$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
View map of 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EMFEIJO
Business
Nashville
Apr 28, 2014

Long weekend getaway

Everything one would need for a getaway. The location from the airport is about 45mins, but totally worth it once you get there. I recommend staying down by the marina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sun Bumm
Business
Chicago
Apr 1, 2014

Beautiful Resort; Pricey; Family Oriented

I enjoyed my stay at the El Conquistador and would recommend the resort to others. This was my first time staying at a large resort; I liked that there were so many amenities. I would have expected the rooms to be a little nicer, but the beds were comfortable the room was quiet and the bathroom spacious. We had a basic garden view room. The resort could do a better job in communicating. The ferry to the island starts at 9:00 a.m. and every half hour after, the last one leaves the island at 5:45 p.m. I believe the large Ferry carries 100+ individuals and I didn't notice any lobbying or verbal disputes for seats. The line for the ferry gets long I would recommend heading down early around 8:20 or so. Palomino island is picturesque beautiful; the beach on the east end is very rocky (lots of conch shells broken and whole) but not unmanageable. Lots of shade on the East side and a pleasant breeze, with plenty of chairs. On the weekend lots of locals bring their boats and hang out on the West side of the island where the beach is less rocky. There is only one restaurant on the island and two bars, drinks start around $9 ($6 for virgins) a burger and fries runs you about $14 and they only take credit or you have the option to charge to your room but they do not accept cash and need photo id for credit cards. The food was good I liked everything I tried: there was a hilarious mishap at the Hibachi grill and I don't think teriyaki chicken is worth $28. Almost every entree is priced at $28 or higher and at the main restaurants entrees are a' la carte so a meal with appetizer and a drink can easily run to $40 or more per person. There is Chinese Restaurant with Hibachi grill; a steak house, an Italian restaurant and a burger/sandwich joint. There is a breakfast buffet priced at $27 per person. An out door restaurant by the pool with wood fired pizza that you can get to go. By the marina there is a Seafood restaurant as well as a bar & grill which was very good. There are several convenience stores that have ice cream and snacks as well as alcohol. There is an ice cream parlor near the Trams that has breakfast sandwiches and coffee/espresso. There is also a Starbucks open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. There is an additional daily resort fee of $37.10 for use of the ferry and Internet so watch for that it is not quoted in your original package. The resort is very kid friendly there is a water park on site that I did not visit. The Resort has made a scavenger hunt type game out of finding certain sites each marked with a rubber bracelet that many adults and children seemed to enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small fair grounds beyond the gate of the marina with a resturaunt and food stands; this is also where they do the staging for the bio-bay; schedule your trip to the bio bay as soon as you can they book up quickly - we did a boat tour with bio island for $47 (ph # 787-422-7857) and enjoyed it immensely the kayakers seemed to have a lot of obstacles - plus iguanas sleep in trees and fall out of them!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nina hiker
Business
Miami, FL
Mar 31, 2014

Bathrooms need work

Overall, the property is beautiful and the location is excellent. You can't beat the views. The problem is in the details. The bathroom of our room looked like it hasn't been updated in at least 20 years. The cleanliness/upkeep of the hallways leaves something to be desired. While there were attendants/servers around the pool area, no one came to offer us drinks in over 1.5 hours. The hotel is very family friendly, so if you are looking for someplace quiet, this is not the place for you. I would not return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La Estacion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelphiver
Business
North Carolina
Mar 25, 2014

Spring break

I have been to this resort over 40 times in the last 12 years . I am sorry to report the new changes are disappointing . The casino is no longer in the hotel , and the menu is now aimed at younger family's with children . French fries , burgers , chicken fingers . .. Etc.. Very disappointing .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCJ Travel
Business
Front Royal VA
Mar 16, 2014

El Conquistador

Very large resort....initial check-in a bit confusing. Tip do not self park first. Drive directly to hotel entrance. This place is so big a bellhop must take you to your room so you know where it is located. In other words you cannot find your room on your own. Other wise awesome resort, very friendly staff and unlike other reviews the food is really decent just at resort prices. But there are many restaurants within 10-15 minutes of resort that are better and at a much lower cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little BBQ restaurant right outside resort is the best meal I had in PR. La Estacion

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BestGFEver
Business
New Jersey
Mar 14, 2014

Getaway

It is a nice resort... Loved the private island.... Wish there was more to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rainforest

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BestGFEver
Business
New Jersey
Mar 14, 2014

Awesome

Great stay clean and friendly ! Must stay!!!!! Recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My cousin Vinnie
Business
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Mar 2, 2014

Get away opportunity

The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. The restaurants in the vicinity were great so we did very little eating at the hotel except for breakfast. The $16.00 plus each day for self parking was bothersome but I guess they all charge for parking. All in all its a beautiful place with its own private beach and several pools. We didn't meet anyone who had any complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although the hotel has some sophisticated restaurants, there are also several restaurants nearby where the food is excellent and can add to the variety of choices one has.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Islandmom
Business
In
Feb 28, 2014

Ok

Overall amenities, room, pools , water park, island activities were good. Food left lot to be desired for the pricing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kasha vista

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ACCLV
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 18, 2014

Presidents day weekend

Overall great vacation. It's expensive. Would have been nice if there was a restaurant with local puerto rican restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top