$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
199 reviews
It didn't meet the expectation.

The hotel didnt meet the expectations in all areas. See full review

  • Daniela Martinez Cruz
  • Jul 2, 2014
best vacation

The hotel is not only beautiful but a wonderful experience See full review

  • Maria Bradhurst
  • Jun 11, 2014
Lose yourself in the vibrant beauty and captivating allure of Puerto Rico. Perched high above the ocean on a 300 foot cliff, Waldorf Astoria Spa is a peaceful retreat on the Island of Enchantment. Our luxurious Puerto Rico resort is divided into five villages, providing a soothing getaway from the stress of the world. Enjoy breathtaking panoramic ocean views at The Grand Hotel including the villages of Las Brisas and La Vista. Pure indulgence awaits you in Las Casitas Village - the distinctive four-diamond resort that shares our grounds, where a resort butler is at your service 24 hours a day in your private villa. Built into the side of a cliff and wrapped around its own swimming pool, let sea breezes caress you in Las Olas Village. Or just relax on your private balcony in La Marina Village, which overlooks the sea and is home to the new water park and private marina. Experience this vibrant Puerto Rico resort for yourself, complete with beautifully appointed accommodations, attentive service and a magnificent setting.Located on the northeastern tip of Puerto Rico near El Yunque Rain ForestFour miles form the stores and attractions of downtown Fajardo and Las Croabas. On-site world-class golf, spa, water park, wind surfing, scuba diving and fishing.An 8-minute boat ride from our private Palomino island 31 miles from San Juan and Luis Munoz Marin International Airport.

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort Rooms

Garden room
King bed garden view room-balcony or terrace...18 Percent resort charge-lush landscape views...Low floor-mini cooler-in room coffee

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3589 -65.628
Area served
Luquillo, Rio Grande, Canovanas and Carolina.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Airport
Area description
East

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
betrayed
Business
Tampa, Fl
Oct 25, 2010

complete disappointment

the room and the service is nothing more nothing less than $30/night motel room here in Florida,and they very rudely argue with you about $16/day parking fee where a customer has to park his car in a rough parking lot a good distance away from what is supposed to be a hotel where they send for the customer a miserable and beaten up golf cart that the customer breaths in all the smoke through the journey from the "parking" to the "hotel"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maine
Oct 22, 2010

el conquistador

great ocean view rooms, private beach and good service. food is pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

shops and dining in hotel, private island with beach, hiking and horse back riding, scuba and snorkeling

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maine
Oct 22, 2010

el conquistador

great ocean view rooms, private beach and good service. food is pricey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

shops and dining in hotel, private island with beach, hiking and horse back riding, scuba and snorkeling

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sun drenched travelers
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 21, 2010

Great Views

This hotel has great views and their private island is a relaxing get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several local restaurants are located close to the hotel.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sun drenched travelers
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 21, 2010

Great Views

This hotel has great views and their private island is a relaxing get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several local restaurants are located close to the hotel.

Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny,ny
Oct 12, 2010

The good,the bad,and the really ugly

first there was no shower curtain in bathroom second we requested king bed told there were none available third room was old and dirty beds were uncomfortable fourth housekeeping was not good rooms were not made up timely and not enough towels were available fifth unable to do excursions because not enough people signed up for tours sixth my husbands cologne was taken after housekeepers came to the room to clean it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny,ny
Oct 12, 2010

The good,the bad,and the really ugly

first there was no shower curtain in bathroom second we requested king bed told there were none available third room was old and dirty beds were uncomfortable fourth housekeeping was not good rooms were not made up timely and not enough towels were available fifth unable to do excursions because not enough people signed up for tours sixth my husbands cologne was taken after housekeepers came to the room to clean it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaDan
Dallas TX
Aug 24, 2010

Enjoyable

Great place to visit. Went to the beach, the forrest , dining out and San Juan. It is a resort so be prepared to spend. With that said you can also be economical and eat at the local places but they might not be that fancy yet still delicious. therefore you might have to drive a bit to find a cheaper place to eat. Its a trade off eat close convenient or get your car from the parking drive and find a small place to eat.:) Theres allot of excursions some if your adventurous enough you can do it directly at the location by yourself and not through the hotel. but for a little less than double the price it might be a good idea. You cut out the middleman and the tourguide:) For those who don't usually get lost driving and enjoy the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at the hotel with an informative tourguide to accompany you then just book it at the reception. The service was great and everyone greets you and is friendly. Its an Island everyone is more relaxed and not in a hurry so waiting in line, say at the reception, might be frustrating for some. Even the driving typical island mentality, it depends on how agressive of a driver you are, just don't get upset. remember your on holiday and your on thier island:) maybe just get insurance:) ..... concerning spending..$$$ wise I spent about a hundred a day..oh yeah and they put a hold on your card like a secuirity deposit that i didnt know about before hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaDan
Dallas TX
Aug 24, 2010

Enjoyable

Great place to visit. Went to the beach, the forrest , dining out and San Juan. It is a resort so be prepared to spend. With that said you can also be economical and eat at the local places but they might not be that fancy yet still delicious. therefore you might have to drive a bit to find a cheaper place to eat. Its a trade off eat close convenient or get your car from the parking drive and find a small place to eat.:) Theres allot of excursions some if your adventurous enough you can do it directly at the location by yourself and not through the hotel. but for a little less than double the price it might be a good idea. You cut out the middleman and the tourguide:) For those who don't usually get lost driving and enjoy the convenience of being picked up and dropped off at the hotel with an informative tourguide to accompany you then just book it at the reception. The service was great and everyone greets you and is friendly. Its an Island everyone is more relaxed and not in a hurry so waiting in line, say at the reception, might be frustrating for some. Even the driving typical island mentality, it depends on how agressive of a driver you are, just don't get upset. remember your on holiday and your on thier island:) maybe just get insurance:) ..... concerning spending..$$$ wise I spent about a hundred a day..oh yeah and they put a hold on your card like a secuirity deposit that i didnt know about before hand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Passaic Park, NJ
Aug 23, 2010

Recommend with caution

Overall, El conquistador is in a great location with beautiful sites. My in-laws had a different room in a different section of the resort and our rooms had equally as beautiful sites. I went to El Conquistador with my husband and 20 month old son. Checking in was horrendous. Luckily, we had family already staying at the resort and were able to go into their room and wait while my husband waited online for about an hour to check-in. The valet parking at El Conquistador is much less than convenient. On our first morning at the resort, we went to the valet driver to pick up our car and waited for almost a half hour to get our car. We went back to ask them what was going on and they had yet to get the keys to get the car. We did complain to management and they did refund the charge for that day. Another thing is that valet is $20 a day and self-park is $15. For the rest of the trip, we self-parked due to the experience we had with the valet. It's a bit of walk, but totally doable. There is also a $17.20 charge each day you are at the resort. The charge, as explained to us, is fort he amenities at the hotel which consist of the ferry ride to their private beach, the fitness center, etc. Our room was very nice and during the week it was quiet except during the weekend. The room next to us had guests and while they were in the bathroom it sounded like they were in our room. We didn't mind it too much except late in the evening while I was trying to put my son to bed. Overall, I would recommend the resort to a friend however, I would do it with caution. Honestly, I'm not sure I would stay there again. It's about a 45 minute drive from the airport without traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In Luquillo there are a great set of restaurants that are located on the side of the road called Kioskos. You can choose which restaurant you want to eat at and prices are very reasonable. It is located right by Luquillo beach which is beautiful and for $20 you can rent an umbrella and 2 lounge chairs.

Back to menu Return to top