$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
View map of 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 16, 2010

Awesome!

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, because we wanted to explore the Fajardo Area with the Bioilluminecent Bay and the Rainforest. We found a great deal for this hotel online, but it was beyond of what we expected. We booked a regular room with two beds, but the room was fantastic with the most amazing view of the ocean. Employees were very friendly and helpful and the facilities of the hotel were super. Since we were very active during the day, we enjoyed the Jacuzzi at night a lot in order to relax. The only disadvantage is that this place is a resort, which means that drinks and restaurants are very pricy, however there are options to wine and dine outside of the hotel. All in all a wonderful experience, we didn´t want to leave:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kayakdoc
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 7, 2010

This place was Fantastic!

We were at the El Conquistador for 5 days. We are hard working corporate sales professionals and needed a total getaway. There was more to do than we had time for but we barely managed to squeeze it all in with plenty of relaxation. The Coqui Water Park, the Palomino beach, and the pool decks were awesome!! We had so much fun. Plenty of high end dining and lower cost dining. The cost was not too bad but the drinks are expensive. We bought 1.5liter water bottles for $4.5, better value than the smaller water bottles. We stayed at the resort for 4 days and then rented a car to travel to El Yunque forest. It was worth it to do that, much better than a shuttle tour. It's hard to cinch a rental car on site because they are rented quickly. Avis picked us up and took us to their office 20min away where we got the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs. Brown Newlywed
Business
Lithonia GA
Nov 24, 2010

Rest and Relaxation

We came to El Conquistador for our honeymoon. We had just gotten married on Nov. 6th. So you can imagine that we were extremely exhausted from preparing for the wedding. Our main concern was to be able to get plenty of rest while we were there and we did. My favorite place was the Coqui Water Park. I can go there every day all day. The least favorite thing was the beach on Palomino Island. There was too many rocks and debris in the water for my liking. Another issue I have is that the hotel staff is noisy in the mornings, allowing the suite doors to bang against the lock waking us every morning. Also I was attacked by at least 10 mosquitoes while using the restroom on Palomino Island. We still think that our trip to Panama City Beach FL was better due to the relaxing atmosphere and beautiful clean beach access immediately off the condo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be prepared to spend plenty of money on food unless you shop before arriving on the resort. However, the 5-star dining at a couple of the restaurants within the hotel was worth the money!!!

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami,fl
Nov 16, 2010

fantastic getaway

we had a family reunion, beautiful hotel and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent for aquatic sports, fishing & diving

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
26th Chitown
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 14, 2010

Beautiful!

This was such a fabulous place, location, location, location! Yes it's more pricey, they have so much to offer, see and do! Neighborhood going in is not to hot and is intimidating but once your on the grounds, you will be truly impressed. Rooms clean and comfortable, view of mountains were beautiful. In the center of our buildings, the night sounds of the coqui were wonderful. One suggestion, bring beverages, or snacks; especially if yu have children, they do have refridges in room, no coffee makers (they do have a Starbucks) Casino; just the right size, many dining options. Furnicular to go down to the marina area was awesome and a fun short ride. They have a high speed catamaran that makes hourly trips to their island; Palamino island, it is complimentary, we had a such a great time on the island, lots of fun watersport toys; motorized and non. They have everything you could possibly want there, it is a total resort in its own right. The pools and grounds are immaculate, the staff friendly and professional. If you can, take their taxi from airport $40 each way pp; if you have a rent like we did, it will cost $25 daily for valet or $20 to park yourself (long walk up or you have to wait for shuttle to commute) There is also an extra 14% resort fee; that cost us extra. We stayed 3 nights. Yunque rain forest is a must, drive up; many hikes to take; we did La Minas, was worth the views and sweat; bring water and swim suits! they do list levels of difficulty at each trail. Bioluminesce Bay was fabulous. We will be staying again next time we visit! Recommendations; yes, yes, yes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not take tours through hotel; for Yunque Rain Forest charge $90, doing yourself drive; free or $4 if you stop at visitors entrance (you'll receive map of trails) Biolumniscence bay $88 pp, at the base of hotel, use furnicular down; short walk past fence, down the road; cost $45 pp.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BranGWilson
Business
Lorton, VA
Nov 3, 2010

