$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
37 reviews
Recent 1-week getaway

Great hotel, very quiet as private as others have described. Rooms spacious, amenities 5-star.... See full review

  • Ezangjen
  • Mar 6, 2012
New Parents' Get-Away

Luxury and tropical paradise at its finest. My wife and I headed down to Las Casitas for a long... See full review

  • A Relaxed New Mom & Dad
  • Apr 18, 2011
Escape to your own private Caribbean hideaway at Las Casitas Village and Waldorf Astoria Spa; voted the #1 beach resort by T & L Family Magazine. We deliver an unrivaled guest experience among Puerto Rico hotels and resorts. Enjoy comforts of home in one of our 15 spacious one, two or three bedroom casitas complete with 24-hour butler service. Get your adrenaline pumping with phenomenal wave running, horseback riding, wind surfing, diving and fishing. Test your swing on our majestic Arthur Hills Caribbean golf course or pamper yourself at the world-renowned Waldorf Astoria Spa. As part of the elegant El Conquistador Resort, this Puerto Rico resort offers incredible accommodations in a dazzling setting: * Located at the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico, near El Yunque Rain Forest* Four miles from the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas.* On-site world class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.* An 8 minute boat ride from our private Palomino Island.* 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.Daily Resort Charge will be added to the room rate and includes: local, toll-free and credit card calls (no access fee); Guest Internet access; ferry to Palomino Island beach; weekly resort activities. This charge is in addition to the rate quoted and is not a government imposed charge.

Hotel Map

18.3341 -65.6588
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Intl Airport, (SJU), 31.00, MI, W;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 37
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jamjar62
San Antonio, TX
Mar 16, 2014

So close but yet so far....

We booked Las Casitas as a package on this site. The package include the smallest room the resort has - The Garden Room. It is an average to small room. There were 4 of us, and I felt like we were on top of each other the entire time. I asked to upgrade to a larger room, and pay the difference, but I was told they were full. Las Casitas has 2 pools, and one restaurant. For anything else, you have to call for a shuttle to take you to the sister resort (whose name the site won't let me use), or walk. There is no path between the two resorts, so doing this in the dark is pratically impossible. You have to call a shuttle to take the ferry to Palomino Island, eat at any of the other restaurants, shop, the water park and any other entertainment. Neither Las Casitas or the sister resort has a beach. The beach is on Palomino Island. The process to get to Palomino Island - shuttle to the other resort, elevators down to the lowest level, then a ride down the funicular down to the marina. From that point, you wait for the ferry. We waited about 10 or so minutes. Then the ten minute ride to Palomino Island. The entire process from hotel room to beach took about 40 minutes. The next day we went to Seven Seas Public Beach. It took us about 10 minutes, and we were laying in the sand. Granted, there are no beach chairs or umbrellas, but the beach is heavily shaded, and practically deserted. Palomino Island was pretty crowded, and this was in the spring. Summer crowds would make wait times longer, and Palomino Island more crowded. Having said all of that, the service is impecable. All the staff are gracious and friendly. You will have your own butler who will bring you whatever you need. The restaurants at either resort are mediocre and very expensive. We ended up eating off the resort after the first day. We bought breakfast food, and ate our other meals in Fajardo. I wanted to love Las Casitas, and maybe with a bigger room, I would have. No matter the size of the room, the fact remains that you cannot walk out of your room and stroll on the beach. If quick access to a beach is important to you, then Las Casitas is not the resort for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tah1979
New York, NY, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Impressive but Expensive

Las Casitas is one part of a huge, multi-building luxury resort complex. It's a completely self-contained world with multiple pools, a beach on a private island (to which you have to take a ferry), many restaurants, and a plethora of hotel-sponsored activities. It's a good place to go if you don't really want to have to put in any effort to find activities. Everything is, literally, at your doorstep. The downside is that you're part of a captive audience. You're in a bubble, and there's really not a trace of local culture within the resort complex. Everything offered by the hotel, but especially the food, is dramatically overpriced for the quality. Really, the food is very mediocre, and you can easily run up an $80 bill for a couple sandwiches, drinks, and a dessert, which shouldn't cost more than $30-$40.Transportation to local sights can run >$100. Basically, if you don't mind paying for an easy, smooth experience in a beautiful setting, and don't mind eating some pretty bland, expensive meals, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out El Yunque rainforest, which is quite close, and well worth the trip.

