$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
135 reviews
AWESOME

The only problem with the room was ants.I lieu of an exterminator they gave us 2 free Breakfasts. See full review

  • Robert C.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Complete Relaxation

This hotel has all you need for complete relaxation. Its limited beach on a private island is not... See full review

  • Liz with High Expectation
  • Aug 25, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KVATS
Business
Florida
Apr 3, 2013

Romantic getaway

Their top restaurants are average. Service is average as well. However, the spa is great as well as the whole venue overall. Would return again but just know that you will get average food and average service. I really do not know why the hotel does not improve on their food and service. It has been this way for years...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get your own alcohol. They have a shop inside the hotel which is overpriced but still much cheaper than their drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SPCWDL
Business
Gurabo, Puerto Rico
Feb 17, 2013

Getaway

Hotel had spectacular views. Staff could have done a better job orienting guests during check-in. No one told us about the white card that we needed to have with us at all times to be able to charge food to the room. Thought it was just for self parking as marked in the card until we were asked for it first night after dinner. We didn't like the 1 towel per guest policy at Palomino Island. Would still come back for the spectacular views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelGirl2012
Business
Salt Lake, Utah
Jul 21, 2012

Unique and Beautiful

This was a beautiful hotel with lots to do. If you stay here you have to go to Palomino Island, just a short free ferry ride away. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was very large even with a walk-in closet. A very neat experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The self parking is a little far since the place is so big. I would suggest vallet parking since its not much more a night, so you don't have to make the walk with all your luggage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfing Boyz
Business
Randolph, NJ, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Great Spring Break!

My boys and I had a great time...location perfect and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Had a tremendous time golfing and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pasion down the street is wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golden Circle
Business
Ridgefield, CT, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Aging Beauty

Pros: Spectacular setting, very friendly and helpful staff, varied amenities and activities in expansive grounds Cons: Tired property with infrastructure woes (elevators, hot water, telephone reliability, air handling systems); pricey food and drink even for a resort location An interesting combination of family-friendly and convention hotel, although evening entertainment options are limited. Basic systems are in need of major rehabilitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

For any stay longer than 3 days, consider a rental car for both transportation savings and as an escape from "captive audience" food and alcohol pricing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rams
Business
Stamford, Ct.
Feb 23, 2012

A Great Escape

3.5 hours direct NY to San Juan; no transfers; one hour coach to hotel; easy. most beautiful location overlooking Atlantic and out-islands. choice of restaurants on and off-site; choice of pools; spa, golf, tennis; friendly, helpful staff; water park; all water sports; casino. our 8th year back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

best restaurant in the area; a 5 min. cab ride: Pasion Por El Fogon ( in Fajardo )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Alan
Business
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Jan 31, 2012

Highs and Lows

Five couples descended on El Conquistador for a long weekend to celebrate a milestone birthday, and we accomplished our goal! The location and scenery are breathtaking. The resort sits high on a cliff, with magnificent views of the rain forest from “Garden view” rooms, and ocean and islands from the other side. The grounds are very well kept, with lush tropical plants everywhere. A tram-way (I can’t spell Funicular) connects the hotel with the marina below, where you catch the boat for a 15 minute ride to the private island beach. Three pools at the hotel and the water park at the marina are all well maintained and spotless, with ample lounges, umbrellas and bars conveniently located. There were servers pool-side, but it was always faster to go get it yourself… Our room was clean but dated, and showed signs of wear. An area of carpet a couple of feet square had the pile completely worn away, leaving the backing exposed. The bed was very comfortable, but the lounge (the only other seating was a straight chair at the desk) was only bearable when piles of pillows were thrown against the vertical, hard back. One floor lamp provided all room lighting (no desk lamp). One couple of our group moved twice after check-in: once because the bathroom reeked of mildew and had missing tiles around the tub, again to avoid noisy kids. We ate in the three “fancy” restaurants in the hotel, as well as most of the other cafes. The steak house was average; several of our $37 bone-in rib-eyes were tough and short on flavor. The Italian restaurant was outstanding; I had the best $35 veal parmigiana in memory. Service in both was inattentive and slow. We had to ask several times to get the wine served in the Italian restaurant. The Chinese/Japanese restaurant was everybody’s favorite, with excellent sushi, entrees and excellent service. The casino was small, but never crowded, with 5 card tables, one roulette table and scores of penny slots. In 4 nights of blackjack we finally got one dealer to smile and “join the party” at the table. We all had a wonderful time, in large part because we brought the party with us, but when we have another big event to celebrate, we will probably look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Da' Traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 21, 2011

Just Bad

Dirty room. Expensive food and drinks. RUDE STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKMKE
Business
Reston, VA
Nov 30, 2011

Awesome Resort....

Stayed here for 2 nights, and I should say it was the best stay ever. Its true that the resort is a bit expensive, but the amenities (water park, pool, private beach!!!) outrun the price. Also its very close to the bio bay and Culebra island ferry dock, so an A+ for the location too. Overall, pricey but an amazing experience....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PR Vacation
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Beautiful Location

Lovely location with a lot of options onsite. Plan on staying on location or only do the tours through the hotel. The resort would be exceptional with an activity director and friendly staff. We tried to use the Dance Club every night and no one participated or they closed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top