$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

3 stars
3315 Ponce By Pass, Ponce, 00731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
31 reviews
Fantastic Hotel Staff

Hotel staff is outstanding,everyone is very nice,no complaints See full review

  • Gocesar
  • Oct 15, 2013
Great hotel***+++*

Great hotel for the price++++++++++++++will stay here again in the future See full review

  • Gocesar
  • Sep 29, 2013
Casino hotel near Ponce attractions lures with happy hour, entertainers

A 24-hour casino with 346 machines and 10 tables tempts budget travelers to the Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, but gambling is not the only diversion at the property. Local seafood and authentic Puerto Rican cuisine nourishes diners at Tanama Restaurant, while live entertainment heats up the resident bar – Barlavista Lounge – come weekends. Tropical touches, free Wi-Fi and balconies are among the comforts inside rooms.

Highlights
  • 24-hour casino with 346 machines and 10 tables
  • Live entertainment at Barlavista Lounge
  • Kids' game room and pool
  • Close to Mercedita Airport and Serralles Castle
  • Fresh seafood and authentic Puerto Rican fare at Tanama Restaurant 
Rooms

Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino creates warm spaces with subtle tropical flair. Neutral-colored bedding, which is triple-sheeted for extra luxury, tops queen or king beds, while palm designs in artwork and pillows lend an island feel. Conveniences such as coffee maker and mini-refrigerator enhance the comfort. A work desk provides a virtual office space for tapping into the free Wi-Fi. A 32-inch flat-screen TV equipped with cable enables visitors to stay connected. Sliding glass doors open to reveal perfect Puerto Rico palm trees.

Dining
Guests at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino savor local seafood and Puerto Rican dishes at Tanama Restaurant whose signature is Mofongo, a fried plantain dish.
Recreation
Gamblers target Holiday inn Ponce & Tropical Casino for its 10 tables and 346 machines. After a round of poker, guests head to Barlavista for the nightly happy hour between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. and live entertainment from Friday to Sunday.
Transportation
  • Mercedita Airport (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte de Ponce (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • El Museo Castillo Serralles (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Hacienda Buena Vista (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Cruz del Vigia (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Parque de Bombas (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Museum of the History of Ponce (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • La Guancha (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services
  • Secretarial services
  • Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

18.0194 -66.611
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 80.00, MI, S; Mercedita Airport, (PSE), 12.00, MI, S;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Tanama Restaurant
Although the menu is filled with International offerings, the specialty at Tanama is the mofongo. Tanama is a restaurant where they proudly serve their take on International cuisine. As far as service and setting, you can expect the formality to be serve
Pitos Seafood
Fresh seafood specialties
Chilly's Bar & Grill
Chilis serves American food influenced by Tex Mex cuisine.
Dennys Restaurant
Open 24 hours, 5 miles from hotel
Bar la Vista
Bright and spacious, Bar la Vista features minimal decor but manages to still create a welcoming environment to every guest. Serves: Lunch. Hours of operation: Friday & Saturday 11am-4am Sunday thru Thursday 11am -12 am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 31
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny3030
Bronx, New York
Aug 11, 2014

Great for families with children

I stayed here with my children ages 5 and 11. The pool was great. The kids loved the game room. Staff was great and friendly. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raymito
Guaynabo
May 4, 2014

Excellent Hotel

Wonderfun hotel, very clean and excellent room comfort. I will recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dodas
Chicago
Jan 28, 2014

Great Stay

I used to stay at the Hilton- But you can't compare what you get for the price at the Holiday Inn. Also I prefer the cozy and informal setting. I feel at home. I will stay at the Ponce Holiday Inn when in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JudyG.
Paterson, New Jersey
Sep 1, 2012

Great time!!!

Hotel cleanliness and hotel staff were great! The olny thing the room had an old mildew smell, I would suggest maybe air freshers. The pictures do nothing for the pool, it goes from 3 to 10 feet which is great. I would stay here again...Now the hotel Tropical Casino which runs separately security were NASTY AND RUDE...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heroe
PR
Aug 27, 2012

Relax Time

Excelent for relax time. We have a storm but the city is beautiful and have some Spain History

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRbaby
Queens, NY
Jun 8, 2011

Loved It!

The hotel was beautiful. The staff was very nice. Everything was very clean and the room was very comfortable. Great place to stay with a beautiful view of the ocean. My 14 year old enjoyed the pool and the chicken fettucine alfredo. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cruz Adventures
Boston, MA
Apr 3, 2011

Family vacation

Our family and I go on a yearly trip to Puerto Rico to do some siteseeing and enjoy the beautiful warm weather. Our hotel stay was excellent and we are planning to stay at that hotel again. Everything was great including the casino. The only drawback was the fitness area which was very small with no free weights to workout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is a short drive to most attractions around Ponce. La Guancha (Boardwalk) is ten to fifteen minutes away. This place is very popular among the locals and a great tourists attractions. It is a good day trip to do. There are many great things to do in Ponce like the ferry to Caja de Muertos or a trolley tour in the Downtown Ponce or Ponce Centro. I feel two days in Ponce should be fine.

Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shahrdad
Pittsburgh
Aug 17, 2010

fantastic

Nice Place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
millo
NC
Jul 18, 2009

Excellent

Excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 9, 2007

Would stay there again.

My visit at the Holiday Inn, Ponce was great. I love the location. The view is lovely. The pool area was very comfortable. I would stay there again. The only problem I had while there was that due to the fact that the tv's are very old, the one in my room blew out and started smoking a bit. I called the front desk and someone came to attend to the problem immediately. He told me that since they are renovating they will replace all those old tv sets in the near future. Other than that I really enjoyed my stay there. I really loved my view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is not much around the area. Most you have to do some driving. Which I did not mind because I love to drive on the island over there.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search