$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Copamarina Beach Resort

3 stars
Route 333, Km 6 .5, Guanica, 00653
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
48 reviews
Nice relaxing place!

Very nice place to stay a few days. I know we will be back! It might not be a five star super... See full review

  • Leocostazul
  • Aug 30, 2014
My Family Vacation

The hotel is located in a beautiful quiet town, i called it a hidden jewel. What i loved the most... See full review

  • Miss Dayssy's mom
  • Apr 28, 2014
Resort and Spa on the beach in Guanica

Copamarina Beach Resort and Spa, tucked away in the seaside town of Guanica, on Puerto Rico's undiscovered southwestern coast, features 20 acres of tropical, landscaped grounds and a beach more than half a mile long. This is Puerto Rico far from the glitz and the casinos in San Juan. The resort boasts fine dining with award-winning Caribbean recipes, fabulous diving, swimming pools, full-service spa, and gym.

Highlights
  • Beachfront property in quiet island location
  • Drinks and food included in price
  • Full-service spa
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Dive program
Rooms

Each of the 106 guest rooms, suites, and villas has a spacious balcony or patio with views of the gardens and the blue waters of the Caribbean. Rooms, decorated in a Caribbean style, include air conditioning, cable television, mini-refrigerator, in-room safe, ample closet space, hairdryer, and coffeemaker.

Features

Copamarina offers something for everyone -- perfect weather for sunbathing, beach activities, water sports, nature walks, spa treatments, wonderful food, and tropical drinks.

 

Amenities include two acclaimed restaurants, two swimming pools, the full-service Bioderm Spa, Cybex-equipped gym, game room, and a host of available tours and activities.

 

Guests also enjoy convenient access to one of the Caribbean's best-known dive sites. The area, largely unexplored, means every dive has the potential to be a unique underwater adventure. The resort's dive program, Dive Copamarina, caters to divers of all levels, from snorkelers to certified dive professionals. Guests can even earn PADI dive certification during their stay.

Transportation
  • San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (100.6 mi/162 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Old San Juan (101.3 mi/163 km)
  • Guanica Forest (1.9 mi/3.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Copamarina Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Copamarina Beach Resort Rooms

Deluxe Ocean View
Standard Room with balcony or terrace and view of the Caribbean Sea. Equipped with air condition, mini refrigerators, TV, coffee makers, Internet access, safe.
Deluxe Garden View
Standard and oversized rooms with terrace and views of the Caribbean Sea. Equipped with air condition, mini refrigerators, TV, coffee makers, Internet access, safe.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Larger room with terrace and views of the Caribbean Sea. Equipped with air condition, mini refrigerators, TV, coffee makers, access, safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Las Palmas Cafe/ Restaurant
Las Palmas Cafe - Casual open-air dining facility serves breakfast, lunch snacks, and beverages. Open daily from 7:00am to 6:00pm.
Alexandra/ Restaurant
Alexandra Restaurant offers a Main Dining Room - A complete menu includes fresh seafood and Puerto Rican Nouvelle Cuisine specialties. Open seven nights, from 6:00pm until 10:30pm. Cocktails are al fresco overlooking the Caribbean and tropical gardens with nightly entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Copamarina Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leocostazul
Business
San Juan, PR
Aug 30, 2014

Nice relaxing place!

Very nice place to stay a few days. I know we will be back! It might not be a five star super resort but it definately a very relaxing place. We were there with our 10 month old baby girl and had a very good time. The pools were clean and well maintained, the food was very good and the rooms were also clean and comfortable. Some things were little dated like the shower but that wasn't an issue. The staff was also friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Dayssy's mom
Business
Bronx, NY
Apr 28, 2014

My Family Vacation

The hotel is located in a beautiful quiet town, i called it a hidden jewel. What i loved the most was the food and waiter service, they were very attentive. The rooms needed a little more housekeeping because I noticed a few spiderwebs and dust on the walls, but overall this was a wonderful experience. I will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Order the Seafood stuffed Mofongo or the Mahi-Mahi fish fillet, they were simply delicious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ManateeObserver
Business
cambridge, ma
Mar 26, 2014

Nice location, poor management

What could have been a very nice, but short stay turned into a nightmare because of poor management/staff service. I checked in late in the day after a long trip, tired, and was assigned a room in the 400s. Shortly I discovered that the room was at the other end of the resort, with no car access to it. I had heavy bags, and I wasn't able to take them to my room, which I had to repack before leaving early the next morning. This wasn't hinted at by the person at the front desk, so after walking all the way to the room, I had to walk all the way back to the desk and ask if I could be given a room closer to the parking since I had to leave very early the next morning. I was then offered a room in the 300s, which was still too far, and still without car access. Then I asked they could bring the bags via the golf cart which was sitting there - and was not offered or even mentioned to me at the time of check in. They reluctantly found someone to drive the cart. Once that got taken care of (the whole thing took about an hour), I called the restaurant to order food, they didn't have room service but I was told I could order, would be ready in 20 mins, and I'd show up there in 20 mins to eat. To my surprise, the food was packaged in plastic containers, due to an obvious miscommunication that I was going to take it back to my room. Not a big deal - but if you can package the food, why was there no room service? The resort location is of course great, and the pools are open 24 hours. I only wish I dealt with more professional staff. I felt I was treated that way, and not offered a closer room, even though they were not sold out or anything, because I had booked the room with what seemed to be a cheaper-than-average rate thru this website. My review would be a whole lot more pleasant if the person at the desk had asked "by the way, you cannot park your car close to your room. would you like help carrying your bags?" when I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr Ten 44
Business
San Juan, PR
Mar 18, 2014

