell, the room dark and dingy. We could not wait to get out of there. Perhaps our experience was due to ending up in a dubious room, so we only have that one viewpoint to offer, but overall, it was disappointing. Not an experience I would like to pay to repeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Umsara
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Apr 20, 2014

Easter vacations

It was not what you see in the pictures. It's all photo shop. It's a vey old building. Needs improvements. Although rooms were very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beatriz E
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Oct 17, 2011

Great for one night stay

The hotel is well kept and the staff is very friendly. Perfect location in the center of Ponce. No coffee maker or refrigerator in the room. Ice machine and vending machine in the first floor. They have parking which is $3.00 for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lola's restaurant at the Ramada Inn close by, is excellent for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ifewa
Business
Windhoek, Namibia
Oct 19, 2009

unbeatable location for price

my stay at Melia hotel was one of the best, the staff will always enform me of what is happening around and will always offer to call a taxi cab for me, when i went to the museum, the cross, castel and the board walk..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

i always had local food because i love trying new stuff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MSantanaPerez
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Nov 17, 2014

Needs lot of TLC

The main entrance( which is beautifull) is close and you enter on a side entrance. The lobby lacks the charm this antique hotel should preserve and shows is being a long time they took care of it. The employees don't have name tags, so you have to ask for their name. They are nice and courteous but they look like there is no customer service trainig for them. The place for breakfast is slow and they even ran out of napkins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Sushi restaurant, Okui, next to the hotel. The service is good and the prices are fair for good sushi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DrBillQ
Business
Charleston, SC
Nov 30, 2014

An old hotel that's past its prime

The Hotel Melia in Ponce is long past its prime. It has one ancient (1940 era) elevator, that has room for 2 people or one person plus a luggage cart. The room to which we were assigned was to be blunt, small and decrepit. My wife refused to stay there, and spoke to the front desk, who reassigned us to a renovated room in another wing: a night-and-day difference -- this room had high ceilings, a comfortable bed, a flat-screen TV (all of which were absent in the first room. If you do stay, demand to see the room beforehand, and don't hesitate to ask for another in the new wing if they stick you in the penal colony area. (BTW, apparently they assign travel agency-paying customers to the old wing.) No coffee in room, but got a chit good for two coffees (and another for two drinks) at checkin, so could wander to the back of the hotel and get our morning coffee fix. Convenient to the town square and the Firehouse museum. One luggage cart finally appeared after a long wait. If you read an old review, you'll find mention of an excellent restaurant that used to be here -- but it's been closed for a while. No, we won't go back to the Melia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trotamundosgirl
Business
Puerto Rico
Dec 1, 2014

Good location

Stayed for one night after a day trip to Caja de Muerto. I requested a room in front to the Plaza to enjoy the view. A HUGE MISTAKE!!....Loud music from the cars do not allowed me to sleep until 3:30 am. Curtains were dirty needed to be replaced. AC was not working properly, it was kind of hot, no matter the A/C setting. Not impressed with the hotel, nothing comparable to the website photos. Breakfast was very good at the pool cafe. I will give a second chance but in interior rooms (for a short stay).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gjsuarez
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2014

Irregular charge for room upgrade

We booked a room for USD 92. We asked for a bigger one and we agreed to pay USD 117 total, but in the check out they charge USD 44 instead USD 25 with not received or explanation. We paid because we were in a rush

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the main “Plaza” one block away, It is so beautiful old buildings

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Melia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dilarraza
Business
Puerto Rico
May 6, 2014

Strategic location, great architecture and charming ambience

I was looking for a place to sleep only one night to rest after a long day exploring Ponce and surrounding municipalities. This hotel capture my attention because its history and also the affordable price. Staying in the Melia allowed me to explore the town of Ponce without the need to drive my car. The hotel offers affordable and accessible parking. Once you paid the parking fee you can go in and out whenever you want in the day as long as you keep the ticket. Rooms are clean and have the basics. Pool area and cafe are nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Research with locals or the internet restaurants of the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top