$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

3 stars
View map of 2701 Hwy. 2, Mayaguez, 00680-6328

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
36 reviews
i stay for a litter vacation and dougther university transfer for summers

It's was a great expetience! Near to the university. See full review

  • tere
  • Jan 23, 2015
Great experience

Great trip nice hotel near great beaches very clean will definitely return and recommend See full review

  • JOSEPHINE N.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Affordable lodging on the coast in Mayaguez, Puerto Rico

Holiday Inn Mayaguez and El Tropical Casino, conveniently situated in Mayaguez, provides easy access to the best attractions of Porta Del Sol. Leisure travelers head to Mayaguez for its proximity to attractions like the Dr. Juan A. Rivero Zoo and the beaches of Boqueron and Rincon, world renowned for its surfing. Business travelers appreciate the spacious boardrooms and ballroom that seat up to 250 people.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Outdoor pool and fitness center
  • Large casino
Rooms

All rooms include one king or two double beds, private shower and tub, microwave, coffee maker, free high-speed wireless Internet access, hair dryer, and cable television with in-room movies.

Features

Guests relax and recharge at the outdoor pool, children's pool, or fitness center. For dining Holly's Cafe offers breakfast, lunch, and dinner, featuring a zesty blend of Caribbean and International cuisine. Nearby restaurants include Ponderosa, El Estoril, and the Italian food at Capriccio Restaurant. At night guests can head to the El Tropical Casino.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (99.4 mi/160 km)
  • Aguadilla Borinquen Airport (22.5 mi/36.2 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Rincon (18.5 mi/11.5 km)
  • Mayaguez Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Business
  • 1,188 square feet of meeting space
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Casino
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Overhead projector
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Hollys' Cafe Restaurant
Hollys Cafe Restaurant Delight your palate with the authentic Caribbean and International cuisine from Holly's Cafe. The tempting menu features island flavors, and offers dishes like Hollys Mofongo, mashed plantains stuffed with shrimp, diversity cuts of
Tony's Restaurant ,Seafood
Fresh seafood and International menu
Capriccio Restaurant , Italian cuisine
Best Italian food in the area
Gonzalez Seafood
Local and corporate favorite for seafood
Fat Tuesday a Daiquiri Bar
New Orleans style come and enjoy 10 exotics daiquiris flavors.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ralph666
Business
San Juan, PR
Oct 2, 2012

I will come back

Very friendly staff, comfortable beds and pillows, very clean room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just call me angel
Business
Ontario, Canada
Mar 20, 2012

going back to my place of birth

Excellent facilities and very comfortable room. Location was very good and easy to find - Swimming pool was very nice and the restuarant food (breakfast) was very good and very friendly staff at hotel and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

music in the lounge and close to other interesting places like shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Di
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Weekend Getaway

Hotel was clean, staff was very friendly and the location was ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dulyn
Business
Juana Diaz, Puerto Rico
Dec 28, 2011

Good for Family meeting.

A good experience. The staff is very sweet and the service is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MILLIECHINA
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Oct 9, 2011

NICE FAMILY VACATION

NICE , CLEAN , AND SECURITY EMPLOYEES GREAT! THE CASINO AREA SHOULD BE A BIT MORE UPDATED !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anikan
Business
ga
Oct 1, 2011

A pleasent week

Hotel is very good, excepted some times the room smell like mood or is the air condition, the parking that is another problem, because of the casino ,you not fine parking, they need to fix that, separated the guest parking, from the not quest...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aleisel
Business
Mayagüez, Puerto Rico
Aug 29, 2011

Good for the price

Check in was fast. Bedroom was clean and bathroom also. The are computers right in the hallway of our floor. Will stay next time I visit mayaguez.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There is a Fat Tuesday right inside of the hotel for those of you who would enjoy a night full of party

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
elsie boricua hasta el coqui
Business
new york city
Aug 3, 2011

the good the bad and the ugly

overall, very well.did not like the idea that we did not have a small refrigerator in the room. the rooms well clean and some of the staff, very pleasant. however,with the volume of people the come and go in this hotel, it was very shocking to me that they did have a first aid kit, but with no supplies in it. it so happen that my sister whom was staying in the hotel with me, is diabetic. just the day before we were leaving, she scratched her arm with the frame of the entrance door to the room. i went to the front desk to ask for anything to stop the bleeding and they could not help her because their first aid kit was empty,except for some alcohol pads. i was shocked at their lack of concern because they didn't even take a look at the scratch. we had to drive just about 2 miles to walgreens to get some bandages. for the lack of attention and concern, i give this hotel a rating of 2. stayed there from7/18-25th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cidra, PR
Mar 6, 2011

Our Experience

Our experience was ok except for the air condition noise, too high. We call front desk and they moves us to another room. The air condition sound was not perfect (silent) in the new room but we make a decision to stay in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn MAYAGUEZ & TROPICAL CASINO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edwin[@]
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 4, 2011

"Great time in Mayaguez"

Our stay at the Mayaguez Holiday Inn was great! We had a chance to go to the zoo and bowling thw same day and found many places for breakfast and dinner minutes away! The city had many historic places to visit. I am definately considering returning to Mayaguez and staying in the Holidayy Inn the employees made it a great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoo, bowling and historic site seeing and beaches very close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top