Unforgettable Location

My husband and I have now gone on several vacations. This was one of our best experiences. When we arrived at the airport, there was a little confusion finding the resort representative, but this was quickkly resolved. Once we were on the shuttle, the excitement began immediately. The ride was very comfortable. It was a bit long (nearly 1 hour), but well worth it, once we arrived at our destination. There were even free refreshments and beverages on the shuttle. Once we arrived on the property, it was beyond breathtaking. The 5 minute ride up the clip allowed one to see the vastness of the property: the immaculate golf course, numerous tennis courts, various villages, conference center, the rain forest the carribean sea and the atlantic ocean. A bell person stepped unto the shuttle and explained the process of check in, which was very simple. The level of detail that was put into check in made the process seemless and like a symphony. Once we checked in, we were given further discounts on resort activities and complimentary drinks. The bell person was extremely helpful in pointing out where thigns were located and answering any questions that we had. Once we made it to our room, he even stayed a few minutes to explain where everything was located in the room and shortcuts from our room to key activities on property. Here is a quick list of our experience and suggestions. 1. If you go to the private island, which is AWESOME,take the 9AM ferry. You will have your choice of where you want to be. The island is quite scenic and uninterupted at that time. You can literally have the entire island to yourself. I would adivse to get beach shoes, as some spots are filled with choral. You may want to bring along snacks, as food optios are limited, but they do suffice. 2. All of the bars are excellent! 3. Take a day and walk down from the harbor (10 minute walk) to the local village. You can get great kayaking discounts and great food and drinks really cheap. We went to Tommy's Seafood, which had the best lobster on EARTH. However, veiw your tab carefully. I believed that we were taken advantage of by our waitress. $15 taxes is rather unbelievable. 4. The water park is a 1/2 day experience for couples and a full day experience with children. All of the water slides are awesome. 5. You can save yoruself money and get a poolside massage at the water park. They are much cheaper, than if you get a massage at the Golden Door Spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When you check into the resort, be sure to ask what days each of the restaurants are open. We were looking forward to eating at the Strip Steak House. When we called to make reservations, we were informed that the restaurant would be closed for the remainder of our stay. This was our only dissaponitment.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Nov 1, 2010

They get you on the extras!

We actually just stayed one night because we were going to Vieques the next day. The hotel rate was really reasonable, however they get you on the extras. Several of the hotels in the Fajardo area will shuttle you to their hotel from the airport in San Juan for free, but this hotel charges as much as the taxis do. This hotel also wants to hold a huge amount of funds per day of your stay for incidentals. We were trying to check in at the same time as another customer and they were attempting to use their debit card. The hotel wanted to hold $150 per day for incidentals either by debit card or cash. If you weren't prepared for that, I could see where non-credit card people (like myelf) would have their money almost totally wiped out. Dinner was way overpriced. My husband and I got there late and the only options were bar food and this cafe. We ate at the cafe, did not have an alcohol, no appetizers and shared an entree and still spent as much as we do with two entrees, drinks and appetizers at home in Dallas. Overall, the facilities are nice but be forewarned that you are going to have t spend a lot of money on site to enjoy yourself. Even the bottled water in the room isn't free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask them if you can turn off the incidentals and not get a house charge card if you are using a debit card to check in. Otherwise, they will hold a ridiculous sum of money for incidentals for every day of your stay.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 31, 2010

Bogus extra charges $58/night hotel tax!

Ok until the end. 1st they issued hotel keys to my room to another guest who came right into our room un-announced.2nd the added a $58 per day hotel tax. [...] They claim this was for everyone and included employees and other charges like a ferry (whether you use it or not) to their beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betrayed
Business
Tampa, Fl
Oct 25, 2010

complete disappointment

the room and the service is nothing more nothing less than $30/night motel room here in Florida,and they very rudely argue with you about $16/day parking fee where a customer has to park his car in a rough parking lot a good distance away from what is supposed to be a hotel where they send for the customer a miserable and beaten up golf cart that the customer breaths in all the smoke through the journey from the "parking" to the "hotel"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maine
Oct 22, 2010

el conquistador

great ocean view rooms, private beach and good service. food is pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

shops and dining in hotel, private island with beach, hiking and horse back riding, scuba and snorkeling

Back to menu Return to top