$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
View map of 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy with service
Business
New York
May 10, 2011

Avoid

Hotel was visually appealing from the outside, however when you looked especially from the area around the pool what you saw where cracks in the stucco, the pool area was dirty and probaby had not been washed or swept in months, there was mold in the grout at the swim up pool bar, and the beach needed to be raked. The pool bar did not have my wife's preferred rum or cherries for 4 out of our five day stay, there were no waitresses at the pool or beach areas. common folks, these are things that should be basic in a supposed 4 or 5 star hotel whatever it was. Also, $6 for a can of beer! and $60 for lunch (chicken sandwitch and a salad for wife with a glass of wine and a diet soda) are just two examples that I give on my way to $1600 in spending money on drinks for 5 days and lunch and dinner. did not eat breakfast. WAY TO EXPENSIVE to also have all the other listed problems. I would not recommend to a friend, I would say try someplace else first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay at another hotel that at least is worthy of a 4-5 star rating.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dusty13
Business
Stevens Point, WI
Apr 22, 2011

Beautiful but hidden pitfalls.

Over all the resort was very beautiful, clean, and well kept up. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I'm sure you may get this at most resorts but everything was pretty spendy. Drinks were small and cost between 10 and 15 dollars, just for a regular mixed drink. The food was pricie too but over all worth it. There were a couple of the "bar and grills" that were not worth eating at at all. $100 dollars for four drinks, an appitizer, two sandwiches and fries. Another thing you should consider is where your room is located. Don't get it facing the ocean by the south end of the main pools. Seven of the eight nights we stayed there they had some sort of a closed party or wedding reception going on from 6pm till after 10pm. The music was very loud even with the balcony doors shut and the TV up loud. You could actually feel the bass! One of the nights they closed the entire pool area and a couple of the good spots to eat because of a wedding reception. If I would have know ahead of time that we were going to be disturbed and have limited access to the resort we were paying good money for we would have booked elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carmelyn
Business
Chestertown, MD
Apr 12, 2011

Very beautiful

Beautiful location and great resort. Great food at all the resort restaurants & good variety. Even though it was a busy hotel we did not feel crowded nor overwhelmed by others. Excursion to private island was fun but missed being able to walk a beach at night. We also enjoyed getting away from resort with a rental car to explore other areas including trying local fare. Hotel will arrange all kinds of excursions if you don't want a car. It was great, overall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't have a car you can still walk down to Croabas (sp?) to go kayaking on Lagoon Grande & see the luminescence in the water at night.(Not as visible on full moon night but still worth going.) First you paddle through a mangrove forest and end up in the lagoon. It was very cool. Don't let the crowds discourage you: they stagger departure times which works very well. Also there are good local places to eat while you are there.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 5, 2011

A Perfect Retreat for R&R

Came to relax and enjoy the beach and seclusion of Palmino Island with a friend who I had not seen in thirty years. We were able to talk about our lives in a serene and comfortable environment. We did exactly that and more. The hotel was clean, the staff was wonderful, the weather was perfect, the room and views were spectacular. The Golden Door Spa and its staff were extraordinary as well. It would be nice to see a little more variety in restaurants [dinner as well as breakfast]; I'm personally not a fad of buffet's and prefer my 'syrup' pure maple and not out of a 'packet' for example. However that was an observation. Also, since I like protein drinks and juicing, the juice bar was not open at the Golden Door during the time of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 28, 2011

But for average food, amazing resort

Pluses: GREAT location, helpful staff. Minuses: average expensive food (as is expected from resorts) Caveats: We had a great room, but we saw rooms that were right next to the Furnicular (a tram-like trolley system, which is the only way to go down from the main hotel to the marina area). The furnicular can be loud, so if you're sleeping next to it, you likely won't enjoy it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are several cheaper alternatives to the tours (El Yunque, Bio luminescence bay etc.) provided at the tour desk. Just ask the Concierge to give you a list of all the providers and you can call them. This is not only cheaper, but also offers you additional availability options.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
anchorage AK, daytona beach FL
Mar 21, 2011

awesome views! Best hotel ever!

Luxurious rooms, we upgraded to ocean view, well worth the money. Had a rental car, so easy access to El Yunque rain forest. On site restaurants were delicious and reasonable. Private beach at Palmino Island was fantastic (free boat ride). Service was impeccable, no local panhandlers,etc. Several service people even refused tips! Our fridge made a noise and they brought a new one within minutes. Shopping close by including even a Wal-mart! Casino is non-smoking but had limited slots! Starbucks on site, needed more time in PR to see the hotel alone! Didn't get to water park on site. Huge fitness center too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

El yunque rainforest is worth the trip.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zitro
Business
san juan,PR
Mar 20, 2011

caribbean paradise, great service.

