$96 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

3 stars
2701 Hwy. 2, Mayaguez, 00680-6328
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
33 reviews
Good

Comfortable weekend. Close to interesting places. In front of a highway, but beautifully quiet See full review

  • Joraljim
  • Aug 12, 2014
Excellent family weekend

The weekend was fantastic. We enjoy in family. The services in the room was excellent and the... See full review

  • Los Friebus
  • Apr 22, 2014
Affordable lodging on the coast in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico

Holiday Inn Mayaguez and El Tropical Casino, conveniently situated in Mayaguez, provides easy access to the best attractions of Porta Del Sol. Leisure travelers head to Mayaguez for its proximity to attractions like the Dr. Juan A. Rivero Zoo and the beaches of Boqueron and Rincon, world renowned for its surfing. Business travelers appreciate the spacious boardrooms and ballroom that seat up to 250 people.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
  • Large casino
Rooms

All rooms include one king or two double beds, private shower and tub, microwave, coffee maker, free high-speed wireless Internet access, hair dryer, and cable television with in-room movies.

Features

Guests relax and recharge at the outdoor pool, children's pool, or fitness center. For dining Holly's Cafe offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner, featuring a zesty blend of Caribbean and International cuisine. Nearby restaurants include Ponderosa, El Estoril, and the Italian food at Capriccio Restaurant. At night guests can head to the El Tropical Casino.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (99.4 mi/160 km)
  • Aguadilla Borinquen Airport (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Rincon (18.5 mi/11.5 km)
  • Mayaguez Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • 1,188 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Hollys' Cafe Restaurant
Hollys Cafe Restaurant Delight your palate with the authentic Caribbean and International cuisine from Holly's Cafe. The tempting menu features island flavors, and offers dishes like Hollys Mofongo, mashed plantains stuffed with shrimp, diversity cuts of
Tony's Restaurant ,Seafood
Fresh seafood and International menu
Capriccio Restaurant , Italian cuisine
Best Italian food in the area
Gonzalez Seafood
Local and corporate favorite for seafood
Fat Tuesday a Daiquiri Bar
New Orleans style come and enjoy 10 exotics daiquiris flavors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lkntraveller
Business
Charlotte, NC
Feb 20, 2010

NOT for business travellers

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Mayaguez numerous times over the last 15 months as they have given my client corporate rates. It appears they have invested in facility improvements over the last year; the appearance of the lobby and the rooms has improved. Unfortunately other changes are all negative - loud music in the elevators, key cards that did't work (multiple times), no executive breakfast room on the sixth floor, resistance to provide continental breakfast passes for long-time corporate clients, awful dinner meal in the restaurant, Holly's (one salad the first night was enough to make sure I ate elsewhere the remainder of the week), and very loud construction in the new bar at 5:30 pm. To finish off the week, the hotel attempted to charge me double at checkout, ignoring the prepayment which I had confirmed at the time of check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Laissez Faire and Maison l'Espanol in Mayaguez and the great outdoor seafood restaurants in Rincon to the northwest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elsie boricua hasta el coqui
Business
new york city
Aug 3, 2011

the good the bad and the ugly

overall, very well.did not like the idea that we did not have a small refrigerator in the room. the rooms well clean and some of the staff, very pleasant. however,with the volume of people the come and go in this hotel, it was very shocking to me that they did have a first aid kit, but with no supplies in it. it so happen that my sister whom was staying in the hotel with me, is diabetic. just the day before we were leaving, she scratched her arm with the frame of the entrance door to the room. i went to the front desk to ask for anything to stop the bleeding and they could not help her because their first aid kit was empty,except for some alcohol pads. i was shocked at their lack of concern because they didn't even take a look at the scratch. we had to drive just about 2 miles to walgreens to get some bandages. for the lack of attention and concern, i give this hotel a rating of 2. stayed there from7/18-25th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just call me angel
Business
Ontario, Canada
Mar 20, 2012

going back to my place of birth

Excellent facilities and very comfortable room. Location was very good and easy to find - Swimming pool was very nice and the restuarant food (breakfast) was very good and very friendly staff at hotel and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

music in the lounge and close to other interesting places like shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robsky
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Aug 22, 2013

comfortable stay

Clean, comfortable room, nice, friendly staff. Not much of a view. Swimming pool not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The casino is really cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gilbesa
Business
Puerto Rico
Dec 11, 2010

Its OKAY!

Just stay for one night, first room they gave me had a strong humidity smell, told them and the staff were really friendly, change my room, the new room was clean, no bad smell, quiet, overall was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall walking distance, have a few food places, Apples bees, KFC, POnderosa, and a few more. Cinemas right there too and Kmart. Really good Area to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, ny
Jul 14, 2009

Great Family Vacation

Our hotel stay was great rooms were clean everyday,staff were very nice and hospitable, excellent service, we enjoyed the casino and specially the pool. I think our stay wouldve been better if rooms had microwaves and small refrigerators. The food in the restaurant was a little pricey we had to go out to eat fast foods. There are also great malls close by overall we had a great time would love to come again!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aleisel
Business
Mayagüez, Puerto Rico
Aug 29, 2011

Good for the price

Check in was fast. Bedroom was clean and bathroom also. The are computers right in the hallway of our floor. Will stay next time I visit mayaguez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a Fat Tuesday right inside of the hotel for those of you who would enjoy a night full of party

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cidra, PR
Mar 6, 2011

Our Experience

Our experience was ok except for the air condition noise, too high. We call front desk and they moves us to another room. The air condition sound was not perfect (silent) in the new room but we make a decision to stay in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 14, 2009

nice,but could improve

it was pretty good, but it needed a small refrigerator and a microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the casino was very crowded, and there were just a few seats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edwin[@]
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 4, 2011

"Great time in Mayaguez"

Our stay at the Mayaguez Holiday Inn was great! We had a chance to go to the zoo and bowling thw same day and found many places for breakfast and dinner minutes away! The city had many historic places to visit. I am definately considering returning to Mayaguez and staying in the Holidayy Inn the employees made it a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoo, bowling and historic site seeing and beaches very close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top