$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
130 reviews
Complete Relaxation

This hotel has all you need for complete relaxation. Its limited beach on a private island is not... See full review

  • Liz with High Expectation
  • Aug 25, 2014
It didn't meet the expectation.

The hotel didnt meet the expectations in all areas. See full review

  • Daniela Martinez Cruz
  • Jul 2, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rheuma9
Business
san antonio , texas
May 20, 2009

everything but the girl

the trip from the main road to the hotel is a little spooky not to be traveled at night,the setting by the sea at the upper level of the hotel is relaxing and breath taking, the staff is helpful but in general you get transfered to a second or third person before your question is answered, the internet connection was not functional in the room but did work in the lobby as a business man checking messages is important, i tried printing my boarding passes but th eservice didn't work, the casino is diminutive compared to those in san juan or las vegas and many of the slots were turned off ie were not working, the shops are a life saver, very nice well stocked, the palomino island is awesome , the many bar staff are friendly , the food is good , the self parking is ridiculous far away and uphill the valet works like a charm, this is a romantic not to sophisticated cool great place for a couple or a large group of friends, if you are a photograper this is a paradise, i would definitely go back and frequently......cheers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the local mall is full of nice shops at good prices eating is mostly franchise they tend to close early like at 7pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
May 4, 2009

I will never stay at El Conquistador

I will never stay at the El Conquistador Resort again. Throughout my stay most of the hotel staff was unhelpful and at times unpleasant. To make matters worse, our room was unclean with rust stains in the bathroom, dirty toilet, stained rug, stained sheets, dirty vents, broken tiles on the veranda and the list goes on. In addition, several things at the hotel where out of service which made it hard to get around at times. I would have checked out early, but I was attending a Wedding at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 23, 2009

"Nice stay, wouldn't go back"

Hotel was nice and areas are clean. Staff members are very friendly and quick to help you. My wife did not like having to take a boat out to the beach. Also the water has a lot of coral that washes up and makes wading difficult. The wate is too shallow to swim in, you could probably walk out about a 1/2 mile. The restaurants are expensive for what you are buying, and if you rent a car they charge yo a daily parking fee. Nice for a brief get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Takle plenty of money, few choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Apr 22, 2009

terrible

This hotel was dirty, far from everything and overpriced. The food is bad too. Stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The El Yunque National Park is nearby (it's a rainforest).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakeside
Sep 17, 2008

Empty

No one mentioned that the hotel would be empty. I mean, maybe 100 people, in a place that held probably 2-3,000. We were so lonely. We are social people. We would sit in a restaurant ALONE. Oh, they forgot to mention parking prices. More than the rental of the car. The place was gorgeous. Private beach that you took a boat out to (all six of us). You get the drift.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Nearby dining, there is very little that you would want. Long walk to town (but you wouldn't want to go there. Nothing is nearby but a junky little town. Kind of like Tijuana if you have been there. Several stores in hotel are overpriced and like Mexico. Stores are closed except McDonalds, Church's Chicken, Walgreen's and Walmart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, *
Sep 7, 2008

Great Honeymoon Spot

The hotel was in a beautiful location. It was secluded on the mountain top with a beautiful view of the resort and the private island. Everyone was very helpful and accomodating. The only drawback was that one of the pools with the swim up bar was being repaired at the time. The private island definitely made up for it. It was breathtaking. It is a little costly. It was perfect for our honeymoon. There is not much nearby, as you are 45 minutes from San Juan so everything pretty much is done at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 23, 2008

a great time

my family and i had a wonderful time at the el conquestador hotel.the pools r great...the private island was wonderful....the water park is a load of fun.i would recamend this hotel very highly.but it could be a little pricy so if u got the cash it is worth it....buy the way the rooms r very nice and the employees r nice also....although i think 4 such an expensive hotel the employees should speak english a little better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rain forest....la key u beach(sorry cant spell it)...also a big shopping outlet...plenty of restuarants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 18, 2008

VERY COSTLY

THE EL CONQUISTADOR WAS EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE AND FILLED WITH HIDDEN COSTS. FOOD PRICES WERE OUTRAGEOUS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

THERE IS NOTHING NEARBY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Feb 14, 2008

Very Freindly

This was my second stay at El Conquistador, first stay was buisness. Beuatiful veiws with an Island for beach, snorkel, horseback riding, jet ski and resturant and bar. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure you were comfortable. This is an upscale resort there are no all inclusive deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rain forest tour is 1/2 day in the morning. Very nice diversion 30 min drive from resort. I also heard they have a Zip Line Course were you start at the top and ride a basket on a cable down through the foreast at tree top level. I wish I would have heard of that before we left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 12, 2008

great retreat

This is a great spot to get far away, for a couple or a group. It felt like a very nice cruise, but on Land.The views are spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top