$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
130 reviews
Complete Relaxation

This hotel has all you need for complete relaxation. Its limited beach on a private island is not... See full review

  • Liz with High Expectation
  • Aug 25, 2014
It didn't meet the expectation.

The hotel didnt meet the expectations in all areas. See full review

  • Daniela Martinez Cruz
  • Jul 2, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Natil88
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 21, 2011

GREAT

It was excellent very big room and huge hotel! the check out was to early and check in could not be arranged before 4. but everything else perfect like a 5 star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chispas
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2011

Offers so much to do! It feels like a small city!

We had a great time at the hotel! I even went on the roller coaster at the water park, and I am not a kid anymore! The pools, the whirpools, Palomino Island, the casino, the shopping, the water park keeps you pretty busy and enjoying life. I would recommend however a car rental specially for large families who may find the restaurants in the hotel a bit expensive. We rented a car and bought wine and cheese at a nearby Ralph's supermarket which has fantastic lunches at great prices as well. The main problem is transportation out from the Hotel. Most people found it very expensive and felt a bit trap in the hotel after a few days, We had 5 glorious days in spite of the rain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ralphs Supermarket.. great lunch menue and great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mine
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Beautiful scenery

Private beach was perfect. We update our room for an ocean view room and it was very beautiful. We tried thee of the restaurants and they were great. I started making plans to go there again next year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arecibo,Puerto Rico
Jul 14, 2011

The paradise of Puerto Rico

The Conquistador hotel its the most beautifull and pacefull hotel, nice to share and get together whith others. The people who work there is very attentive and friendly. Really is an exelent hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

¿?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 7, 2011

Holy moley that was expensive

You pay for the views - not the food or the service. Views - amazing. Service and prices - awful and staggering. Stop by a grocery store to save money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 18, 2011

Traveljunkie

When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to Ocean View, 2 gold stars. The room was modern, tastefully decorated and the view was to die for. We found eating at the resort very pricey. For 2 drinks, a burger and a wrap, it costs $60.00 which was rediculus. Apart from that, we were thrilled about the private island Palameno, it was stunning. We went on a pony ride and spend the day swimming. We would definately go back but next time to stay in a Villa. Then we can cook and save more money. All in all a good stay and I got engaged! So its a special place for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belle Mead, NJ
Jun 17, 2011

WOW - Paradise Found

1. We did everything, from restaurants to SPA to catamaran. 2. I can't think of anything missing. Maybe open the casino earlier. 3. No comparison. This was the absolute best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Strip House - Try the chateaubriand

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Al.
Jun 3, 2011

Anniversary getaway!

First trip to Puerto Rico and the El Conquistador Hotel. The resort is in exceptional condition and the view is unbelievable. Palamino island is awesome, relaxing,and worth the trip. Resturants were good but expensive. The resort offers a wide variety of ammentities. The resort fees are the only negative thing we experienced. Worth it to rent a car but be prepared for the parking fees, about 15 dollars a day. Overall great experience for our 20th anniversary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit El Yunque rain forest and Old San Juan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 15, 2011

Boyfriend & I Get Away.

There are lots of fun activities to do: rain forest tour, San Juan tour, kayaking, swimming, dinning, casino inside the hotel, & the beach. My two favorite parts of the the stay was the private clear water island and how nice and helpful Puerto Ricans are. This trip was beyond amazing and relaxing. Everything inside the hotel is walking distance. No need to travel outside the city for anything, unless, you would like to explore. I would 100% recommend this hotel and city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy with service
Business
New York
May 10, 2011

Avoid

Hotel was visually appealing from the outside, however when you looked especially from the area around the pool what you saw where cracks in the stucco, the pool area was dirty and probaby had not been washed or swept in months, there was mold in the grout at the swim up pool bar, and the beach needed to be raked. The pool bar did not have my wife's preferred rum or cherries for 4 out of our five day stay, there were no waitresses at the pool or beach areas. common folks, these are things that should be basic in a supposed 4 or 5 star hotel whatever it was. Also, $6 for a can of beer! and $60 for lunch (chicken sandwitch and a salad for wife with a glass of wine and a diet soda) are just two examples that I give on my way to $1600 in spending money on drinks for 5 days and lunch and dinner. did not eat breakfast. WAY TO EXPENSIVE to also have all the other listed problems. I would not recommend to a friend, I would say try someplace else first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay at another hotel that at least is worthy of a 4-5 star rating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top