$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
37 reviews
Recent 1-week getaway

Great hotel, very quiet as private as others have described. Rooms spacious, amenities 5-star.... See full review

  • Ezangjen
  • Mar 6, 2012
New Parents' Get-Away

Luxury and tropical paradise at its finest. My wife and I headed down to Las Casitas for a long... See full review

  • A Relaxed New Mom & Dad
  • Apr 18, 2011
Escape to your own private Caribbean hideaway at Las Casitas Village and Waldorf Astoria Spa; voted the #1 beach resort by T & L Family Magazine. We deliver an unrivaled guest experience among Puerto Rico hotels and resorts. Enjoy comforts of home in one of our 15 spacious one, two or three bedroom casitas complete with 24-hour butler service. Get your adrenaline pumping with phenomenal wave running, horseback riding, wind surfing, diving and fishing. Test your swing on our majestic Arthur Hills Caribbean golf course or pamper yourself at the world-renowned Waldorf Astoria Spa. As part of the elegant El Conquistador Resort, this Puerto Rico resort offers incredible accommodations in a dazzling setting: * Located at the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico, near El Yunque Rain Forest* Four miles from the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas.* On-site world class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.* An 8 minute boat ride from our private Palomino Island.* 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.Daily Resort Charge will be added to the room rate and includes: local, toll-free and credit card calls (no access fee); Guest Internet access; ferry to Palomino Island beach; weekly resort activities. This charge is in addition to the rate quoted and is not a government imposed charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3341 -65.6588
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 31.00, MI, W;

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jamjar62
San Antonio, TX
Mar 16, 2014

So close but yet so far....

We booked Las Casitas as a package on this site. The package include the smallest room the resort has - The Garden Room. It is an average to small room. There were 4 of us, and I felt like we were on top of each other the entire time. I asked to upgrade to a larger room, and pay the difference, but I was told they were full. Las Casitas has 2 pools, and one restaurant. For anything else, you have to call for a shuttle to take you to the sister resort (whose name the site won't let me use), or walk. There is no path between the two resorts, so doing this in the dark is pratically impossible. You have to call a shuttle to take the ferry to Palomino Island, eat at any of the other restaurants, shop, the water park and any other entertainment. Neither Las Casitas or the sister resort has a beach. The beach is on Palomino Island. The process to get to Palomino Island - shuttle to the other resort, elevators down to the lowest level, then a ride down the funicular down to the marina. From that point, you wait for the ferry. We waited about 10 or so minutes. Then the ten minute ride to Palomino Island. The entire process from hotel room to beach took about 40 minutes. The next day we went to Seven Seas Public Beach. It took us about 10 minutes, and we were laying in the sand. Granted, there are no beach chairs or umbrellas, but the beach is heavily shaded, and practically deserted. Palomino Island was pretty crowded, and this was in the spring. Summer crowds would make wait times longer, and Palomino Island more crowded. Having said all of that, the service is impecable. All the staff are gracious and friendly. You will have your own butler who will bring you whatever you need. The restaurants at either resort are mediocre and very expensive. We ended up eating off the resort after the first day. We bought breakfast food, and ate our other meals in Fajardo. I wanted to love Las Casitas, and maybe with a bigger room, I would have. No matter the size of the room, the fact remains that you cannot walk out of your room and stroll on the beach. If quick access to a beach is important to you, then Las Casitas is not the resort for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tah1979
New York, NY, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Impressive but Expensive

Las Casitas is one part of a huge, multi-building luxury resort complex. It's a completely self-contained world with multiple pools, a beach on a private island (to which you have to take a ferry), many restaurants, and a plethora of hotel-sponsored activities. It's a good place to go if you don't really want to have to put in any effort to find activities. Everything is, literally, at your doorstep. The downside is that you're part of a captive audience. You're in a bubble, and there's really not a trace of local culture within the resort complex. Everything offered by the hotel, but especially the food, is dramatically overpriced for the quality. Really, the food is very mediocre, and you can easily run up an $80 bill for a couple sandwiches, drinks, and a dessert, which shouldn't cost more than $30-$40.Transportation to local sights can run >$100. Basically, if you don't mind paying for an easy, smooth experience in a beautiful setting, and don't mind eating some pretty bland, expensive meals, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out El Yunque rainforest, which is quite close, and well worth the trip.