Is a beautiful area to relax but personal is not friendly

As soon as I arrived the front desk people were not friendly . I arrive early because the day before the front desk personnel told me to do so and they will take care of me . So I arrived at 11 a.m. but the lady at the front desk send me to a restaurant and at 2 p.m. they gave me the room . There was not friendly approach to at least let me enjoy the beach until room was available . I will never recommend this hotel . Good customer service should be a top priority for hotel guest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kinnon
Business
guilford ct.
Apr 21, 2013

Copamarina Beach Resort

The place itself is quite pretty- with nice pools and rooms. The staff are not the most accommodating and friendly. They have a tough time answering your questions about traveling outside the resort and don't give you honest answers or help. The first day we tried to talk to a staff person about going to San Germaine and a beach she told us yeah it would be great -people love it- this was on a Puerto Rican Holiday- she told us people love the town and things will be open and the beach would not be crowded. When we arrived after getting lost- the town was SHUT and we drove a long way for nothing- then we went to the beach after getting very very lost- it took us forever because the roads are horrible and there is nowhere to stop. When we finally got to the beach it was inaccessible because of the traffic and everyone in Puerto Rico was there- we had a very stressful day. Thanks Copamarina. They really don't care about the clients. If you are spending a week here you'll be bored. Their is not much to do except go to Gilligans Island and swim/snorkle- but you don't see a lot of fish. The beach at the Copamarina is almost unswimmable- with kelp and muddy bottom. They do have sailboats- but it will cost you- as will the very expensive food. (you can't just get an egg for $2.00- we spent $1,000 on food for a week for 4 people and there is no other place to get food what-so ever. They have a monopoly on food and activities for people coming in with no experience with the island. On the last day we were there they actually had a huge group come in to shoot an Herbal Life promo- with ear- splitting music and games right in the front of the rooms and of course right in front of our room. A women was actually yelling into a megaphone that was amplfied to the Herbal Life group encouraging them to scream!!! It was so obnoxious and surreal- this was a Friday and the paying guests who were trying to relax and have quiet had no option. (It's a good thing we didn'y have toddlers trying to nap!! I think I would have gone off the deep end) They had refreshments for the weird group and offered nothing to the other guests- even though the brochure says they have a barbecue during the day on Fridays and Saturdays. When we complained about the noise and disruption- they basically told us too bad.!!! It was such bad service and regard for their paying customers for so many things. We wanted to go diving all week but they kept saying it was too "choppy" and too hard on their boat and would not take us- we ended up going with an outside company which was friendlier and more knowledgeable. This resort looks beautiful with comfortable rooms but the people that run it are not friendly ,helpful and caring and it is boring. They do not make any effort to make your stay fun once you've arrived. And they charge you a fortune to eat. The wait staff is overtaxed and grumpy too. (Not pleasant) I would not go back and don't recommend this place for anyone unless you already live near Guanica and want a couple days in a pretty location with pool swimming. (Also the spa was completely isolated and it didn't look like anyone who really knew anything was staffing it. Weird!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vlad NYC
Business
New York, NY
Mar 26, 2013

Good family gateway

Copamarina beach resort is a good hotel in very picturesque and secluded place. We had a wonderful time there. The biggest down side is that sea floor is overgrown with grass and is quite muddy on hotel's beach. To have a swim we had to go to public beach which is couple hundred yards away. It's becomes quite annoying very quickly. Another potential problem is food. Hotel has a restaurant but if you staying there more than 2 days it will become costly and boring to eat in it all the time. We solved that problem by buying some breakfast food in supermarket in Guanica and sometimes driving to Parguera village for dinner. Overall it's a good place for a price they charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller316
Business
New York
Mar 16, 2013

Nice hotel

Very comfortable hotel with excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Traveller
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 2, 2013

PR First Timer

Loved this resort but staff could've been more helpful. I would've liked to taken advantage of some of the excursions that were available but wasn't informed that times change, events change and the distance to things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Boqueron has a wonderful area with lots of nightlife and souveniers. Not so short of drive but worth it :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michell80
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Feb 19, 2013

Awesome Anniversary Weekend

The hotel was a great surprise for us! Great service, great amenities, but the peacefulness was the greatest feature of all! Good swimming pools and jacuzzis, they could be used at any time during day or night. Really recommend it for couples wanting to spend a relaxing weekend... although we saw lots of families having a great time also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Copamarina Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob MD
Business
Sabana Grande, PR
Dec 24, 2012

Wedding anniversary

Excellent for an individual or group couple's retreat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top