$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
View map of 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Birthday weekend girl
Business
Cidra, Puerto Rico
Jul 8, 2013

Great place, but slow and long process to check inn and out.

It took 1 hour to check inn and the line was so long to check out that we decided to check out by the phone it was fast but when we went to get our car from the valet service.they denied to give us the car because we didn,t have the folio recipt (offcourse we check out by the phone and told us thats it). So.I had.to go right back and do the line. So I recomend that the hotel to have an express check out sheet delivered to the room so thatt is a better experience to the customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Palomino Island has the best beach i had ever seen.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rsputnick
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 16, 2013

Deficient

The setting is beautiful, staff friendly and helpful, but... My room was a bit musky and the carpet was dirty. Towels were old and worn. The front desk confirmed 3 times that the exercise room opened at 6am...it opened at 7am. Food was dismal. In all fairness the staff was friendly and attentive. Landscapers do an incredible job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fun Week In PR
Business
Colfax, Iowa
Jun 14, 2013

Great Time in PR

Perfect trip for a couple. The food and view was perfect. Visited the island 3 times and enjoyed each trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daniiiiii
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
May 5, 2013

Perfect get away

El conquistador has been, without a doubt, the best resort and experience ever. From the water park, to the pools, to the private island, it was beyond amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many restaurants at the hotel, but also best food was in a restaurant 'Pasion por el fogon' 7 minutes away.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnnaBanana2575
Business
New York, NY
May 1, 2013

Beautiful but Disappointed

I was so very excited to stay here as we travel to Puerto Rico at least once a year and we have never stayed at this resort before. Palomino Island is absolutely breath taking and the restaurants on the resort grounds are very impressive. When we got to the hotel, we were blown away at the view that the hotel had as well as the room itself, however that quickly changed when we saw two HUGE roaches in our room. The first night we stayed there we saw one on the floor by our bed and the next night it was crawling on the headboard!!! It was not something you like to see right next to where you sleep at night and took away from the peacefulness of our room and left me not wanting to fall asleep afraid that I would find more! It left us dissapointed that the room that we fell in love with, had that type of an issue. I am not one to write negative reviws, but this was something that was hard to look over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Palomino

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MelnAl
Business
Olympia, Washington
Apr 11, 2013

We didn't want to leave!!!

Our stay at El Conquistador was perfect! We loved their private island and spent most of our time there. The beach was beautiful and water was warm. One of the employees informed us we could rent a car from Enterprise directly at the hotel. The rates were good and made for a great day trip to Old San Juan. We'd definately go back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you book a car from Enterprise online and pick it up directly at the hotel you get a much better rate than renting directly from the Enterprise desk in the hotel.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KVATS
Business
Florida
Apr 3, 2013

Romantic getaway

Their top restaurants are average. Service is average as well. However, the spa is great as well as the whole venue overall. Would return again but just know that you will get average food and average service. I really do not know why the hotel does not improve on their food and service. It has been this way for years...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get your own alcohol. They have a shop inside the hotel which is overpriced but still much cheaper than their drinks

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SPCWDL
Business
Gurabo, Puerto Rico
Feb 17, 2013

Getaway

Hotel had spectacular views. Staff could have done a better job orienting guests during check-in. No one told us about the white card that we needed to have with us at all times to be able to charge food to the room. Thought it was just for self parking as marked in the card until we were asked for it first night after dinner. We didn't like the 1 towel per guest policy at Palomino Island. Would still come back for the spectacular views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelGirl2012
Business
Salt Lake, Utah
Jul 21, 2012

Unique and Beautiful

This was a beautiful hotel with lots to do. If you stay here you have to go to Palomino Island, just a short free ferry ride away. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was very large even with a walk-in closet. A very neat experience. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The self parking is a little far since the place is so big. I would suggest vallet parking since its not much more a night, so you don't have to make the walk with all your luggage.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Golfing Boyz
Business
Randolph, NJ, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Great Spring Break!

My boys and I had a great time...location perfect and staff extremely friendly and helpful. Had a tremendous time golfing and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pasion down the street is wonderful

Back to menu Return to top