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ezangjen
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Excellent Getaway

Wonderful stay! Would do it over again. Staff are courteous, amenities are great, infiiniti pool is to die for. Would recommend in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Estacion is a short drive. Excellent grilled seafood/meats!

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ezangjen
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Recent 1-week getaway

Great hotel, very quiet as private as others have described. Rooms spacious, amenities 5-star. Setting is absolutely beautiful, set on a hillside overlooking the bay. Infiniti pool is one-of-a-kind. Staff courteous, top-notch. Ocean-room views are wonderful, but wind at night was an issue. Restaurants are OK, we chose to eat outside the resort when we could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Estacion is just outside the resort; excellent grilled seafood/meats. Service can be slow, make sure to make a reservation.

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1179856
New York, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Beautiful setting - food doesn't match

A nice location - on a cliff overlooking the water. Beautiful grounds and nice rooms (we stayed in a Casita). The food was rather underwhelming - not awful but nothing to remember. We like eating nicely and at the prices they charge ($16 for a burger, $25-$40 for dinner entrees) you'd expect a lot more then you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out at some of the nearby local restaurants - it's about $30 round trip in taxis but the food is well worth it compared to the hotel food.

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Aug 28, 2011

Family trip

The hotel is a good overall value, it has it's own island and water park. Good selection of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Coqui water park is a good option inside the hotel

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Aug 28, 2011

Family trip

The hotel is a good overall value, it has it's own island and water park. Good selection of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Coqui water park is a good option inside the hotel

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Relaxed New Mom & Dad
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 18, 2011

New Parents' Get-Away

Luxury and tropical paradise at its finest. My wife and I headed down to Las Casitas for a long weekend of relaxation, and our first trip without our 15 month old daughter. I can't remember the last time I slept so well. The beds were so comfortable, and Las Casitas was so peaceful (El Conquistador's rooms looked nice too, but it's a different setting over there...not quite as luxurious and serene as Las Casitas). Las Casitas was absolutely gorgeous, from the rooms, to the cliffside views, to the infiniti pool...and not to mention terrific service all-around. Most of the reastaurants, bar, and activities were on the larger, El Conquistador side of the resort. We walked everywhere (it's doable if you're on the Las Casitas side nearest to El Conquistador...if you're not you can call for a golf cart to pick you up and take you over any time), and there is a lot of ground to cover. There are so many restaurants, pools, bars, shops, etc at El Conquistador. We ate at a different restaurant every night, but the one thing we did do every night was get ice cream at the ice cream stand across from the casino...it was delicious. The beach, which is on the resort's private island, is gorgeous as well. It's setup like this since the resort is cliffside, so there is no beach access. A fairy boat picks up twice an hour down below (a roller-coast like elevator setup takes you down from the resort to ground level, where shops, restaurants, and the marina are located). It really wasn't a burden, the only thing would be if you're the type that wants to walk out of your room to the beach every day...that's not possible at this resort, although with the view we had and all the luxurious accomodations, this wasn't a problem for us. We also did a spa day. Now I'm no spa expert, I've been to a few, but this is hands-down the best I've been too. Impeccably beautiful facilities, jacuzzi, sauna, etc. Total relaxation at it's finest. One last recommendation would be the night-time kayaking where you go to see the reflective-light organisms in the lagoon (kind of like lighting bugs in the water). Truly amazing experience, just so cool...words can't describe it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Relaxed New Mom & Dad
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 18, 2011

New Parents' Get-Away

Luxury and tropical paradise at its finest. My wife and I headed down to Las Casitas for a long weekend of relaxation, and our first trip without our 15 month old daughter. I can't remember the last time I slept so well. The beds were so comfortable, and Las Casitas was so peaceful (El Conquistador's rooms looked nice too, but it's a different setting over there...not quite as luxurious and serene as Las Casitas). Las Casitas was absolutely gorgeous, from the rooms, to the cliffside views, to the infiniti pool...and not to mention terrific service all-around. Most of the reastaurants, bar, and activities were on the larger, El Conquistador side of the resort. We walked everywhere (it's doable if you're on the Las Casitas side nearest to El Conquistador...if you're not you can call for a golf cart to pick you up and take you over any time), and there is a lot of ground to cover. There are so many restaurants, pools, bars, shops, etc at El Conquistador. We ate at a different restaurant every night, but the one thing we did do every night was get ice cream at the ice cream stand across from the casino...it was delicious. The beach, which is on the resort's private island, is gorgeous as well. It's setup like this since the resort is cliffside, so there is no beach access. A fairy boat picks up twice an hour down below (a roller-coast like elevator setup takes you down from the resort to ground level, where shops, restaurants, and the marina are located). It really wasn't a burden, the only thing would be if you're the type that wants to walk out of your room to the beach every day...that's not possible at this resort, although with the view we had and all the luxurious accomodations, this wasn't a problem for us. We also did a spa day. Now I'm no spa expert, I've been to a few, but this is hands-down the best I've been too. Impeccably beautiful facilities, jacuzzi, sauna, etc. Total relaxation at it's finest. One last recommendation would be the night-time kayaking where you go to see the reflective-light organisms in the lagoon (kind of like lighting bugs in the water). Truly amazing experience, just so cool...words can't describe it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Voyageur
New York, NY
Jan 27, 2011

