$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

3 stars
View map of 3315 Ponce By Pass, Ponce, 00731

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
33 reviews
Oasis

This is a wonderful retreat hotel. Although it is a little distance from Ponce, the facility itself... See full review

  • mary-girlfriend
  • Feb 9, 2015
awesome

the hotel was awesome!!! truly recommend a must see See full review

  • Edgardo P.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Casino hotel near Ponce attractions lures with happy hour, entertainers

A 24-hour casino with 346 machines and 10 tables tempts budget travelers to the Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, but gambling is not the only diversion at the property. Local seafood and authentic Puerto Rican cuisine nourishes diners at Tanama Restaurant, while live entertainment heats up the resident bar – Barlavista Lounge – come weekends. Tropical touches, free Wi-Fi and balconies are among the comforts inside rooms.

Highlights
  • 24-hour casino with 346 machines and 10 tables
  • Live entertainment at Barlavista Lounge
  • Kids' game room and pool
  • Close to Mercedita Airport and Serralles Castle
  • Fresh seafood and authentic Puerto Rican fare at Tanama Restaurant 
Rooms

Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino creates warm spaces with subtle tropical flair. Neutral-colored bedding, which is triple-sheeted for extra luxury, tops queen or king beds, while palm designs in artwork and pillows lend an island feel. Conveniences such as coffee maker and mini-refrigerator enhance the comfort. A work desk provides a virtual office space for tapping into the free Wi-Fi. A 32-inch flat-screen TV equipped with cable enables visitors to stay connected. Sliding glass doors open to reveal perfect Puerto Rico palm trees.

Dining
Guests at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino savor local seafood and Puerto Rican dishes at Tanama Restaurant whose signature is Mofongo, a fried plantain dish.
Recreation
Gamblers target Holiday inn Ponce & Tropical Casino for its 10 tables and 346 machines. After a round of poker, guests head to Barlavista for the nightly happy hour between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. and live entertainment from Friday to Sunday.
Transportation
  • Mercedita Airport (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte de Ponce (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • El Museo Castillo Serralles (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Hacienda Buena Vista (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Cruz del Vigia (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Parque de Bombas (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Museum of the History of Ponce (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • La Guancha (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services
  • Secretarial services
  • Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Tanama Restaurant
Although the menu is filled with International offerings, the specialty at Tanama is the mofongo. Tanama is a restaurant where they proudly serve their take on International cuisine. As far as service and setting, you can expect the formality to be serve
Pitos Seafood
Fresh seafood specialties
Chilly's Bar & Grill
Chilis serves American food influenced by Tex Mex cuisine.
Dennys Restaurant
Open 24 hours, 5 miles from hotel
Bar la Vista
Bright and spacious, Bar la Vista features minimal decor but manages to still create a welcoming environment to every guest. Serves: Lunch. Hours of operation: Friday & Saturday 11am-4am Sunday thru Thursday 11am -12 am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 33
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mary-girlfriend
Business
Richmond
Feb 9, 2015

Oasis

This is a wonderful retreat hotel. Although it is a little distance from Ponce, the facility itself is excellent. Large comfortable rooms, a great pool, stylish casino,bar, and restaurant.. An oasis after a road trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The city of Ponce is lovely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mamalopes
Business
meriden, ct
Aug 19, 2013

gloria

this hotel is a little dated but always nice to stay at. the view of the ocean from the hill is absolutely beautiful. I would definitely recommend it. I enjoy staying there everytime I visit Ponce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elba the teacher
Business
Ponce, Puerto rico
Apr 9, 2013

Wish for price reduction

It was good but I would have liked a better price, I am a teacher and I got there at 9:00 p.m and left at 7:30 because I was going to a competition. They did not make a good price offer. I stayed because i did not want to drive at 4:00 in the morning, But the hotel was very beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivymike11
Business
Reading, PA
Dec 12, 2012

love Ponce

I took my husband on his 1st PR vacation, I am from Ponce, PR. The 1st night we got to the hotel he went to the casino and won over $700!!!! Have no need to go into the money we brought with us. The room was beautiful, brand new, hotel was getting renovated at the time. The only complain I have is that the cleaning staff was up at 6am cleaning other rooms and vacuuming the hallway and we could not sleep past 6am, so we took advantage anyway and went sightseeing and visited with my family! In all we highly recommend this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk La Guancha, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, historic city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikihamp
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 29, 2012

Vacation in Ponce

The room was average which we expected. The food was amazing and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I enjoyed my stay. We loved this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pitcher Perfect
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Jan 3, 2012

No complaints, Great Value!

I had no complaints what so ever with this hotel. I was actually impressed with this being a Holiday Inn. I stayed here two nights in late December. The room was clean, flat screen tv, with enough English channels, bathroom was nice. I stayed a Sheraton later in my trip in Old San Juan and would say that this hotel was definitely on par with the Sheraton. The hotel was at the top of a hill, but made for a great view. Our room had a tree blocking our view but most rooms I would imagine would have great views. The pool area was huge. My girlfriend and I laid out with fantastic weather one day, not one other person on the pool which was fine by us. Nothing is in walking distance, so best to have a rental car or you will have to cab it. The casino was no Vegas, but had the basics. Wish it had an active poker table, but I read that Hold’em isn’t very big in Puerto Rico, so it wasn’t a big deal. My only complaint was the drink service was very limited, don’t expect to get many drinks, but if you are playing table games and spending a little money I think they are free, least the couple I had were. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Great Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dominicsavga
Business
Richmond Hill GA
Jul 26, 2011

Ponce don't go not worth the money spent

The people were nice, but we regreted leaving San Juan. Really not much to do around Ponce. For the price of the hotel we could have stayed at the Hilton. Disappointed is how I could sum the Ponce trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tal
Business
hemet ca
Jan 15, 2011

Our trip to Ponce

The room was clean and comfortable.The view was great.The food in the dining room was just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 19, 2010

Hubba Hubba - World Class View!

The outstanding view from this summit above Ponce and the Caribbean more than compensates for the hotel's distance from the historic center. You'll need a car and directions to get there (it's not on GPS presently). It's off Toll Road 52, and about 2 miles west (toward Mayaguez) on highway 2. Several excellent restaurants perched on the seaside are nearby via car. And the pool is stunning, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's off Toll Road 52, and about 2 miles west (toward Mayaguez) on highway 2 in the Tuque district southwest of downtown Ponce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Very relaxing weekend

This is the first time we stay in Ponce but we had been in Mayaguez and in St. Thomas V.I. We liked the rooms,the beds are comfortables, the views were very relaxing. The rooms have coffee maker, hair blower, irons,iron board,T.V. with cable, faciliies to get ice and a midnight snack. The hotels have a great location with lots of good restaurants with different ranges of prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

these hotel are close to town so you can find where to go easily to entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top