My wife and i were on our aniversary celebration. Played golf in the morning up to check in. Great course other than my wife found it difficult. Upon check in we were upgraded to an ocean front. Very beautyfull modern room expansive bathroom and comfortable beds. Obviously kind of expensive. We are a cople. Pool fron pizzeria great with drinks $45 dollars morning breakfast has a great view of the bay. And tje ferry ride to the palomino island has great ferry service. 30 Min in between trips. Great family getaway. Recommend and will visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Mainly family getaway don expect great nightlife action altough call ahead there seem to be preparing for a party this week.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ST. PAUL, MN
Mar 15, 2011

AWESOME TIME

MY HUSBAND AND I HAD A GREAT TIME. PALIMINO ISLAND WAS AWESOME. WE HAD A GREAT ROOM WHEN WE GOT IN IT. WE CHECKED IN AROUND 5:00PM AFTER TRAVELING ALL DAY AND ARE ROOM WAS NOT READY UNTIL ABOUT 8:30. WE HAD GREAT HOUSEKEEPING, GREAT POOLSIDE BARS. OUR BEST NIGHT EATING OUT WAS THE CHINESE/JAPENESE RESTARAUNT. WE ALSO LOVED THE MARINA AND THE BALLYHOO. VERY NICE STAFF, VERY HELPFUL, VERY FRIENDLY. IN COMPARISON TO OTHER TRIPS IT WAS GREAT, WE WOULD HAVE LIKED TO GONE INTO SAN JUAN BUT THERE WAS NEVER ENOUGH PEOPLE SIGNED UP TO USE THE SHUTTLE FOR A DAY OF SHOPPING AND JUST TO EXPLORE THE HISTORY, WHICH WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT, BUT MAYBE SOMEDAY WE WILL TRY AGAIN AND STAY PART OF OUR VACATION IN FAJARDO AND PART IN SAN JUAN. OVERALL GREAT MEMORIES AND THE BEST WEATHER EVER!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

NIGHTLIFE, NOT SURE IF THERE WAS ANY. THERE WAS THE CASINO, BUT AS FAR AS MUSIC AND DANCING THERE WASN'T ANY, IF THERE WAS WE NEVER FOUND IT.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Feb 26, 2011

Beautiful Vacation

This expansive resort set on a cliff over looking the ocean provides a spectacular view that is breathtaking. The resort has something for everyone including a private beach which is easily assessed by a short boat ride leaving from the resort every half hour or so. The recommendation to go on the first boat is a good one as the prime chairs situated near tiikki umbrellas and rental floats go fast. The trip on the boat to Palomino Island gives you the feel of being on a cruise where passengers are shuttled to private islands. The island has an eatery where the sandwiches and drinks are good. I recommend the top shelf margarita which was outstanding. Due to a long wait to be seated, our waiter gave us complimentary drinks which was a nice touch. Drinks are pricey at all of the resort bars and restaurants with an average price of $14.00. Overall, the dining prices were also on the higher side, but well worth the money in the case of a high end dining experience at the Stingray Restaurant located at the lower level of the hotel. We found the bar and restaurant at the marina a good value. The steak house was good, but not great. Stay away from the outdoor Italian restaurant as the food was terrible. Ask for a a stay package that includes a complimentary breakfast. It was convenient and well done. Be sure to book dining reservations in advance as we got closed out of the nicer restaurants our first night. Overall, wonderful resort. If you are a couple, you will be out numbered by families. The resort was surprisingly family oriented with few adult night time amenities.Great for families with young and teenage kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure not to miss the experience of kayaking at night in the nearby bioluminescent bay. If you have a car, it a ten minute drive to the nearby fishing village where numerous venders are running group excursions. If you schedule this on your own through the hotel concierge you save half the cost of signing up with the hotel run excursion. Schedule as soon as possible as slots go fast.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WMonaco
Business
Rochester, New York
Feb 26, 2011

Great views not great rooms

The natural beauty around El Conquistador cannot be matched. The hotel itself was spectacular from the outside but our room was below average. We had an ocean view room with only a decent view of the ocean. The room was very outdated even though we were supposed to be in a newer section. Plus the carpet was really dirty and the bathroom was also pretty dirty. The other problem is that the hotel has just gotten to big and it takes you 20 minutes to get to what you want to do. However, the pools and water park were top notch and Palomino Island is heaven on earth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be prepared to spend a bundle on what I consider very average food.

Back to menu Return to top