$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
199 reviews
It didn't meet the expectation.

The hotel didnt meet the expectations in all areas. See full review

  • Daniela Martinez Cruz
  • Jul 2, 2014
best vacation

The hotel is not only beautiful but a wonderful experience See full review

  • Maria Bradhurst
  • Jun 11, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3589 -65.628
Area served
Luquillo, Rio Grande, Canovanas and Carolina.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Airport
Area description
East

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Passaic Park, NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Recommend with caution

Overall, El conquistador is in a great location with beautiful sites. My in-laws had a different room in a different section of the resort and our rooms had equally as beautiful sites. I went to El Conquistador with my husband and 20 month old son. Checking in was horrendous. Luckily, we had family already staying at the resort and were able to go into their room and wait while my husband waited online for about an hour to check-in. The valet parking at El Conquistador is much less than convenient. On our first morning at the resort, we went to the valet driver to pick up our car and waited for almost a half hour to get our car. We went back to ask them what was going on and they had yet to get the keys to get the car. We did complain to management and they did refund the charge for that day. Another thing is that valet is $20 a day and self-park is $15. For the rest of the trip, we self-parked due to the experience we had with the valet. It's a bit of walk, but totally doable. There is also a $17.20 charge each day you are at the resort. The charge, as explained to us, is fort he amenities at the hotel which consist of the ferry ride to their private beach, the fitness center, etc. Our room was very nice and during the week it was quiet except during the weekend. The room next to us had guests and while they were in the bathroom it sounded like they were in our room. We didn't mind it too much except late in the evening while I was trying to put my son to bed. Overall, I would recommend the resort to a friend however, I would do it with caution. Honestly, I'm not sure I would stay there again. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport without traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In Luquillo there are a great set of restaurants that are located on the side of the road called Kioskos. You can choose which restaurant you want to eat at and prices are very reasonable. It is located right by Luquillo beach which is beautiful and for $20 you can rent an umbrella and 2 lounge chairs.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Aug 20, 2010

beautiful

I did swim a lot,dance and just enjoyed the beautiful view of the nature. The one thing that is missing is restaurant with Puerto Ricos's tipical food. and a Mexican Restaurant, THAT WILL BE GREAT. The food at the present is not the best. From my previous trips I enjoyed the food very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Aug 20, 2010

beautiful

I did swim a lot,dance and just enjoyed the beautiful view of the nature. The one thing that is missing is restaurant with Puerto Ricos's tipical food. and a Mexican Restaurant, THAT WILL BE GREAT. The food at the present is not the best. From my previous trips I enjoyed the food very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gray Kit
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Not so amazing!

We were extremely disappointed with our overall stay. The service was nowhere near exceptional or did it merit a 4 star rating. The amenities were basic to any other hotel located in a warm weather destination. The pools were nice but nothing to be in awe about and they were filled with children. They did not have a specific pool for kids so if you wanted to relax in quiet or swim with out having to dodge a group of kids you had to hit the pool before 9am or after 7pm. The food was over priced and not great. The only restaurant that was fantastic was Stingrays and the bill for 3 was about $250 not including tip. Our room was cleaned daily but not replenished properly. We had to call concierge for towels three times and wait well over an hour for them to be delivered to our room. Checking in took three hours because our room was not ready and checking out was also a long ordeal. Overall we were not impressed by El Conquistador Resort. We would return to Puerto Rico but stay at a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gray Kit
New York, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Not so amazing!

We were extremely disappointed with our overall stay. The service was nowhere near exceptional or did it merit a 4 star rating. The amenities were basic to any other hotel located in a warm weather destination. The pools were nice but nothing to be in awe about and they were filled with children. They did not have a specific pool for kids so if you wanted to relax in quiet or swim with out having to dodge a group of kids you had to hit the pool before 9am or after 7pm. The food was over priced and not great. The only restaurant that was fantastic was Stingrays and the bill for 3 was about $250 not including tip. Our room was cleaned daily but not replenished properly. We had to call concierge for towels three times and wait well over an hour for them to be delivered to our room. Checking in took three hours because our room was not ready and checking out was also a long ordeal. Overall we were not impressed by El Conquistador Resort. We would return to Puerto Rico but stay at a different resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don't go to Puerto Rico!!!
Palm Harbor, FL
Jul 21, 2010

Not what it's cracked up to be

Horrible food, very bad service (lots of waiting), 2 different rooms flooded, 1 rooms a/c broke, very inconvenienced stay. Spent most of our time dealing with these issues and moving rooms 3 times in 2 1/2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Ballyhoo bar and grill only place in there with decent service and good food (found it our last day there).

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Duped nomore
Hampton, Va
Jul 21, 2010

Duped

Not a great experience. The best part of the trip was Palomino Island. The beach was gorgeous, the food at the Iguana restuarant, was more tasty, and reasonably priced and the staff more friendlier. Jet skiiing was fun. Pay cash and save 15$. I will go back to Puerto Rico, but not to this hotel. The price suggest 5 star, but the actual accommondations about a 2 star. The rooms are dingy, the food on the resort is terrible and most of the staff unfriendly unless you tip them in advance. Futhermore, because the hotel sit high on a mountain, I felt as if I were being held hostage. We finally rented a car and did some exploring without the overpriced excursion offered by the resort. Visit beautiful Puerto Rico, but save your money and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don't go to Puerto Rico!!!
Palm Harbor, FL
Jul 21, 2010

Not what it's cracked up to be

Horrible food, very bad service (lots of waiting), 2 different rooms flooded, 1 rooms a/c broke, very inconvenienced stay. Spent most of our time dealing with these issues and moving rooms 3 times in 2 1/2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to Ballyhoo bar and grill only place in there with decent service and good food (found it our last day there).

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracey,mom of 3
Atlantic beach,Fl.
Jul 19, 2010

Just OK

Over all the only possive thing i can really say about this hotel is the beaches are everything you could hope for, they are just like the pictures,Beautiful!! My husband and myself were looking to spend a romantic week alone in a beautiful spa setting for our 20th wedding anniversary. Sun tanning,eating,relaxing ect.. what we got was the extreme opposite. On our arriving at the resort we waited in line for over an hour to check in. once in the room we thought that would be the worst of it. Wrong! The place was full with running screaming kids and teens. we thought we had been dropped into a bad dream since we had left our 3 kids at home. Need less to say there are no adult only areas at this resort!! And it did not seem to concern the staff at all when we complained about them keeping us up with the noise and crank room to room calls at 3 am..we did learn that if we drank enough at bed time we could ignore some of it! All in all if you are looking for a quite romantic get away this this place is NOT for you..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring lots of money!!

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracey,mom of 3
Atlantic beach,Fl.
Jul 19, 2010

Just OK

Over all the only possive thing i can really say about this hotel is the beaches are everything you could hope for, they are just like the pictures,Beautiful!! My husband and myself were looking to spend a romantic week alone in a beautiful spa setting for our 20th wedding anniversary. Sun tanning,eating,relaxing ect.. what we got was the extreme opposite. On our arriving at the resort we waited in line for over an hour to check in. once in the room we thought that would be the worst of it. Wrong! The place was full with running screaming kids and teens. we thought we had been dropped into a bad dream since we had left our 3 kids at home. Need less to say there are no adult only areas at this resort!! And it did not seem to concern the staff at all when we complained about them keeping us up with the noise and crank room to room calls at 3 am..we did learn that if we drank enough at bed time we could ignore some of it! All in all if you are looking for a quite romantic get away this this place is NOT for you..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Bring lots of money!!

Back to menu Return to top