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Aug 28, 2011

Family trip

The hotel is a good overall value, it has it's own island and water park. Good selection of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Coqui water park is a good option inside the hotel

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
Aug 28, 2011

Family trip

The hotel is a good overall value, it has it's own island and water park. Good selection of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Coqui water park is a good option inside the hotel

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Voyageur
New York, NY
Jan 27, 2011

Awesome vacation

Just returned from a week long vacation at Las Casitas. It was fabulous. The location of the resort is perfect. It's situated on a cliff overlooking the Caribbean Sea and the mountains of El Yunque, about an hour east of San Juan. It's very close to the rain forrest, which we highly recommend visiting- takes about 4 hours to get there, walk the trails, and back. It's also walking distance to the Seven Seas beach, nature preserve, and bioluminescent bay. We did the bio-bay tour through the resort and highly recommend- it's an experience unlike none other. You have to leave around 8:00 at night and it takes about 2 hours. Recommend going during a new moon- the darker the sky the better. The resort has it's own private island with ferries leaving from the marina dock. The island is beautiful and offers plenty of activities, lounge chairs, umbrellas, etc. We spent 3 days just going to the island. There are also a few bars and an outdoor restaurant which is good. The pina coladas are delicious. The resort also has many pools at Las Casitas and El Conquistador. We spent most of our time at the Infinity pool which is exclusive to Las Casitas guest. The lunch restaurant at the Infinity pool is very good. The main pool at El Conquistador has a nice swim up bar but is in shadow during the afternoon. We ate at Stingray Cafe twice- it's situated outdoors on the marina at the resort and offers delicious seafood- it's a little pricey but very good. Also ate Blossoms- a typical hibatchi-style restaurant inside El Conquistador- it was good, but not exceptional, and a bit overpriced. Ate at the Italian brick-oven pizza restaurant which is outdoors at the main pool- very good and decent prices- also open late. We also ate one night in town at Pasions el Fagon. I got the Whole Red Snapper and it was the best fish I've ever eaten. We highly recommend venturing out of the resort to go here- it's about a 5 minute cab ride. For breakfast everyday we were fortunate to have a breakfast package through [...]to eat the buffet breakfast at the resort. There were two options for breakfast restaurants- both very good. The one at Las Casitas- Casitos was more of a continental style, perfectly set outdoors and not crowded. Las Brisas at El Conq. was a full American buffet- very filling and good but a little more crowded. There isn't much to do in terms of night life at the resort- at least when we were there it was pretty quiet. There is a casino and a dance club- but they were pretty empty- perhaps during high season, there's more night-time activity. We did go to Drake's Martini Bar at El Conquistador one night and it was fun.We traveled into Old San Juan one day and had a great time. Only recommend this if you're staying for at least a week, as it takes a while to get there and back. Ate at St. Germain and the Parrot Club. Both fantastic. After booking, we filled out a pre-arrival package from the resort website to send them special requests, such as ocean front room, 3rd level, etc. and were very happy with our room. We had an amazing view of the ocean and the mountains, two terraces, and a very spacious room. The grounds of Las Casitas are gorgeous. It's very easy to navigate over to El Conquistador and the island from Las Casitas to take advantage of all their facilities. Maybe a 10 minute walk from the furthest casista. El Conquistador seemed to be dominated by large company off-site conferences when we were there, which can be a little annoying if you're there for vacation with your family, but it wasn't too bad. There were only families & couples in Las Casitas and El Conq. guests do not have access to the Casistas facilities, so it's kind of the best of both worlds.All in all, we had a great time, and definitely plan to return next winter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Venture outside the resort to El Yunque rain forrest and/or the bioluminescent bay. Both incredible natural wonders a very short distance from the resort. El Yunque is easily navigable on your own- no need to go with a tour group. You can walk to the bio-bay, but should navigate the bay with a guide. The hotel offers a 6:00 and 8:30 tour. Take the 8:30 during a new moon (if possible).

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Voyageur
New York, NY
Jan 27, 2011

