$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

4 stars
View map of 1000 El Conquistador Avenue, Fajardo, 00738

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcarterred
Business
austin,tx
Jun 15, 2010

Vacation!

Wonderful!! This was our 2nd time and we will be back. They should open up the bottom pool though for the guests staying at the marina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 7, 2010

Breath taking - both beauty and the bill

Gorgeous and relaxing. The private island was fantastic, and we enjoyed being located near the bio bay and the Yunque rainforest. The food on the resort was above average, but the price was a little outrageous. I would recommend staying there, but prepare yourself to pay for the luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the Bio-Bay tours. The resort wants like $80 to take you, but with a short walk (8 minutes or so), you can take the tour for $45.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 26, 2010

Relaxing Weekend Getaway

As soon as we stepped onto the property we were greeted with a smile. We found all staff to be attentive and friendly. Palomino Island was a nice little bonus in a very relaxing environment. We were surprised that a hotel of this size charged a fee for self parking. Overall we enjoyed our three day stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 19, 2010

Luxury unlimited

It was peaceful and enjoyable and the hotel itself was breathtaking. The staff were all very accomodating and friendly. They went out of their way to make the stay a great one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were some nice restaurants a short walk from the Marina with authentic Puerto Rican food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fajardo
Business
Dallas, Tx
May 14, 2010

Theres better hotels in the island

my visit was at may 2010, i have to say that i was really impress with the views and first look of the hotel but after first having to deal with the mediocre front desk and valet parking i started noticing that my choice for my vacation was not that great, besides i also could see that the hotel looked really tired ( But really tired!! ) prices for a 5 star hotel are expected but this is not by far a 5 star hotel. the private beach was good but not great compare to other beaches, like the one's in vieques and culebra. at the end dont forget to check out your invoice because you might had been charge for breathing air that isn't even good quality . . . Are you sure this is a " Waldorf Astoria Collection "???

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nadav
Business
San Jose, CA
May 4, 2010

Beautiful Resort! Read those tips...

I was a bit concerned about this resort after reading the reviews but eventually decided to go for it and hope for the best. Our plan was to spend most of our days exploring the island. Everyday we would go to the breakfast buffet (included in the 4th night free package), and then to the car to go around the island. So here are my impressions and tips: 1. Everyone have already mentioned how beautiful the grounds are. They are absolutely right. This place is amazing. If you look closely you could spot a mold here and a crack there; but seriously, don't you have anything better to do on your vacation than nitpicking minor defects? The place is absolutely spectacular. 2. Ask to stay at the main level (La Vista or Las Brisas). It may cost a bit extra, but you'll be closer to breakfast, parking, main pools and most restaurants so it makes sense if you're short on time. If you stay at La Marinas or Las Olas, you have to take an elevator and a funicular, and about 600 feet of walk. Only 7-10 minutes for most people. Definitely not the big deal that some people here made out of it. 3. Rent a car from Enterprise at the airport. Then you can park it for free at the Enterprise parking lot at the resort and avoid the $15 daily parking fee. The walk from the enterprise parking lot to the lobby is about 5 minutes, not 20. 4. Try to arrive at the hotel in the late afternoon/evening. We observed that in the mornings and around noon that the lines to check in were quite long. We arrived at around 6pm. There was no line and we immediately got the receptionist's attention. 5. The included breakfast turned out not to include taxes and gratuity. So it actually costs $11 for a couple :/ Coffee and juice included. It's a nice buffet. We particularly liked the omelets station. 6. Out of all the restaurants in the resorts, we most enjoyed Cafe Bella Vista for the relatively reasonable prices and food quality. 7. Doublecheck the bill for incidentals before you leave. We found that there was $145 charge from one of the restaurants in the resort that we didn't recognize. Once we mentioned that; they searched their records for their receipt and since they didn't found it (at least not with my signature) they promptly cancelled this charge. Also, they forgot to include the free breakfast promotion in the bill and we had to task for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
May 1, 2010

El Conquistador

Hotel is very nice, clean, staff was friendly and helpful. The pools wee nice and the Polomino Island was very nice. A meal plan would have been good to get if it was offered. 1 adult and 2 children for breakfast was $60 also my package came with a rental car so we were able to hit the town and get McDonalds beakfast on the other days. Also unless you rent the car from Enterprise there will be a $16 a day parking charge, which I was able to get them to wave for me and allow me to park in the Enterprise lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great restaurant 1/4 mile from the entrance calle La Estacion great grilled food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nutley, New Jersey
Apr 13, 2010

Good time, unexpected fees

Although we did not mind, there was a lot of walking involved, from the hotel room (by the Marina) to the main pool to the main lobby, which was closest to 3 of the 4 fine-dining restaurants. The pool closest to us never had more than 8 people in it except for when the main pool was closed due to a private function we were not told about until 2 hours prior to it. The area around the pool closest to us looked like an abandoned scene from the Resident Evil Trilogy, with a shut down restaurant and towels for the pool left on a grilling/liquor bar. Most of the staff was superb, a handful could have been nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

There were a couple bars/nightclubs on site, but they were only open until 1 am, and Old San Juan was a minimum of 70 minutes driving each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brielle, NJ
Apr 12, 2010

Can't wait to go back

You feel like you're a million miles away and would never want to leave. Plenty to do like pool, private island, shopping, snorkel scuba, trips, but you could easily just hang out and be perfectly happy. Breath taking scenery from every spot in this huge resort. Would recommend the packages to minimize extra costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Conquistador Resort , A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central New Jersey
Apr 7, 2010

Impeccable service but expensive meals!

I was very impressed with the quality of service and with the beauty of this hotel. However, I was disappointed to find out upon checkout that I was charged $150 for transportation shuttle from the airport. Nobody told me this when I boarded the shuttle. I was upset. Otherwise the people who work in the hotel were warm, helpful and incredibly accommodating. I will probably return but the situation with the airport shuttle was sneaky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It is very expensive to eat at the hotel. Bring snacks from home for your kids to save money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top