$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
130 reviews
Complete Relaxation

This hotel has all you need for complete relaxation. Its limited beach on a private island is not... See full review

  • Liz with High Expectation
  • Aug 25, 2014
It didn't meet the expectation.

The hotel didnt meet the expectations in all areas. See full review

  • Daniela Martinez Cruz
  • Jul 2, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
May 4, 2009

I will never stay at El Conquistador

I will never stay at the El Conquistador Resort again. Throughout my stay most of the hotel staff was unhelpful and at times unpleasant. To make matters worse, our room was unclean with rust stains in the bathroom, dirty toilet, stained rug, stained sheets, dirty vents, broken tiles on the veranda and the list goes on. In addition, several things at the hotel where out of service which made it hard to get around at times. I would have checked out early, but I was attending a Wedding at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Duped nomore
Business
Hampton, Va
Jul 21, 2010

Duped

Not a great experience. The best part of the trip was Palomino Island. The beach was gorgeous, the food at the Iguana restuarant, was more tasty, and reasonably priced and the staff more friendlier. Jet skiiing was fun. Pay cash and save 15$. I will go back to Puerto Rico, but not to this hotel. The price suggest 5 star, but the actual accommondations about a 2 star. The rooms are dingy, the food on the resort is terrible and most of the staff unfriendly unless you tip them in advance. Futhermore, because the hotel sit high on a mountain, I felt as if I were being held hostage. We finally rented a car and did some exploring without the overpriced excursion offered by the resort. Visit beautiful Puerto Rico, but save your money and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelphiver
Business
North Carolina
Mar 25, 2014

Spring break

I have been to this resort over 40 times in the last 12 years . I am sorry to report the new changes are disappointing . The casino is no longer in the hotel , and the menu is now aimed at younger family's with children . French fries , burgers , chicken fingers . .. Etc.. Very disappointing .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MattsGreatDane
Business
Virginia
Sep 8, 2009

No customer service at the front desk.

Over priced blan food along with mean mugging staff members. Out of the whole staff including the shops in the hotel there were two friendly employees out of the whole hotel. Not worth the price paid. If your thinking about staying at the hotel, stay somewhere else. The Passion Fruit would be better as far as getting service and the lady that runs it is uber nice. It's a little hotel but it comes with big service!! Don't over pay for a place if your going to be out a lot. If not that hotel then go to Vegas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go take the ATV tour in the jungle. And eat at the little resturant next door to the place. Have the Steak skirt mofongo!! The tour made the vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 31, 2010

Bogus extra charges $58/night hotel tax!

Ok until the end. 1st they issued hotel keys to my room to another guest who came right into our room un-announced.2nd the added a $58 per day hotel tax. [...] They claim this was for everyone and included employees and other charges like a ferry (whether you use it or not) to their beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betrayed
Business
Tampa, Fl
Oct 25, 2010

complete disappointment

the room and the service is nothing more nothing less than $30/night motel room here in Florida,and they very rudely argue with you about $16/day parking fee where a customer has to park his car in a rough parking lot a good distance away from what is supposed to be a hotel where they send for the customer a miserable and beaten up golf cart that the customer breaths in all the smoke through the journey from the "parking" to the "hotel"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Apr 22, 2009

terrible

This hotel was dirty, far from everything and overpriced. The food is bad too. Stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The El Yunque National Park is nearby (it's a rainforest).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 6, 2008

beautiful but extremely expensive

The Conquistador Hotel and Resort is a beautiful property, however, all food and beverages are way over priced. If you decide to stay at this resort, it is advisable to rent a car in order to leave the property, meet the locals, try the local fare and save a lot money on food/beverages. You will save money by renting a car from airport. This is a very clean hotel, but very far from San Juan, about an hour drive. It is about a half hour drive to the rainforest, El Yunque and about twenty minutes from the beautiful beach, Luquillo. Luquillo has many restaurants, quioskos that serve the local fare at a low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a golf course on the property.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Da' Traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 21, 2011

Just Bad

Dirty room. Expensive food and drinks. RUDE STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnnaBanana2575
Business
New York, NY
May 1, 2013

Beautiful but Disappointed

I was so very excited to stay here as we travel to Puerto Rico at least once a year and we have never stayed at this resort before. Palomino Island is absolutely breath taking and the restaurants on the resort grounds are very impressive. When we got to the hotel, we were blown away at the view that the hotel had as well as the room itself, however that quickly changed when we saw two HUGE roaches in our room. The first night we stayed there we saw one on the floor by our bed and the next night it was crawling on the headboard!!! It was not something you like to see right next to where you sleep at night and took away from the peacefulness of our room and left me not wanting to fall asleep afraid that I would find more! It left us dissapointed that the room that we fell in love with, had that type of an issue. I am not one to write negative reviws, but this was something that was hard to look over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Palomino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top