$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
130 reviews
Complete Relaxation

This hotel has all you need for complete relaxation. Its limited beach on a private island is not... See full review

  • Liz with High Expectation
  • Aug 25, 2014
It didn't meet the expectation.

The hotel didnt meet the expectations in all areas. See full review

  • Daniela Martinez Cruz
  • Jul 2, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

Hotel Map

18.3589 -65.628
Area served
Luquillo, Rio Grande, Canovanas and Carolina.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Airport
Area description
East

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rams
Business
Stamford, Ct.
Feb 23, 2012

A Great Escape

3.5 hours direct NY to San Juan; no transfers; one hour coach to hotel; easy. most beautiful location overlooking Atlantic and out-islands. choice of restaurants on and off-site; choice of pools; spa, golf, tennis; friendly, helpful staff; water park; all water sports; casino. our 8th year back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

best restaurant in the area; a 5 min. cab ride: Pasion Por El Fogon ( in Fajardo )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Alan
Business
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Jan 31, 2012

Highs and Lows

Five couples descended on El Conquistador for a long weekend to celebrate a milestone birthday, and we accomplished our goal! The location and scenery are breathtaking. The resort sits high on a cliff, with magnificent views of the rain forest from “Garden view” rooms, and ocean and islands from the other side. The grounds are very well kept, with lush tropical plants everywhere. A tram-way (I can’t spell Funicular) connects the hotel with the marina below, where you catch the boat for a 15 minute ride to the private island beach. Three pools at the hotel and the water park at the marina are all well maintained and spotless, with ample lounges, umbrellas and bars conveniently located. There were servers pool-side, but it was always faster to go get it yourself… Our room was clean but dated, and showed signs of wear. An area of carpet a couple of feet square had the pile completely worn away, leaving the backing exposed. The bed was very comfortable, but the lounge (the only other seating was a straight chair at the desk) was only bearable when piles of pillows were thrown against the vertical, hard back. One floor lamp provided all room lighting (no desk lamp). One couple of our group moved twice after check-in: once because the bathroom reeked of mildew and had missing tiles around the tub, again to avoid noisy kids. We ate in the three “fancy” restaurants in the hotel, as well as most of the other cafes. The steak house was average; several of our $37 bone-in rib-eyes were tough and short on flavor. The Italian restaurant was outstanding; I had the best $35 veal parmigiana in memory. Service in both was inattentive and slow. We had to ask several times to get the wine served in the Italian restaurant. The Chinese/Japanese restaurant was everybody’s favorite, with excellent sushi, entrees and excellent service. The casino was small, but never crowded, with 5 card tables, one roulette table and scores of penny slots. In 4 nights of blackjack we finally got one dealer to smile and “join the party” at the table. We all had a wonderful time, in large part because we brought the party with us, but when we have another big event to celebrate, we will probably look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Da' Traveler
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 21, 2011

Just Bad

Dirty room. Expensive food and drinks. RUDE STAFF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKMKE
Business
Reston, VA
Nov 30, 2011

Awesome Resort....

Stayed here for 2 nights, and I should say it was the best stay ever. Its true that the resort is a bit expensive, but the amenities (water park, pool, private beach!!!) outrun the price. Also its very close to the bio bay and Culebra island ferry dock, so an A+ for the location too. Overall, pricey but an amazing experience....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PR Vacation
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Beautiful Location

Lovely location with a lot of options onsite. Plan on staying on location or only do the tours through the hotel. The resort would be exceptional with an activity director and friendly staff. We tried to use the Dance Club every night and no one participated or they closed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I.B.
Business
Albany, NY, USA
Nov 21, 2011

short island getaway

the hotel was beautiful. It spread over a very large area. The pools were great. Had a night club but it closed well before the advertised 2am. We were greeted by 2" long cockroach in our room when we arrived and food crumbs that housekeeping failed to vacuum up. My biggest fault with this hotel is everything was priced outrageously. Mixed drinks were no less than $13, a small beer was $12 and even a bottled water in your room costs $3.50. We ate dinner in one of the hotel restaurants one night and they charged us $7 a glass for iced tap water. For lunch i paid $16 for a burger and small side of fries. The option of eating outside the hotel is limited to a pricey cab ride or renting a car and ending up lost in some rough neighborhoods. I have traveled a lot and would prefer if staying in a hotel like this to get an all-inclusive package.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

cheaper food and drinks could be had by a short walk west from the marina of the hotel along the shore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dprice
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Great Destination Wedding Spot

We had a wedding and had approximately 80 guest attend. The El-Con was so perfect for this that at no point did anyone need to leave the complex. The beaches, pools, restaurants and bars were all exceptional. The only real bad part of the vacation was having to leave. I will certainly return to the El-Con in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Paradise Island is the private beach. We had the most wonderful waitress there and she gave us insider tips on every issue that we asked about. Without her help we would have been lost at times. Locate someone that is friendly and willing to help and listen to them. They really love their jobs there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lil darlin
Business
san juan ,pr.
Oct 31, 2011

cons

Asked to replace coffee maker, did'nt happen. had we known enterprise car rental would have been part of the package we would have saved $60.00 in parking fees. Jetblue airlines charged $2.00 ea for headsets , @ San Juan airport they were free @ the gate monitor on my husbands seat did'nt work on return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fun lover
Business
New Jersey
Oct 23, 2011

Very friendly and Fun

the hotel was beautiful plenty to see and swim dozens of shops service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

make sure you walk around plenty of beautiful sites to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gumurculeez
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Excellent

This is a wonderful place to stay if you are looking to just lounge around and enjoy the beautiful views. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was great. There wasn't too much in the way of food at the hotel itself but there are two towns right next to the hotel that have all you could possibly need. One is only a 10 min walk away. Truly worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car if you are Planning on leaving the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top