$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2015 Check-out: Sep 19, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

2 stars
View map of Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este, Mayaguez, 00680

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
40 reviews
Very good for a conference weekend

I like the hotel the only thing that is annoying is the Catholic church bells. But also we left a... See full review

  • Maytee C.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Nice place!!

Perfect location in the downtown Party all weekend!! See full review

  • Oquendo45
  • Sep 13, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn, a converted monastery located next to the main cathedral on Plaza Colon in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico, features tile floors and walkways, superb views from the open walkways, and numerous amenities. Guests at this historic landmark enjoy a small heated outdoor pool, complimentary Internet access, and restaurant.

Rooms

All of the accommodations feature a 32-inch LCD cable television with multiple channels including HBO, air conditioning, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, free high-speed Internet access, and coffeemaker with Puerto Rican coffee.

Property features

The hotel, located at the corner of the impressive Spanish-style Plaza Colon, a tribute to Christopher Columbus, provides convenient access to the historic Yaguez Theater and many restaurants. Mayaguez is also home to the only zoo on the island.

 

Guests unwind by hitting the pool or going for a workout in the fitness center. The new restaurant, Stoas, offers a complimentary continental breakfast for two, lunch options, and a great selection of wines, with more than 150 different labels.

Highlights

  • Historic landmark near Plaza Colon
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Heated outdoor pool

Nearby attractions

  • Rincon (14.7 mi/23.7 km)
  • Mayaguez Zoo (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Business

  • Meeting space for 55 people
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Transportation

  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (101.9 mi/164 km)
  • Aguadilla Borinquen Airport (22.7 mi/36.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR also booked these hotels.

★★★
$92
4.1 / 5 40 reviews
★★★
$137
3.8 / 5 92 reviews
★★★
$133
3.5 / 5 13 reviews
★★★
$134
4.1 / 5 18 reviews
★★★
$124
3.6 / 5 95 reviews
★★
$83
3.9 / 5 30 reviews
★★★
$131
4.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$145
4.0 / 5 38 reviews
★★★
$107
3.5 / 5 4 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lily mary
Family
Hatillo, Puerto Rico
Nov 27, 2011

excellecent to rest or business

perfect by the price, small but comfort and 20 min from excellent beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edwin G.
Family
Manorville
Aug 4, 2015

Emergency trip for a funeral

I've stayed here before I wasnt happy that I had to pay $8.00 plus for parking also the continental brakfast was a disaster both times I've stayed here the coffe is cold the bagels were still frozen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maytee C.
Business
HUMACAO
Apr 18, 2015

Very good for a conference weekend

I like the hotel the only thing that is annoying is the Catholic church bells. But also we left a pair of shoes in the room and asked later for them and they where not found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
samuel
Single
edison
Mar 4, 2015

not like the pictures

The hotel was not what I expected at all. The pictures made it look nice and you have to pay for parking in a lot across the street. I only used it to sleep and shower it was OK for that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josamar
Family
Orlando, FL
Nov 23, 2014

One Night Stay

We stayed here one night only as a stop on a road trip. The staff were very helpful. Our room was ready and waiting for us. We loved the antique touches left from being a monastery. Parking is not onsite, but at a parking lot up the street. However we were given plenty of time to unload our luggage and take it to our room parked out front. I read about views of a courtyard from the rooms, but not all rooms evidently because ours did not. Breakfast included a big pot of cream of wheat that was a treat. I would have liked hot water and tea bags included since I'm not a coffee drinker. Also surprised there was no juice, just a fruit punch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oquendo45
Friends
Winchester VA
Sep 13, 2014

Nice place!!

Perfect location in the downtown Party all weekend!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NicAlexandra
Couples
United States
Aug 11, 2014

Better Than Expected!

Staff was super friendly! The cafe was great to have in the lobby. Good wine and pasta. Location was great, right next to the town square. Cathedral bells chime a bit too early and you can hear them from your room unfortunately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hector Noel
Family
Canóvanas, Puerto Rico
Jul 1, 2014

Family Vacation

The overall experience was good. In my opinion, the hotel needs to improve customer service to become more attractive, improving the conditions of the rooms (offering coffee maker, but no power to connect it). For the rest is good and could staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andres Rafael
Business
Guaynabo
Jun 28, 2014

Business trip

Centrally located with good staff and excellent value for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ElValenz
Business
Guaynabo, PR
Jun 10, 2014

Easy Access

I choose this hotel for my business trips since the parking is next to most clients I call on. Clean and comfortable for what i need. I preffer rooma in the new section of the hotel since they are more modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gandhi9
Business
Corozal, Puerto Rico
Dec 12, 2013

Work Time

Fantastic. The pool, bar and staff are good. I will recomed this hotel to everyone. I stay for work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top