Awesome vacation

Just returned from a week long vacation at Las Casitas. It was fabulous. The location of the resort is perfect. It's situated on a cliff overlooking the Caribbean Sea and the mountains of El Yunque, about an hour east of San Juan. It's very close to the rain forrest, which we highly recommend visiting- takes about 4 hours to get there, walk the trails, and back. It's also walking distance to the Seven Seas beach, nature preserve, and bioluminescent bay. We did the bio-bay tour through the resort and highly recommend- it's an experience unlike none other. You have to leave around 8:00 at night and it takes about 2 hours. Recommend going during a new moon- the darker the sky the better. The resort has it's own private island with ferries leaving from the marina dock. The island is beautiful and offers plenty of activities, lounge chairs, umbrellas, etc. We spent 3 days just going to the island. There are also a few bars and an outdoor restaurant which is good. The pina coladas are delicious. The resort also has many pools at Las Casitas and El Conquistador. We spent most of our time at the Infinity pool which is exclusive to Las Casitas guest. The lunch restaurant at the Infinity pool is very good. The main pool at El Conquistador has a nice swim up bar but is in shadow during the afternoon. We ate at Stingray Cafe twice- it's situated outdoors on the marina at the resort and offers delicious seafood- it's a little pricey but very good. Also ate Blossoms- a typical hibatchi-style restaurant inside El Conquistador- it was good, but not exceptional, and a bit overpriced. Ate at the Italian brick-oven pizza restaurant which is outdoors at the main pool- very good and decent prices- also open late. We also ate one night in town at Pasions el Fagon. I got the Whole Red Snapper and it was the best fish I've ever eaten. We highly recommend venturing out of the resort to go here- it's about a 5 minute cab ride. For breakfast everyday we were fortunate to have a breakfast package through [...]to eat the buffet breakfast at the resort. There were two options for breakfast restaurants- both very good. The one at Las Casitas- Casitos was more of a continental style, perfectly set outdoors and not crowded. Las Brisas at El Conq. was a full American buffet- very filling and good but a little more crowded. There isn't much to do in terms of night life at the resort- at least when we were there it was pretty quiet. There is a casino and a dance club- but they were pretty empty- perhaps during high season, there's more night-time activity. We did go to Drake's Martini Bar at El Conquistador one night and it was fun.We traveled into Old San Juan one day and had a great time. Only recommend this if you're staying for at least a week, as it takes a while to get there and back. Ate at St. Germain and the Parrot Club. Both fantastic. After booking, we filled out a pre-arrival package from the resort website to send them special requests, such as ocean front room, 3rd level, etc. and were very happy with our room. We had an amazing view of the ocean and the mountains, two terraces, and a very spacious room. The grounds of Las Casitas are gorgeous. It's very easy to navigate over to El Conquistador and the island from Las Casitas to take advantage of all their facilities. Maybe a 10 minute walk from the furthest casista. El Conquistador seemed to be dominated by large company off-site conferences when we were there, which can be a little annoying if you're there for vacation with your family, but it wasn't too bad. There were only families & couples in Las Casitas and El Conq. guests do not have access to the Casistas facilities, so it's kind of the best of both worlds.All in all, we had a great time, and definitely plan to return next winter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Venture outside the resort to El Yunque rain forrest and/or the bioluminescent bay. Both incredible natural wonders a very short distance from the resort. El Yunque is easily navigable on your own- no need to go with a tour group. You can walk to the bio-bay, but should navigate the bay with a guide. The hotel offers a 6:00 and 8:30 tour. Take the 8:30 during a new moon (if possible).

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just back from PR
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2009

Lovely spot but distant and spread out

The hotel experience was lovely however there are a bunch of problems that I will list. 1) We requested a crib in advance twice and when we got to the hotel, it was not ready and took three calls to housekeeping to get it set up while our sleeping baby waited in the car. 2) There were no parking spots in the casitas so we had to park about 20 minutes away and wait for the golf-cart transportation to come pick us up and take us to our room. 3) The beach is faa-aaar away. From the casitas it takes a golf cart to the main resort walking all the way down the hall to the elevator that takes you down to the ferry (10 minute boat trip). The whole trip takes about an hour which is a long time if you love the beach. 4) The pools are lovely, the inifinity pool is amazing, looks like you are in the ocean, the water is warm. One problem, no towels after 6 and housekeeping had to be called (told that someone would bring towels right away) and 3 calls and 45 minutes later still no towels - we had to run back to our room wet. 5) The hotel is about a 45-60 minute drive from the airport, the new route 66 is lovely, but 75% of the trip is still city streets with traffic lights. The hotel is beautiful - the pools are lovely, the people are lovely, the service is lovely, the rooms are clean, amazing views, fully stocked kitchens, a beautiful place...not optimal for a family with a baby and great if you just want to stay put around the nearby hotel, but a little trek to go places and pretty far from everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent seafood restaurant, Calizo, about 2 miles outside of the gates of the resort, very casual, good prices, and many different combinations of food that are delicious.

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just back from PR
New York, NY
Jul 15, 2009

Lovely spot but distant and spread out

The hotel experience was lovely however there are a bunch of problems that I will list. 1) We requested a crib in advance twice and when we got to the hotel, it was not ready and took three calls to housekeeping to get it set up while our sleeping baby waited in the car. 2) There were no parking spots in the casitas so we had to park about 20 minutes away and wait for the golf-cart transportation to come pick us up and take us to our room. 3) The beach is faa-aaar away. From the casitas it takes a golf cart to the main resort walking all the way down the hall to the elevator that takes you down to the ferry (10 minute boat trip). The whole trip takes about an hour which is a long time if you love the beach. 4) The pools are lovely, the inifinity pool is amazing, looks like you are in the ocean, the water is warm. One problem, no towels after 6 and housekeeping had to be called (told that someone would bring towels right away) and 3 calls and 45 minutes later still no towels - we had to run back to our room wet. 5) The hotel is about a 45-60 minute drive from the airport, the new route 66 is lovely, but 75% of the trip is still city streets with traffic lights. The hotel is beautiful - the pools are lovely, the people are lovely, the service is lovely, the rooms are clean, amazing views, fully stocked kitchens, a beautiful place...not optimal for a family with a baby and great if you just want to stay put around the nearby hotel, but a little trek to go places and pretty far from everything else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent seafood restaurant, Calizo, about 2 miles outside of the gates of the resort, very casual, good prices, and many different combinations of food that are delicious.

Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jun 22, 2009

A great spot!

The setting is remarkable. Very family friendly. The private island, water park and pools were phenomenal. The food was a bit overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Las Casitas Village & Golden Door Spa - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jun 22, 2009

A great spot!

The setting is remarkable. Very family friendly. The private island, water park and pools were phenomenal. The food was a bit overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top