Awesome vacation

Just returned from a week long vacation at Las Casitas. It was fabulous. The location of the resort is perfect. It's situated on a cliff overlooking the Caribbean Sea and the mountains of El Yunque, about an hour east of San Juan. It's very close to the rain forrest, which we highly recommend visiting- takes about 4 hours to get there, walk the trails, and back. It's also walking distance to the Seven Seas beach, nature preserve, and bioluminescent bay. We did the bio-bay tour through the resort and highly recommend- it's an experience unlike none other. You have to leave around 8:00 at night and it takes about 2 hours. Recommend going during a new moon- the darker the sky the better. The resort has it's own private island with ferries leaving from the marina dock. The island is beautiful and offers plenty of activities, lounge chairs, umbrellas, etc. We spent 3 days just going to the island. There are also a few bars and an outdoor restaurant which is good. The pina coladas are delicious. The resort also has many pools at Las Casitas and El Conquistador. We spent most of our time at the Infinity pool which is exclusive to Las Casitas guest. The lunch restaurant at the Infinity pool is very good. The main pool at El Conquistador has a nice swim up bar but is in shadow during the afternoon. We ate at Stingray Cafe twice- it's situated outdoors on the marina at the resort and offers delicious seafood- it's a little pricey but very good. Also ate Blossoms- a typical hibatchi-style restaurant inside El Conquistador- it was good, but not exceptional, and a bit overpriced. Ate at the Italian brick-oven pizza restaurant which is outdoors at the main pool- very good and decent prices- also open late. We also ate one night in town at Pasions el Fagon. I got the Whole Red Snapper and it was the best fish I've ever eaten. We highly recommend venturing out of the resort to go here- it's about a 5 minute cab ride. For breakfast everyday we were fortunate to have a breakfast package through [...]to eat the buffet breakfast at the resort. There were two options for breakfast restaurants- both very good. The one at Las Casitas- Casitos was more of a continental style, perfectly set outdoors and not crowded. Las Brisas at El Conq. was a full American buffet- very filling and good but a little more crowded. There isn't much to do in terms of night life at the resort- at least when we were there it was pretty quiet. There is a casino and a dance club- but they were pretty empty- perhaps during high season, there's more night-time activity. We did go to Drake's Martini Bar at El Conquistador one night and it was fun.We traveled into Old San Juan one day and had a great time. Only recommend this if you're staying for at least a week, as it takes a while to get there and back. Ate at St. Germain and the Parrot Club. Both fantastic. After booking, we filled out a pre-arrival package from the resort website to send them special requests, such as ocean front room, 3rd level, etc. and were very happy with our room. We had an amazing view of the ocean and the mountains, two terraces, and a very spacious room. The grounds of Las Casitas are gorgeous. It's very easy to navigate over to El Conquistador and the island from Las Casitas to take advantage of all their facilities. Maybe a 10 minute walk from the furthest casista. El Conquistador seemed to be dominated by large company off-site conferences when we were there, which can be a little annoying if you're there for vacation with your family, but it wasn't too bad. There were only families & couples in Las Casitas and El Conq. guests do not have access to the Casistas facilities, so it's kind of the best of both worlds.All in all, we had a great time, and definitely plan to return next winter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Venture outside the resort to El Yunque rain forrest and/or the bioluminescent bay. Both incredible natural wonders a very short distance from the resort. El Yunque is easily navigable on your own- no need to go with a tour group. You can walk to the bio-bay, but should navigate the bay with a guide. The hotel offers a 6:00 and 8:30 tour. Take the 8:30 during a new moon (if possible).

Back to menu Return to top