$100 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

3 stars
3315 Ponce By Pass, Ponce, 00731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
31 reviews
Fantastic Hotel Staff

Hotel staff is outstanding,everyone is very nice,no complaints See full review

  • Gocesar
  • Oct 15, 2013
Great hotel***+++*

Great hotel for the price++++++++++++++will stay here again in the future See full review

  • Gocesar
  • Sep 29, 2013
Casino hotel near Ponce attractions lures with happy hour, entertainers

A 24-hour casino with 346 machines and 10 tables tempts budget travelers to the Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino, but gambling is not the only diversion at the property. Local seafood and authentic Puerto Rican cuisine nourishes diners at Tanama Restaurant, while live entertainment heats up the resident bar – Barlavista Lounge – come weekends. Tropical touches, free Wi-Fi and balconies are among the comforts inside rooms.

Highlights
  • 24-hour casino with 346 machines and 10 tables
  • Live entertainment at Barlavista Lounge
  • Kids' game room and pool
  • Close to Mercedita Airport and Serralles Castle
  • Fresh seafood and authentic Puerto Rican fare at Tanama Restaurant 
Rooms

Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino creates warm spaces with subtle tropical flair. Neutral-colored bedding, which is triple-sheeted for extra luxury, tops queen or king beds, while palm designs in artwork and pillows lend an island feel. Conveniences such as coffee maker and mini-refrigerator enhance the comfort. A work desk provides a virtual office space for tapping into the free Wi-Fi. A 32-inch flat-screen TV equipped with cable enables visitors to stay connected. Sliding glass doors open to reveal perfect Puerto Rico palm trees.

Dining
Guests at Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino savor local seafood and Puerto Rican dishes at Tanama Restaurant whose signature is Mofongo, a fried plantain dish.
Recreation
Gamblers target Holiday inn Ponce & Tropical Casino for its 10 tables and 346 machines. After a round of poker, guests head to Barlavista for the nightly happy hour between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. and live entertainment from Friday to Sunday.
Transportation
  • Mercedita Airport (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Attractions
  • Museo de Arte de Ponce (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • El Museo Castillo Serralles (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Hacienda Buena Vista (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Cruz del Vigia (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Parque de Bombas (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Museum of the History of Ponce (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • La Guancha (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Copy and fax services
  • Secretarial services
  • Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

18.0194 -66.611
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 80.00, MI; Mercedita Airport, (PSE), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Tanama Restaurant
Although the menu is filled with International offerings, the specialty at Tanama is the mofongo. Tanama is a restaurant where they proudly serve their take on International cuisine. As far as service and setting, you can expect the formality to be serve
Pitos Seafood
Fresh seafood specialties
Chilly's Bar & Grill
Chilis serves American food influenced by Tex Mex cuisine.
Dennys Restaurant
Open 24 hours, 5 miles from hotel
Bar la Vista
Bright and spacious, Bar la Vista features minimal decor but manages to still create a welcoming environment to every guest. Serves: Lunch. Hours of operation: Friday & Saturday 11am-4am Sunday thru Thursday 11am -12 am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikihamp
Queens, NY
Aug 29, 2012

Vacation in Ponce

The room was average which we expected. The food was amazing and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I enjoyed my stay. We loved this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ivymike11
Business
Reading, PA
Dec 12, 2012

love Ponce

I took my husband on his 1st PR vacation, I am from Ponce, PR. The 1st night we got to the hotel he went to the casino and won over $700!!!! Have no need to go into the money we brought with us. The room was beautiful, brand new, hotel was getting renovated at the time. The only complain I have is that the cleaning staff was up at 6am cleaning other rooms and vacuuming the hallway and we could not sleep past 6am, so we took advantage anyway and went sightseeing and visited with my family! In all we highly recommend this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Boardwalk La Guancha, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, historic city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandra P
Business
San Antonio, TX
Dec 1, 2012

More than I expected!!

A very very very nice hotel with great staff. Very clean hotel and room. The room is large. The pool is gorgeous, the Bar atmosphere very nice with live music. The Mojito"s are great as well as the Long Island Ice Tea. The casino was alright but then again I am spoiled from too many Vegas vacations and use to playing slot machines that that require thinking like Black Jack or Poker...there are none like that here. Overall I definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely come back again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I got a case of water and snacks at the Walgreen's to keep my spending low at the hotel. The restaurant prices are a bit high. I ate at a sandwich shop called El Meson...had the "Cubano"...it was delicious and under $6!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JudyG.
Business
Paterson, New Jersey
Sep 1, 2012

Great time!!!

Hotel cleanliness and hotel staff were great! The olny thing the room had an old mildew smell, I would suggest maybe air freshers. The pictures do nothing for the pool, it goes from 3 to 10 feet which is great. I would stay here again...Now the hotel Tropical Casino which runs separately security were NASTY AND RUDE...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikihamp
Business
Queens, NY
Aug 29, 2012

Vacation in Ponce

The room was average which we expected. The food was amazing and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. I enjoyed my stay. We loved this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heroe
Business
PR
Aug 27, 2012

Relax Time

Excelent for relax time. We have a storm but the city is beautiful and have some Spain History

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sedecmarq
Business
Hatillo,PR
Jun 19, 2012

Relax&Comfort

Relax Getaway at a good price. Great facilities, nice swimming pool. Good Service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pitcher Perfect
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Jan 3, 2012

No complaints, Great Value!

I had no complaints what so ever with this hotel. I was actually impressed with this being a Holiday Inn. I stayed here two nights in late December. The room was clean, flat screen tv, with enough English channels, bathroom was nice. I stayed a Sheraton later in my trip in Old San Juan and would say that this hotel was definitely on par with the Sheraton. The hotel was at the top of a hill, but made for a great view. Our room had a tree blocking our view but most rooms I would imagine would have great views. The pool area was huge. My girlfriend and I laid out with fantastic weather one day, not one other person on the pool which was fine by us. Nothing is in walking distance, so best to have a rental car or you will have to cab it. The casino was no Vegas, but had the basics. Wish it had an active poker table, but I read that Hold’em isn’t very big in Puerto Rico, so it wasn’t a big deal. My only complaint was the drink service was very limited, don’t expect to get many drinks, but if you are playing table games and spending a little money I think they are free, least the couple I had were. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Great Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dominicsavga
Business
Richmond Hill GA
Jul 26, 2011

Ponce don't go not worth the money spent

The people were nice, but we regreted leaving San Juan. Really not much to do around Ponce. For the price of the hotel we could have stayed at the Hilton. Disappointed is how I could sum the Ponce trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PRbaby
Business
Queens, NY
Jun 8, 2011

Loved It!

The hotel was beautiful. The staff was very nice. Everything was very clean and the room was very comfortable. Great place to stay with a beautiful view of the ocean. My 14 year old enjoyed the pool and the chicken fettucine alfredo. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PONCE & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yaikaika
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 4, 2011

Nice and Confortable!

Confortable and clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top